RSS

Are You Taking Care of YOU?

18 Dec

Baby-20New-20Year-203I’m not one who’s big on ending one stressful season with a bunch of equally stressing demands on myself. So, I typically don’t do New Year’s Resolutions. But after Weight Watchers yesterday, I’m making this year an exception.

One of my friends there (we’ll call her Susie) has been battling breathing problems for over a year. Even with the oxygen system she carries with her at all times, her breathing has worsened. I’ve noticed that in the past few months she has been losing weight, but hey, it’s Weight Watchers and that’s kind of the point. Yesterday another friend mentioned that Susie was sick. With her breathing problems, we were all concerned and asked her what was wrong.

Silence.

We waited.

With tears threatening she said, “I’ve got lung cancer. I won’t be here for next Christmas.”

This is a woman who never smoked, but her husband and mother did. She’s been at her goal weight since I’ve been at WW and that’s been for five years.

Susie is a very sweet person who never has a cross word for anyone. She’s a hard worker, always out in her garden, or picking fruit, or gathering walnuts—which she shares with all of us.

Susie’s plight brought home that what happens to us isn’t always in our control. However, we can take care of what we can take care of. So—full circle here—I’m going to break my rule and make New Year’s Resolutions this year. As if by plan, the cosmos has presented me with options. I already have a pedometer, a Fitbit (www.fitbit.com). It provides me with all sorts of helpful information. It automatically down-loads all the info to a website where it keeps track of the number of steps I take, the flights of stairs I climb, the intensity of my activity, how many calories I burn, what I eat, and my sleep patterns. It also provides me the option to have a network of friends who have Fitbits. We compete for who can get the most steps in a day. The competition keeps me going.

Today on FOX News, they featured a guy who had a similar experience to the one I’m having right now. A friend died of cancer—again, full circle—which brought home to him that he needed to get more exercise. He’s in the same predicament that we writers are. In order to do his/our job, we have to sit at a coExercise_-_Treadmill_1mputer for hours on end.

This man wasn’t detoured by the fact that there wasn’t anything out there that would work for him and his office mates. Nope. He decided to invent something. I love American ingenuity. He came up with FitDesk (http://fitdesk.net/) You attach your laptop to the stand, then peddle and write away the pounds. They demonstrated it on FOX News this morning and it works. The peddling didn’t jiggle the work station area and they were all able to use their laptops with ease.

I went to the website and the device is $249.00. But, if it will allow me to get exercise while I write, I’m all about that. If all goes as planned, my peddling it will register as steps on my Fitbit and I will be one happy little camper. If the world does come to an end on the 21st , I’ll be able to hook the peddling up to a generator that will run my computer.

What do you do to keep in shape?

 
14 Comments

Posted by on December 18, 2012 in community, time management, weight loss

 

14 responses to “Are You Taking Care of YOU?

  1. Judith Keim

    December 18, 2012 at 7:29 AM

    Hi, Peggy! What a great idea! You’re right. Writing for long periods in front of a computer day after day is not healthy. We need breaks and exercise. Fortunately I have a four-legged “breaker” who needs walks, attention, etc. I also belong to a gym and go to Mondays and Friday classes. Best of all, I have a standing date to walk with my niece every Thursday morning. I’m lucky I can do this. I know others, who’re working, don’t have the flexibility.

     
    • Peggy Staggs

      December 19, 2012 at 7:44 AM

      I used to have to get up eighteen-thousand times a day to let the dogs out and in–they could never go out or in together–in the new house they let themselves out.
      I love a schedule. That’s what I need to get back into.

       
  2. Corina

    December 18, 2012 at 7:33 AM

    Peggy, I’m so sorry about your friend. Cancer is evil. It killed the healthiest man I know this year (strict vegan, no sugar, gave up smoking years ago, marathon runner). You’ve got to control what you can, and hope for the best. I try to pay attention to my diet, but exercise is one of the best things we can do for ourselves. I used to keep in shape simply by living in a city and walking everywhere. Now that I live in a rural area exercise is no longer a by-product of my lifestyle; it’s something I have to make an effort to do. I try to go to yoga a few times a week and hike in the summer and snow shoe in the winter. It always makes me feel amazing (and perks up a sluggish brain) but somehow, even knowing that, it’s never easy to get off the couch. I’d love to get a treadmill desk eventually! Keep us updated on how it works out!

     
    • Peggy Staggs

      December 19, 2012 at 7:51 AM

      I’ve learned over the years that we can only do what we can only do. I’ve had perfectly healthy friends drop dead and people who do everything wrong and live on.
      I know living in an relatively rural area makes it harder to get out and walk around town. As odd as it sounds it’s more of a bother to get in the car, drive to wherever, and walk around. I think it has a lot to do with the traffic.

       
  3. Clarissa Southwick

    December 18, 2012 at 8:36 AM

    This sounds like a great device. I have tried the desk treadmill, but it made me dizzy. Good luck with your New Year’s Resolutions, Peggy!

     
    • Peggy Staggs

      December 19, 2012 at 7:53 AM

      I think a desk treadmill would be very dangerous for me. I have a hard time walking and chewing gum. I think this bike thing may work. I wish there was a place I could try it out.

       
  4. Janis McCurry

    December 18, 2012 at 9:00 AM

    Good tips. Thanks for the inspirational blog.

     
    • Peggy Staggs

      December 19, 2012 at 7:54 AM

      You’re welcome. Now if I can just follow my own advice…

       
  5. maryvine

    December 18, 2012 at 3:17 PM

    I use an exercise bike, better for my back than a treadmill, I’ve noticed. I can also sit there and read or do facebook on my kindle fire. I could be more persistent. You go girl!

     
    • Peggy Staggs

      December 19, 2012 at 7:56 AM

      The more I think about this bike the more I like the idea.

       
  6. stephaniebergets

    December 18, 2012 at 4:03 PM

    Peggy, what a great idea. I love it. I’m always looking for another way to exercise and this is perfect.
    I’m sorry about your friend. My wonderful healthy BIL died five years ago. Cancer is awful.

     
    • Peggy Staggs

      December 19, 2012 at 7:58 AM

      I’ve known a couple of people who’ve gotten the diagnosis this year. Both were not good outcomes. The best we can do is remember all the good times with them.

       
  7. Lynn Mapp

    December 18, 2012 at 7:14 PM

    I exercise 3 mornings per week, but I need to do more. It’s finding the time and the energy.

     
    • Peggy Staggs

      December 19, 2012 at 8:01 AM

      The funny thing about exercise is when I get out and actually get some I feel more energized. The best time for me to get out is right after lunch when I have that mid-day droops.

       

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 233 other followers

