RSS

Guest Blogger: Mary Vine

08 Apr

www.maryvine.com
Idaho Rock Star

As a teen, I was in love with a rock star and my daydreams, or my writer’s imagination as I understand it now, ran overtime during those years. I raced home after school to see Mark Lindsay as the lead singer of Paul Revere & the Raiders on the television show, Where the Action Is. I knew all of the words to Fever from their Here They Come record album. Teen magazine pictures of Mark graced my bedroom walls as my crush on him lasted a good two years before I moved on to another rock musician. Even though teen love changes and I couldn’t settle on one star, I knew I would never lose my love for the music.

When I moved to Idaho, I learned that Mark was a shy, skinny, geeky farm kid from Cambridge, Idaho, the eastern gateway to the awe inspiring Hells Canyon. Many times my husband and I have traveled past Cambridge to get to a favorite campsite towards the canyon. Seems Mark won a local talent show and later got a chance to hear Paul Revere at the local I.O.O.F. hall in Caldwell. The next day, while Mark was working at a Caldwell bakery, Paul came in to buy goods for a hamburger stand that he owned in town. This moment started their professional relationship as part of a local Boise band, later to be called Paul Revere and the Raiders.

Winter before last, I had the opportunity to attend a Teen Idol concert on the Oregon Coast starring Mark Lindsay and two other singers from the era. Even with time he still held his appeal, but he didn’t lure me in as before. What I did like was the awesomeness of being in the same room with him, while thinking about what my teen self would have thought about being close enough at one point to reach out and touch. Basically, in present time, it was surreal to see the man in person.

Sure, the teen years may not be the best years of our lives but it is a time like none other, it is an innocent and peaceful era for many; a time to relish before the seriousness of life kicks in. In my mind, I took a journey back in time to the house where I’d lived, to where I’d sat before my TV set in a more peaceful era, when all I had to worry about was a curfew, a date for the prom, and getting my homework done in time to pass my classes. I remember those television programs so vividly and how Mark was the leading character in my imagination. An imagination that has served me well for writing the fiction I’ve produced in my adult years.

Undoubtedly my younger self would have gotten a kick out of knowing I’d be able to see this heart throb one day, but pretty disgusted that I no longer favor the rock music of today. Again, love changes.

Mary Vine is the author of Maya’s Gold and A Place to Land. To learn more about Mary and her novels, visit her at www.maryvine.com .

 
9 Comments

Posted by on April 8, 2011 in Idaho

 

Tags: , ,

9 responses to “Guest Blogger: Mary Vine

  1. johannaharness

    April 8, 2011 at 6:22 AM

    What a fun post! It’s so fun to see the Idaho connections. 🙂

     
  2. Janis McCurry

    April 8, 2011 at 7:27 AM

    Oh my gosh, I thought Mark Lindsay was the hottest guy I’d ever seen. Thanks for the great blog.

     
  3. Clarissa Southwick

    April 8, 2011 at 7:57 AM

    Hi Mary, What a wonderful story. I think we can all relate. Thanks so much for guest blogging for us.

     
  4. Carley Ash

    April 8, 2011 at 8:14 AM

    What a fun read…reminds me of my love for the Bay City Rollers. I was more fickle than you. I loved them all – a different one every week.

     
  5. Meredith Conner

    April 8, 2011 at 9:28 AM

    Teenage crushes! How did we ever survive them? Thanks for the great post!

     
  6. lizfredericks

    April 8, 2011 at 11:12 AM

    Mary – thank you for stopping in at Gem State Writers. I think the rock star crush resonates with all of us. As a plot, it’s sure shown up in a great many romances that I’ve read. Nice job –

     
  7. Mary Vine

    April 8, 2011 at 1:11 PM

    Yes, how did we survive the crushes? Glad I’m not alone and as fickle as I thought I was 🙂 Thanks for the responses!

     
  8. lynn mapp

    April 9, 2011 at 10:09 AM

    Mary,
    I remember watching that T.V. show as well. It brought a smile to my face. That Dick Clark knew how to produce a dance show. Looking back, they were good times. Thank you for sharing.

     
    • Mary Vine

      April 9, 2011 at 11:11 AM

      Thanks for the opportunity to share!

       

Leave a Reply

 
