RSS

NaNoWriMo-Who’s In?

24 Oct

NaNo

November has become one of my favorite months of the year. In eight days, National Novel Writing Month will arrive with all its excitement and angst. My excitement comes from the anticipation of writing another book (in rough draft form), seeing characters come to life and marveling at where the story will lead me. The angst comes from diving into a book with no preparation and no idea where it’s going to go.

I’ve written the first draft of five books during various NaNo’s, winning the last three times. Sugarwater Ranch was written two years ago during NaNoWriMo with Cherry Adair’s Write the Damn Book contest at the Emerald City RWA conference in mind. I’m revising a WIP I wrote three years ago during November of 2010.

2013-Participant-Facebook-Cover#1All of my NaNo Novels were written with no pre-planning and not much of a plot. I usually had a character or two in mind and maybe an idea of a setting. I just dove right in and wrote.

This year, for the first time, I’m developing an outline. The thought of plotting a story gives me the trembling shudders, but in a class I’m taking, the teacher promises we don’t have to stick to the outline, just make it.  So I’m working on plotting my story, doing character studies on my hero and heroine and preparing for November first. I’m looking forward to once again jumping into the fray that is NaNoWriMo.

Plus they have a great store with all kinds of fun writing things. I love these stickers.

ywp_12_stickers_roll_1

Have any of you participated in National Novel Writing Month in the past? Are you a plotter or a plnaster? Who’s doing NaNo this year? Post your buddy name here, and I’ll friend you. We can support each other during this outrageous, stupefying, matchless month.

 
12 Comments

Posted by on October 24, 2013 in Idaho

 

12 responses to “NaNoWriMo-Who’s In?

  1. Janis

    October 24, 2013 at 7:09 AM

    This program is a great one and I’ve followed the participants’ progress with great interest. Good luck!

     
    • Stephanie Berget

      October 24, 2013 at 12:24 PM

      Janis, we’ll see how far I get this year. Some are better than others. :)

       
  2. Judith Keim

    October 24, 2013 at 8:42 AM

    Steph, I’m so glad this works for you! I think it’s a great idea. However, I’ve tried it once and wasn’t pleased enough with the results to do it again. The concept of sitting down and just writing the damn book is one however that is invaluable to all of us and I do it, just in a slower more detailed fashion.

     
    • Stephanie Berget

      October 24, 2013 at 12:25 PM

      Judy, I have varying results depending on what’s going on in my life at the time. I’m hoping to get a good start at least.

       
  3. Peggy Staggs

    October 24, 2013 at 11:14 AM

    I’ve never done NaNoWriMo, but I have participated in the CBC monthly challenge.
    I’m a planster. I have the bad guy and the crime in mind before I start. There are just some things you can’t make up as you go.

     
    • Stephanie Berget

      October 24, 2013 at 12:26 PM

      I’m a panster, hoping to become a planster. I think a little plotting would help the process go faster. We’ll see.

       
  4. Lynn Mapp

    October 24, 2013 at 7:01 PM

    Stephanie…I’ve never done that. It’s sounds scary. I’ll let you know if I decide to give it a try, BUT I haven’t even been able to the chapter challenge.

     
    • stephanieberget

      October 25, 2013 at 11:39 AM

      Yes, let me know. Even if you don’t get it done, you’ll get pages written. It helps me turn off my inner editor.

       
  5. robinconnelly

    October 24, 2013 at 10:40 PM

    This is my 9th year. I’ve “won” once. When I won I didn’t…exactly follow all the rules. I’m a pantser and I am participating this year. I hope to win without bending any of the rules this time. My main problem isn’t time, but I can’t seem to keep myself from editing as I go. Editing usually means cutting things out… I need to stop doing that, at least for NaNo. I’ll be writing under Avikar for anyone interested in following me.

     
    • stephanieberget

      October 25, 2013 at 11:40 AM

      I think I’m already following you, but I’ll check. That nasty editor gets us all, doesn’t it?

       
  6. maryvine

    October 31, 2013 at 2:17 PM

    I haven’t done NaNo yet, but never say never. I’ve noticed at the middle and high schools where I work that some students/teachers do NaNo as well. I am a hundred words gal, and thinking about 100 words in 100 days for my near future.

     
  7. Stephanie Berget

    October 31, 2013 at 3:17 PM

    Mary, my granddaughter’s class did NaNoWriMo last year and she got some pretty good word counts. We had a blast talking about it. I’d love to do the 100 words for 100 days with you if you can wait until November is done. :)

     

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 233 other followers

