RSS

The Real Janis McCurry

04 Apr

I’m a second generation Boisean, which might not sound like much of a feat, but there aren’t as many as you’d think. Our great state is so popular that sometimes I think the transplants outnumber the natives several-fold. Don’t get me wrong; I’m not against others finding out how wonderful Idaho is. It’s only when they pronounce it Boy-zee that the hackles raise on my neck. For the uninitiated, it’s Boy-see. Nobody says Wizconsin, do they?  If you’re going to become a true Idahoan, take the time to learn how to pronounce the areas in it.

Moving on.

I grew up with three other sisters, a wild Scots-Irish father and a not-so-wild English-German mother, but she was a Scorpio so she could get her mad on when she wanted to. Dad always said, “It’s cocktail hour somewhere,” to which Mom would reply, “Oh, Mac!”

Another story, the first three children, he bet his friends he’d have a boy. Then, he said he got smart and bet enough money that the fourth would be a girl that he made up all the money he’d lost the first three times. He loved telling that story.

My sisters and I were close growing up and we all still live in Boise. We keep in constant contact and that family-style love comes out in all my books. Either there is a sister by blood or a sister of the heart in all my stories. I could no more leave out that connection than I could the romances I put in my novels.

I graduated from Boise State University with a degree in English. I married my high school sweetheart. While it didn’t work out, we had a son. I call him my heir to the throne and, here’s a shocker, I’m so proud of him, it makes me cry sometimes. Then, he goes and marries a fantastic young woman whom I have claimed as my daughter. They are both doctors and the light of my life.

I write romance because I believe in forever, whether it’s a first time or a second chance love. An inveterate reader and moviegoer, I like romantic comedies, drama, and adventure themes. I write romantic suspense and paranormal novels and look forward to getting to know all my readers.

 
1 Comment

Posted by on April 4, 2011 in Boise, Family, Idaho, writing

 

One response to “The Real Janis McCurry

  1. Michael David

    May 28, 2015 at 2:38 PM

    Dear Janis Mc Curry, May 28, 2015

    Your son and his wife sound very talented.

    I am trying to find a relative or friend of the late Saxon White Kessinger who died (I think)
    around 2010. She used to belong to the Gem State Writer’s Association. She wrote “The
    Indispensable Man” -a poem I want to put in my mnemonics book. I once recited this poem
    to students in South Africa.

    I asked her and received permission for this poem about 2005 or 2006 and she gave it to me. However, eventually my computer was destroyed when I shipped it and I lost this permission. Do you know anyone who could let me contact a friend or relative of Saxon? I would still like to ask for permission again for her marvelous poem. Thank you for your consideration in this matter. My e-mail is mnemonicsmdw@gmail.com

    Yours sincerely,
    Michael David

     

Leave a Reply

 
