RSS

Guest Blogger: Amanda Bonilla

06 May

Please welcome our guest, Amanda Bonilla.

Amanda lives in rural Idaho with her husband and two kids. She’s a part-time pet wrangler, a full-time sun worshipper, and only goes out into the cold when coerced. When she’s not writing she’s either reading or talking about her favorite books. Her urban fantasy romance, SHAEDES OF GRAY debuts December 6th, 2011 from Signet/Eclipse. Please visit www.amandabonilla.com

You Are Not Alone: Networking in a Small Town

When I started writing seriously a few years back, I was totally clueless. I knew little-to-nothing about the publishing industry. I had no idea what a critique partner was. And I told no one of my endeavor to become a published author.

I live in a rural community. Small. Tiny. It wasn’t until I’d signed with my agent that I discovered there was a small writers group in my town. And it wasn’t until my book had sold that I realized there was a local (meetings are about 2 hours away) RWA chapter. I’d been so worried about opening up and talking about my writing that I robbed myself of the opportunity to network with some great local authors.

Living in the sticks doesn’t mean you have to act—or network—like a hermit. Of course, I reached out to other authors. But instead of looking in my own back yard, I met some great friends and crit partners from Utah all the way to Connecticut. For me, it was easier to say, “Hey! I’m writing a book!” to people hundreds, or even thousands of miles away. It was like somehow I thought these people would take me more seriously than the people I saw face to face every day in the grocery store. Which I now know was a ridiculous assumption. One thing I’ve learned: writers are the friendliest and most supportive group of people out there! And a lot of them live closer than you think.

My advice to anyone just starting out with this whole networking thing is to do your research. The Coeur du Bois chapter of RWA was easy to find once a friend pointed me in the right direction. A simple Google search would have been all I needed to find writers in my area. And don’t be afraid to open up about your writing! I know it’s scary. I know it might open you up to possible raised eyebrows and luke-warm reactions.  On the other hand, you might be met with enthusiasm and support. You might meet another writer who’s been too scared to share her endeavors. If you open up to people, you might just meet a great crit partner. Or a friend for life.

Use the resources available. Join the QueryTracker forum. I’ve made some great connections through QueryTracker! Utilize Facebook and Twitter. I’m a huge advocate of Facebook. I love to interact with writers and readers alike on fan pages. It’s a great way to get yourself out there. Blog. But only if you want to, and only if you like it. I’ll be the first to admit, I’m not a great blogger. And that’s okay. I don’t hide out like I used to and I’m so glad I came out of my shell. There are so many great people out there to meet!

How about you? Is your local community packed with live crit-groups and writerly types? Or have you had to search far and wide to make a connection? Is it easier to interact over email and forums or do you prefer face-to-face interaction?

 
14 Comments

Posted by on May 6, 2011 in Idaho

 

14 responses to “Guest Blogger: Amanda Bonilla

  1. Liz Fredericks

    May 6, 2011 at 6:24 AM

    Hi Amanda – Welcome to GSW! You are so right about the support possible in a group like CBC-RWA. Though I’m not much of a facebooker, I’ve made great friends with writers I found through CBC. I’m looking forward to meeting you at CBC and to reading your new release.

     
    • Amanda Bonilla

      May 6, 2011 at 8:53 AM

      Hi Liz! I’m looking forward to making a CBC meeting! My timing’s been off the past few months! 🙂 There’s nothing better than getting together with a group and talk shop!

       
  2. Carley Ash

    May 6, 2011 at 6:27 AM

    Thanks Amanda for a fun read. Good luck with your novel.

     
  3. Janis McCurry

    May 6, 2011 at 7:28 AM

    Welcome Amanda. I second your motion about writers being friendly and supportive! It makes all the difference in a sometimes lonely occupation.

     
  4. Meredith Conner

    May 6, 2011 at 7:59 AM

    Thanks for blogging to day Amanda! Congratulations on your novel!

     
    • Amanda Bonilla

      May 6, 2011 at 8:54 AM

      GSW ladies, thanks SO much for having me! I’m looking foward to connecting with you more! 🙂

       
  5. John Clayton

    May 6, 2011 at 11:24 AM

    There’s something special about sharing what you’re writing with others. It’s something I’m still not confident about and I always have the strange feeling that someone’s taking notes and they’ll publish my story, only better.

    Here on my rock in the north sea we have a writers group – 2, in fact. http://www.lerwickwriters.org is one of them. If you know of a writer’s group without a web presence, then get them to contact me!

     
  6. Clarissa Southwick

    May 6, 2011 at 1:38 PM

    manda, I’m so glad you’ve found our blog. Thanks so much for guest blogging today. I’m off to find you on Facebook

     
  7. lynn mapp

    May 6, 2011 at 6:13 PM

    Welcome Amanda, I am looking forward to seeing you at a CBC meeting in the future. It’s nice connecting with people who share your passion for writing.

     
  8. Amanda Bonilla

    May 6, 2011 at 9:02 PM

    Thanks again, for having me! What a wonderful group of writers!

     
  9. Mary Vine

    May 7, 2011 at 1:30 PM

    I was just like you when I started writing. I put my manuscript under my cloak and ran it over to a neighbor. She was a retired English teacher. If she hadn’t encouraged me, who knows where I’d be today!
    Looking forward to meeting you, too.

     
  10. Johanna Harness

    May 8, 2011 at 10:45 AM

    Hi, Amanda! I remember seeing you first on #amwriting and thinking how cool it was to see another Idaho writer there! It’s good to see you here too. 😀

     
  11. echo laubsauger

    August 1, 2013 at 6:30 PM

    A motivating discussion is worth comment. I do believe that you should
    publish more on this topic, it might not be a taboo subject but generally people
    do not talk about such issues. To the next! Best wishes!
    !

     
  12. intended meaning übersetzung

    August 16, 2013 at 5:17 PM

    Hi are using WordPress for your site platform? I’m new to the blog world but I’m
    trying to get started and create my own. Do you
    require any coding expertise to make your own blog?
    Any help would be greatly appreciated!

     

Leave a Reply

 
