RSS

Why Do I Write?

22 Oct

Why do I write?

The answer isn’t complicated. I have stories I want to tell. People I want to create. Adventures I want to live.

It’s sounds simple enough.

That’s the twist. It isn’t, at least, not for me. I have confessed my many problems. I hate to torture people.

I am a member of the local Romance Writers of America chapter. I remember a meeting we had a guest was in attendance. She introduced herself and explained she had aspirations of becoming a writer. She said she thought she’d start writing romance novels because they would be an easy starting point to launch her career.

Now, anyone who knows me knows that I am a kind person, and tend to go out of my way to make people feel comfortable. But, on that day, her words caught me off guard. I laughed. I couldn’t help myself. That reaction set off a chain of responses. The poor thing. Bless her heart, that’s code for “what an idiot.” She was wrong.

The woman in question didn’t join the chapter and to my knowledge never wrote the great American novel.

I don’t think there is an “easy” genre out there. Storytelling is a calling.

Crafting characters readers care about takes skill. Plotting a book’s intricate twists and turns take skill. Bringing all those elements together take skill. But sometimes skill isn’t enough.

I’ve known writers who have walked away due to frustration with and the industry. They abandoned their dreams of publication.

Maybe I should have given up, reassessed my dreams, but this is part of me I want to share. I want others to see the world through my special lens. I want them to come with me on the journey. I want to bring them an escape from their everyday lives.

Why do you write?

 
13 Comments

Posted by on October 22, 2013 in Idaho

 

13 responses to “Why Do I Write?

  1. Lesley Dawson

    October 22, 2013 at 4:01 AM

    I hope that lady came to realise the error in her thinking and decided to keep on writing despite (or because of) the hard, but enjoyable, work and obstacles involved. It’s a fact – there is no easy route to becoming an established writer. Even the most famous have had to work hard to get where they are. But when if enjoy writing, it doesn’t matter. :D

     
    • Lynn Mapp

      October 22, 2013 at 7:18 PM

      Hi Lesley, it’s so true. That’s why I laughed. Romance may have seemed like a shortcut, but…it isn’t. Crafting a well written book is…work.

       
  2. Lesley Dawson

    October 22, 2013 at 4:03 AM

    p.s. Sorry, you probably guessed I meant ‘we’ instead of ‘if’ in the last line. Oops!

     
  3. Judith Keim

    October 22, 2013 at 12:26 PM

    Lynn, I imagine you’ve described so many of us writers. Learning the craft is difficult. In what other endeavor does one work hard to put words on paper so everyone else can tell you what’s wrong with it? Or never even receive acknowledgement that you’ve sent it out. That’s the tough, tough part of the process. But, like you say, storytelling is part of a person’s makeup. There’s an urge within each storyteller to persist and get those stories out.As frustrated as I get, I can’t stop.

     
    • Lynn Mapp

      October 22, 2013 at 7:20 PM

      Hi Judith! So true. I can’t imagine walking away from something that is so much a part of who I am.

       
  4. Jennifer

    October 22, 2013 at 10:16 PM

    I write because I’m compelled to by something intrinsic. I write because characters speak to me, plot lines unfold before me, words and phrases vie for my attention. I have to do something to get it all out of my head :)

     
    • Lynn Mapp

      October 23, 2013 at 6:24 PM

      We do what we do, for a reason.

       
  5. Janis

    October 23, 2013 at 7:03 AM

    Some days, I have no idea why I write. Others, I enjoy it.

     
    • Lynn Mapp

      October 23, 2013 at 6:25 PM

      That’s true. I have many of those days as well.

       
  6. Peggy Staggs

    October 23, 2013 at 7:01 PM

    That’s easy. I write the characters I’d like to be, and the adventures I’d like to live.

     
    • Lynn Mapp

      October 24, 2013 at 6:56 PM

      Hey, Peggy. Write on!

       
  7. maryvine

    October 31, 2013 at 2:26 PM

    Seems like every year as I’ve grown older, I wonder when I’ll quit writing. Don’t think it’s going to happen. I’m happiest when I write.

     

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 233 other followers

