RSS

The Rogue Blogger

16 May

Okay, so I was supposed to blog last week, but I had it on my calendar that it was this week. So then I got the okay from the rest of the group to blog this week, and then my week just got away from me, so I am just posting a random blog to the site to say, sometimes you just gotta go rogue. (And might I note here that I am NOT a Sarah Palin fan.)

What does this have to do with writing? Don’t worry. I shall connect the dots.

First, being a writer means being a writer. It means writing. Not thinking about writing. Not talking about writing. Not reading about writing. (Disclaimer: all those things are important in a writing life, but they do not make you a writer.) Writers must write, otherwise they are just wannabes.

A huge issue many writers face in our writing lives is fitting writing into the rest of our lives. Few of us have the luxury of someone else making a living and supporting us. And even those of who are not the main financial wage earner in our households have many responsibilities—raising children, volunteer work, taking care of elderly parents, part time jobs, etc. But there can be no excuses. If you are a writer, you write.

I know some friends who get up at ungodly hours of the morning like 4:00 a.m. to write before they go to work or get the kids up or whatever. This seems to work well for them. Not me. I might stay up until 4:00 in the morning—I’m a definite night owl. Some people like the structure of a set time of day for writing. Not me. I have written on the fly all my life, and so far it’s getting the job done. So everyone has to go rogue in order to fit writing in our lives. What works for one might not work for others.

Similarly, the setting and way one approaches writing is completely individual. I know some writers who write at a keyboard in an official office. Sometimes I do, but rarely. Most of my fiction is written in spiral bound notebooks by hand for the first draft. Once I have that, I type it into the computer, revising as I go, so that is my second draft. Some people have to have an outline, or at least know where their ending is before they can write. Not me. My first draft is usually very bumpy and messy, but I never know the end until I get there. Occasionally, I have an end in mind, but the story has another agenda. Other writers have to get chapter one completely revised and perfect before they can move on. I forge headlong into the fray and I don’t look back until I get to the end of the first draft.

So my point is that there is no one right way/time/place/method to writing. You get to go rogue as much as you want. The only thing you must do is WRITE.

 
3 Comments

Posted by on May 16, 2011 in Idaho

 

3 responses to “The Rogue Blogger

  1. Janis McCurry

    May 17, 2011 at 7:09 AM

    Neysa,

    Great points. There is no one correct way to write. It’s organic to the individual writing. Thanks for the rogue blog, you scandalous rascal.

     
  2. Patti Yager Delagrange

    May 17, 2011 at 10:47 AM

    I loved this blog. I get so sick of reading about the right way to write, i.e. you shouldn’t be a “pantser”, you have to make an outline, never start writing a book unless you know the ending first. AACK! There is no ONE way to write a book. All you’d have to do is interview all the authors, published or not, and they would confirm what you’re saying in your blog. Thanks you for putting it down for us to see!
    Patti

     
  3. maryvine

    May 17, 2011 at 9:19 PM

    I used to write my manuscripts out first by hand, too, but now I rarely hand write anything seems like.
    Good blog. Yes, we are all different. Thanks.

     

Leave a Reply

 
