RSS

Riding the Roller Coaster with Friends

15 Oct

One of the things I love about other writers is their ability to climb on the roller coaster with you. It isn’t always fun. The highs are highs and the lows are very low and they usually come close together.

The other day I was trying to explain to a new friend about the process of writing. She’d like to write a book and said she’d started and it was very, very hard. I, of course, assured her it was very hard indeed, producing ups and downs to a crazy degree that non-writers might not understand.

Long after we parted, I thought about it. I’ve laughed, cried, been delighted with my words, and wondered how I could ever keep going when it all looked terrible. But as I’d explained to my new friend there is something inside me that is willing to work hard to get my stories out. I can’t stop doing it, even though there’ve been many times I’ve wanted to.

The following day, a writer friend showed me a revision she’d made to her book. I was and am totally thrilled by the changes she made, taking the story to a whole new level. I might be even more excited by the book than she is because I truly think it will be her breakthrough novel.

That got me to thinking about fellow writers and how we’re willing to climb aboard a ride that we never seem to be able to stop. But sharing the ups and downs of writing is a wonderful thing. It brings out the best in you, even when you’re hanging on for dear life and swooping down before making another climb up.

Being part of a group is essential for writers. Who do you get your inspiration from?

 
12 Comments

Posted by on October 15, 2013 in Idaho

 

12 responses to “Riding the Roller Coaster with Friends

  1. Janis McCurry

    October 15, 2013 at 7:29 AM

    I think I get more of a renewal of purpose when among my writer friends, much like I do from workshops and conferences. It’s easy to get dragged down by the obstacles to publication and feel like giving up, but when I go to these events, it’s exciting to learn or even re-absorb what you knew, but didn’t practice. I also get great brainstorming help from that format when I’m in critique.

     
  2. Judith Keim

    October 15, 2013 at 9:12 AM

    I agree, Janis. The answer is simple. You cannot write a book alone.

     
  3. Corina Mallory

    October 15, 2013 at 1:56 PM

    Oh, talking to other writers is the best! It’s always energizing. One of the things I think is so amazing about the community of writers I’m involved with, both in-person and on-line, is how genuinely enthusiastic they are for each other’s successes. It’s wonderful.

     
  4. Judith Keim

    October 15, 2013 at 7:03 PM

    Corina, it’s so true. Non-writers find it hard to believe.

     
    • Lynn Mapp

      October 15, 2013 at 7:43 PM

      Hi Judith, I like reading a good article. It brings my project into focus. I love the workshops and attending conferences. I am blessed to be a part of a small but mighty RWA chapter. There are so many things that offer enrichment.

       
      • Judith Keim

        October 15, 2013 at 7:49 PM

        Lynn, I agree. There are many things to help a writer with his/her creation, but to me, the most rewarding is the encouragement of other writers.

         
  5. stephanieberget

    October 15, 2013 at 7:46 PM

    What a great analogy. Roller Coaster and Writing. When I’m up, I think I’ll never have another bad day and when I’m down, I have a great group of writer friends to help scrape me off the ceiling. Thanks to all of my friends.

     
  6. Judith Keim

    October 15, 2013 at 7:50 PM

    Stephanie, as you well know, it’s a trip! Good thing we belong to a good, supportive group(s) of fellow writers.

     
  7. Jennifer

    October 15, 2013 at 9:32 PM

    Writing is such a solitary endeavor. It’s nice to be able to talk shop with other writers.

     
  8. Judith Keim

    October 16, 2013 at 7:58 AM

    Yes, Jennifer! I’m rooting for you to finish the book!

     
  9. Peggy Staggs

    October 23, 2013 at 7:06 PM

    I love talking shop with other writers. I look forward to going to coffee with my writer friends because no one else understands like they do. And thanks, buddy.

     
  10. maryvine

    October 31, 2013 at 3:24 PM

    As far as a writer friend goes, I have to look back to my earlier years at my CBC group, when Francine Winkle befriended me and helped me make my first published book into what it is. Things in life have separated us, but I’ll not forget her friendship, help, and encouragement.

     

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 233 other followers

