RSS

The End of the World and 2013

01 Jan

If you’re reading this the good news is the world didn’t end on 12-21Balloons-12. When I heard about the Mayan calendar ending this year, I wondered how many times in the history of the world prophets have foretold of its end. I began watching a series about the apocalypse. After a few minutes of viewing, I turned it off. We won’t go into the questionable science they used; because I remember in the seventy’s when we were headed for an ice age. By the ninety’s, we were all going to burn up with global warming. Then there was the time when all the planets lined up and we were supposed to go crashing into the center of the galaxy. Seriously?

My channel changing is also linked to the reason I don’t enjoy movies that portray the future in tones of gray.

Pessimism.

I can’t believe that things will turn to garbage and we will all live in a dark colorless world.

Yes, yes I confess…I’m a trekkie. I have higher hopes for our future. There are new frontiers out there to be explored. New things to be invented and discoveries to be made. I hold out hope for peace (no one prays harder for peace more than a soldier’s mother). I just know there will come a point when sanity will take root and people will figure out peace is a much better idea.red 2013

So here are my New Year’s Resolutions. None of which will bring about world peace, or scientific breakthroughs. But they will—hopefully—make me more productive.

  1. I’m going to make time to take time. I timed it and it takes an average of ten minutes to read a blog and comment. I want to support my fellow bloggers and learn what I can from them.
  2. I’m going to start writing every single day no matter what. And no, I’m not going to grocery lists this year.
  3. I’m going to keep track on my trusty calendar of how many pages I write, revise, and otherwise put to computer.
  4. I’m going to send out my stuff. I’m going to do my best to find an agent this year. Which will probably lead to some mental health issues. But that comes with writing.
  5. I’m going to broaden my horizons. I’ve discovered a new love of science, math, and history.

I would have come up with eight more resolutions to keep pace with the year, but there’s no possible way I could keep track of all thirteen. So I’m going to concentrate on these five.

What are your plans for 2013?

 
 

14 responses to “The End of the World and 2013

  1. stephanieberget

    January 1, 2013 at 7:39 AM

    I love your resolutions. I’m reading more history, a subject I’ve always loved but have ignored the last many years. Here’s to world peace. Have a Happy New Year.

     
    • Peggy Staggs

      January 1, 2013 at 9:18 AM

      Yeah, who knew when I was sitting in Mr. Hatch’s history class that it would turn out to be so interesting?
      Here’s to world peace and a great 2013!

       
  2. Judith Keim

    January 1, 2013 at 8:20 AM

    I love your post, Peggy, because I too am an optimist. I think most people are even when they know tough times are ahead. I’m with you on the writing goals though I already practice most of them. The thing that struck me most was the taking time to take time. The Wednesday morning coffee is one of those things I’m going to stick to. I also want to get to know my fellow Idaho/Utah writers better. I Love being on the blog, sharing ideas, learning…Happy New Year! 2013 is going to be great!

     
    • Peggy Staggs

      January 1, 2013 at 9:23 AM

      Not all creative juices flow in front of a computer. Wednesday coffee is one of those times. It is so important to get out and experience life.

       
  3. Janis

    January 1, 2013 at 8:24 AM

    Energize, enthuse, and explore.

     
    • Peggy Staggs

      January 1, 2013 at 9:23 AM

      Ah, the three “E’s”. I love it.

       
  4. maryvine

    January 1, 2013 at 11:47 AM

    Finish this book and then take a pause.

     
    • Peggy Staggs

      January 1, 2013 at 7:59 PM

      It’s all about the pause. Just take a breath and began again.

       
  5. Lynn Mapp

    January 1, 2013 at 2:00 PM

    I haven’t thought about it, yet. Maybe things will come to me during the weekend, maybe not. We’ll see.

     
    • Peggy Staggs

      January 1, 2013 at 8:00 PM

      Resolutions are not to be taken lightly. Rest. Reflect. And they will come.

       
  6. Jennifer

    January 1, 2013 at 10:04 PM

    I always look forward to a new year. I love the feeling of a fresh start. I haven’t taken much time to decide what my resolutions will be this year but I’m sure they will include being healthier, writing more, etc.

     
    • Peggy Staggs

      January 2, 2013 at 8:15 AM

      Healthy is always a priority. I’ve got to get out and walk more and get to a gym. Have a happy and healthy New Year.

       
  7. Corina

    January 2, 2013 at 9:59 AM

    I love your resolutions Peggy. Especially that they’re so specific. I’ve found that big fuzzy resolutions are impossible (for me) to keep, but the smaller concrete ones are do-able. I had to work both New Year’s Eve and Day so I haven’t even thought about a resolution yet, but it’s not too late! You’ve inspired me :)

     
  8. Marsha R West

    January 3, 2013 at 11:14 AM

    I like the positiveness of making resolutions, even if we don’t keep them as completely as we’d like. It’s a goal to aim for. In that aiming, in that striving, in that thinking, I believe we become better people. Happy New Year to y’all. (No, I haven’t resolved to write shorter posts,–though I should–it just turned out that way.)

     

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 233 other followers

