RSS

The people in our heads

18 May

Last Saturday I had a chance to attend two workshops presented by the fabulous Theresa Meyers. She spoke about outlining as well as self-editing. I enjoyed her enthusiasm as much as I did her presentations. She had wonderful suggestions and advice. And as much as I loved listening to her, figuring out what ideas would work for me – I had one of those AHA moments completely unrelated to her workshops.

Sometimes it is really hard to see the big picture. In all things. We get so caught up in what we are doing that we don’t take time to step back and see where we are and why we do certain things. I think this can be especially true of writing. We, as writers, can get so caught up in our stories that we forget to look at the story as a whole. And in our race to publication, we can get so caught up in the requests and rejections we forget why we are doing what we do.

At one point Ms. Meyers said she had thought of quitting. She decided against it because she would still have all those people and their stories in her head. And writing is cheaper than therapy.

AHA.

I love the people in my head. They have some amazing stories – some that I struggle to figure out and others that I get so completely entrenched in, I am thankful that breathing is an automatic physical function.

I went to learn about techniques to help me become a better writer and I also felt the need for some writerly support – a little boost, to be around a like group of similarly afflicted people. I got all of that in addition to a “step back” moment.

Those people in my head are never going to go away. I don’t want them to. I love them. They are funny and crazy and sad and a whole host of other descriptions. They want me to tell their stories. And get it right. And write it well.

A simple thing that I had – sort of – set to the side; focusing on my current WIP, or a character’s backstory or a deadline for a contest.

I am excited about writing to become a published author. I love writing. That’s a good thing because those people are never, ever going to go away. AHA.

 
10 Comments

Posted by on May 18, 2011 in Idaho

 

Tags: , ,

10 responses to “The people in our heads

  1. Liz Fredericks

    May 18, 2011 at 6:17 AM

    You awe me with the simple and direct way you captured that moment with Ms. Meyers. She’s to be commended for reaching into the heart of the most profoundly motivating aspect to writing. And you – wow, Meredith – well said.

     
  2. Johanna Harness

    May 18, 2011 at 7:49 AM

    Yes! I had that same feeling. I really enjoy the life of a writer and listening to my voices too!

     
  3. Clarissa Southwick

    May 18, 2011 at 8:15 AM

    So true. This is something only another writer can understand. I used to quit writing every time I got bad news. I finally realized that it was only taking time away from doing what I love. I’m a writer. I have to write. It’s who I am.

     
  4. Amanda Bonilla

    May 18, 2011 at 8:45 AM

    Great post! I totally agree. I’ve been working on my series for two years now and the characters are so much a part of me, I couldn’t give them up if I wanted to. They’re always floating around in my brain whether I want them there or not!

     
  5. Meredith Conner

    May 18, 2011 at 9:59 AM

    It is always a great thing to be understood and not worry that someone is going to show up with a locked straight jacket 🙂

     
  6. Peggy Staggs

    May 18, 2011 at 10:01 AM

    Writing is the only profession where it’s really okay to sit alone and listen to the voices in your head. And people don’t think you’re crazy…for the most part. Writers are never lonely, they always have the company in their heads. Thanks to Theresa for the validation and Meredith for the great blog.

     
  7. Janis

    May 18, 2011 at 7:36 PM

    Yes, we’re quite a noisy bunch! Great piece, Meredith.

     
  8. Carley Ash

    May 18, 2011 at 7:42 PM

    Great blog and a great workshop.

     
  9. lynn mapp

    May 18, 2011 at 9:25 PM

    Meredith, those voices just won’t be silenced. They’ve got something to say and we’re listening.

     
  10. Mary Vine

    May 24, 2011 at 8:22 PM

    And my husband wonders why I don’t listen to him sometimes. Too many voices at one time 🙂
    Good thoughts. Thanks!

     

Leave a Reply

 
