RSS

I Get Knocked Down

07 Apr

I Get Knocked DownPart 1

Lynn Mapp

We’ll be singing

When we’re winning

We’ll be singing

I get knocked down

But I get up again

You’re never going to keep me down

These are lines from the classic Chumbawamba song I Get Knocked Down. I would like to say the song has an uplifting message about never losing sight of your goals and overcoming whatever obstacles you encounter.

It’s not.

The following lines give you a clue to what the song is really about.

He drinks a whisky drink

He drinks a vodka drink

He drinks a lager drink

You get the idea.

I chose to ignore that part of the song and focus on the uplifting message. I picture someone reeling from a blow. They are down. They are beaten. Despite defeat, despite despair, despite desolation, they get up.

Do you understand?

They.

Get.

Up.

Writing is a rough road. There are times when you are forced to battle the demons of plot problems. There are the dreaded characters that somehow lack dimension. There is dialog that just doesn’t deliver a dazzling punch. You ponder. You improve. You work like crazy. This is it. Your Pretty Baby is ready to be introduced into society.

“It’s a Pretty Baby, but…not our cup of tea.”

“There are some interesting elements, but we don’t feel Pretty Baby has all the necessary components for our house.”

You’ve been rejected.

No matter how they dress it up, it’s still rejection. You’ve been knocked down and trampled on.

What you do is follow the uplifting words of the song.

I get knocked down

But I get up again

You’re never going to keep me down

Writing is your passion. You can’t let the minutiae of this career wear you down. You have to remember why you chose to write in the first place. You have stories to tell, worlds to create, hearts to touch through your words.

Get.

Up.

Don’t let anything stand in your way of following your dream, including yourself.

 
10 Comments

Posted by on April 7, 2011 in Idaho

 

10 responses to “I Get Knocked Down

  1. lizfredericks

    April 7, 2011 at 8:34 AM

    Thank you for this post, Lynn. Your timing is impeccable for me and thousands of others – dare I say millions – trying to create art to share. It’s tough duty made bearable by friends. And – or so I’m told – twitter.

     
  2. Johanna Harness

    April 7, 2011 at 8:57 AM

    Yes! It’s not a matter of who will let us live our dreams. Seriously: who can stop us? 😀

     
  3. Janis

    April 7, 2011 at 9:13 AM

    One foot in front of the other. Just keep working. Thanks for the article.

     
  4. Meredith Conner

    April 7, 2011 at 9:19 AM

    I may have to post this next to my computer. Thanks Lynn.

     
  5. Steph Bochenek

    May 4, 2011 at 11:51 AM

    Great article, Lynn. You inspire me but you have for years. You were one of very few teachers who actually saw my son and got him. I’ve never forgotten and neither has he.

     
    • lynn mapp

      May 5, 2011 at 8:00 PM

      Steph,
      I was lucky enough to have Smoky as a darling first grader, and a charming thrid grader. I thought he was wonderful.

       
    • Smokey Bochenek

      May 18, 2011 at 10:52 AM

      Hello Mrs. Mapp

       
      • smokey bochenek

        May 18, 2011 at 10:56 AM

        Sorry for your loss. If my mom hasent told you i was addicted to meth for over a decade. I talk to schools and parents alot these days. I tell them about meth addicts to never buy into the B.S. but never give up hope. I know that is hard for you but there are others out there who are struggling with the same things you are and its great to see you getting your voice heard. If there is ever anything i can do please let me know. Smokey. Im on facebook as Michael Bochenek contact me if you would like more info on the Idaho Meth Project.

         
      • lynn mapp

        May 18, 2011 at 9:31 PM

        Smokey Bo! Hi, backatch.

         
  6. lynn mapp

    May 18, 2011 at 9:34 PM

    Thank you. I read this post first and I cried. I am so sorry for everything I know you’ve gone though. You have gone through the fire, suffered horrible burns, but you have SURVIVED. You are still standing and you are trying to make a difference. I am so proud of you. You’ve got me crying again. Keep in touch with me.

     

Leave a Reply

 
