RSS

Accept…Change

10 Jan

I received a book for Christmas called “The Truth about Style” by Stacy London. I watch What Not to Wear (she is one of the style consultants) and thought it would be a fun pictorial on style. I didn’t expect the “aha” moment it gave me.

In this article, Stacy recounts visiting some friends’ house and remarking on how well their children behaved. The parents’ simple philosophy enables the young ones to first accept what life has given you and then work out how you move on. In the case of the book, the moral was accept the body you have today, not in a week, not when you’ve lost 10 pounds, and then make it look the best it can in the proper clothing. I encourage you to click on the link and read the short article because Stacy has a more eloquent tagline (three paragraphs down) that I didn’t want to poach, even though I gave her credit. Stacy believes it is even a good life philosophy.

Applied to writing, if you know you have problems writing a synopsis, accept it (without saying I’ll never get it right), and then start changing that reality if you aren’t satisfied. Take a class, practice, practice, practice. Don’t ignore it, fix it. If you don’t accept it as the first step, how will you improve your writing?

I recognize that I need to strengthen my setting descriptions, whether it is outside or inside. If I attend writing classes of any kind, I look for presentations in that category.

What are some of the components of writing you find yourself working on to improve? No fair saying EVERYTHING!

 
16 Comments

Posted by on January 10, 2013 in inspiration, writing, writing craft

 

Tags: ,

16 responses to “Accept…Change

  1. Kyrsten

    January 10, 2013 at 7:28 AM

    Janis,
    Thanks for sharing an “unexpected twist” on her twist.
    Kyrsten

     
  2. Judith Keim

    January 10, 2013 at 9:35 AM

    I have great difficulty writing synopses and query letters. I’ve taken a couple of courses but freeze when it’s time to start. I make myself write the letter or the 3-5 page synopsis and have critique partners look at them. It’s amazing how another writer can enhance what I’ve written. I study it and try to incorporate what they’ve taught me in the next attempt. It’s just one part of the whole writing/publication process that is a continuing learning experience. Funny how people I meet think writing a novel is so easy.

     
    • Janis McCurry

      January 10, 2013 at 10:25 AM

      I think it’s especially stressful because a query and synopsis is so important to “getting that full” submitted!

       
  3. stephanieberget

    January 10, 2013 at 10:02 AM

    I’ve taken several classes on Queries, and although I’m not great a them, I’ve seen an improvement. Now as for the synopsis . . . I’m off to find another class.

     
  4. maryvine

    January 10, 2013 at 10:17 AM

    Not in writing perse but I need to improve in the online marketing area. I’m going to make a better effort at it in 2013.
    I sure like what you’ve shared about looking the best you can right now no matter weight, etc. It is something I’ve thought about as I’m growing older and weight will be harder to lose. Think Betty White-or whoever dresses her-she always has something bright and colorful on that takes away from the age factor. I’m also thinking about what my longest living relative told me – eat everything in moderation. That is what I’m going to try to focus on as I age-with trying to move or exercise more. Good words, thanks, Janis.

     
  5. Janis McCurry

    January 10, 2013 at 10:26 AM

    Good luck on the marketing! It’s hard to be noticed without a big marketing machine to do it for you.

     
  6. Peggy Staggs

    January 10, 2013 at 1:00 PM

    Oh, my where do I begin? There are so many areas that challenge me. I do what I can to improve my skills. It’s the reason I went to work in retail. I knew I had to get better striking up conversations with total strangers. I’m better, but still not great. Probably never will be.
    I agree with Stacy, you have to deal with the here and now. The future depends on you. Make the changes you need to make and see what opportunities come your way.

     
  7. Janis McCurry

    January 10, 2013 at 1:58 PM

    We’re all a work in progress.

     
  8. Lynn Mapp

    January 10, 2013 at 4:13 PM

    I need to really work on the Black Moment.

     
  9. Janis McCurry

    January 11, 2013 at 6:59 AM

    Ah yes. A great component of any story.

     
  10. marsharwest

    January 11, 2013 at 3:58 PM

    Good post, Janis. I’m really struggling with balance right now. Too much time with blogs (and you know I love y’all’s) and looking at email. My goal for this year (which seems a paradox considering I spend too much time on line) is to start my own blog. It hooks in with Mary’s marketing issues. If I can’t find a small publisher to work with this year, I’m going to go indie with book 4. Well, even if I do find a publisher, they all want you to have an online presence and a “marketing plan.” So that’s where I am as we start 2013. Not exactly the focus of your post, but kind of. We have to figure how to deal best with reality, whether that’s getting that larger pair of pants or taking a class.

     
    • Janis McCurry

      January 11, 2013 at 6:41 PM

      Good luck. It’s good to have a plan, even if it seems a little scary.

       
  11. Jennifer

    January 12, 2013 at 11:33 AM

    Love that philosophy! Actually, one of the biggest mistakes I’ve made (so far) with my writing is trying to focus on too much at once. I’m currently just focusing on finishing a book. Period. I’m sure I’ll learn a lot through that experience alone.

     
  12. Janis McCurry

    January 12, 2013 at 8:23 PM

    Finishing a book is HUGE! Keep it up.

     

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 234 other followers

