RSS

2013, Really

22 Jan

Can you believe it?  It’s 2013.  Where did 2012 go?  With the beginning of a new year comes the traditional New Year Resolutions.  In 2012, I spent several blogs listing my resolutions, and how and why I hoped to achieve my goal.

Sigh.

Don’t get me wrong.  I did okay, but I think I may be going about this resolution business…get ready…here it comes…wrong.

I am another year older and I like to think I’m getting a bit smarter with each passing year.  I could be deluding myself.

This is what I resolve to do in 2013.

  1. Finish my WIP.
  2. Enjoy each day.

That’s it.  What are your 2013 resolutions?

 
20 Comments

Posted by on January 22, 2013 in Idaho

 

20 responses to “2013, Really

  1. Liz Flaherty

    January 22, 2013 at 5:06 AM

    Those are good ones, Lynn!

     
    • Lynn Mapp

      January 22, 2013 at 9:02 PM

      I agree. Now, all I have to do is make them happen.

       
  2. Corina

    January 22, 2013 at 7:21 AM

    Very good resolutions! I’m not a very resolute person, so I tend to skip that New Year tradition. I’ve found that if I resolve something concrete I sabotage myself within a week so that I’ve gotten the inevitable failure over with quickly and I can stop anxiously wondering when I’ll give up. If I resolve something wishy-washy I forget what it was within a week and have the same result. I prefer aspirations. Aspiring to something doesn’t sound as intimidating to me as resolving something. Last year I got my weight under control and became a much healthier eater. This year I’m aspiring to better fitness. Oh, and writing more of course :)

     
    • Lynn Mapp

      January 22, 2013 at 9:03 PM

      I like “aspiring”. It’s a good word. Solid. Strong.

       
  3. Judith Keim

    January 22, 2013 at 8:11 AM

    Lynn, those are good resolutions and they go together! Enjoying each day is so important and working on a WIP with the idea of making that work as enjoyable as possible can get great results. I personally can’t wait for you to get it done. I hear it’s a fun read!!

     
    • Lynn Mapp

      January 22, 2013 at 9:05 PM

      Judith, it is a fun read. So, why am I dragging my feet? I need to make this happen.

       
  4. stephanieberget

    January 22, 2013 at 8:19 AM

    Lynn, I love your resolutions. Enjoying each day is so important. I don’t do resolutions, but I’m going to make an exception for the enjoying. Now I need a sign to remind myself. A great big ENJOY!

     
    • Lynn Mapp

      January 22, 2013 at 9:06 PM

      Enjoying the day sometimes takes work, but…it’s worth it to remind yourself of everything good in our lives. There really is plenty, but sometimes…we forget.

       
  5. Janis McCurry

    January 22, 2013 at 9:32 AM

    Finish first draft of WIP by July 15th.

     
    • Lynn Mapp

      January 22, 2013 at 9:07 PM

      WAY TO GO! Then, you can plant your foot on your partner’s be-hind so she doesn’t drag things out.

       
  6. Jennifer

    January 22, 2013 at 9:33 AM

    1. Slow down
    2. Finish my WIP
    3. Get in shape
    I actually love making resolutions. A fresh start feels so good!

     
    • Lynn Mapp

      January 22, 2013 at 9:08 PM

      You have 3 good resolutions. Make them happen.

       
  7. Peggy Staggs

    January 22, 2013 at 4:57 PM

    Write more, try to worry less, get a new job.

     
    • Lynn Mapp

      January 22, 2013 at 9:09 PM

      You have 3 good ones. Good luck!

       
  8. maryvine

    January 22, 2013 at 6:05 PM

    This is the first time I didn’t make a writing resolution in many years. Maybe it’s because I just got my wip done and sent out. I am doing more at work these next few months and thinking more about relaxation during my extra time and reading a book or two.

     
    • Lynn Mapp

      January 22, 2013 at 9:10 PM

      Taking time for yourself is a good thing.

       
  9. marsharwest

    January 23, 2013 at 2:52 PM

    I think we mess up when we don’t make a concrete enough resolution–goal. It needs to be something you can see if you done it. Losing weight fits that. You can measure your progress or lack of progress. LOL As writers, I expect that one will always be on our goals. If we’re doing our work, we’re sitting in front of the computer. Finger exercise doesn’t quite get it. Though actually, my fingers are quite slim. :)
    You can say, I’m going to work on my WIP every day and do that, but never finish the work. We can say, I’ll write one chapter a week. We can measure that, but that might not get us to a finished work. And honestly the word “finished.” What does that mean? I expect I will tinker with a book until it comes out published in whatever form that takes.
    So yes my resolutions (goals) are: eat fruits and vegetables 3-5 times a day, exercise 2-4 times a week, get my own blog up and going by the end of March, finish editing book 5 and 6 and send out to publishers and lastly, if I don’t have any bites from publishers by this October, I’m going to Indie publish these babies.
    Thanks, Lynn, for a thoughtful post. Good luck with your resolutions.

     
  10. Lynn Mapp

    January 23, 2013 at 7:32 PM

    Marsha, you go girl! You make me feel like a slacker.

     
    • marsharwest

      January 24, 2013 at 12:26 PM

      Hardly, Lynn. And we don’t know I’ll reach those goals.:) But if I don’t set the goals, we know darn sure I won’t reach them. Each of us does we can.

       
  11. Lynn Mapp

    January 29, 2013 at 6:31 PM

    Marsha, true.

     

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 234 other followers

