RSS

I Get Knocked Down: Writing Through Grief Part 4 Angels Among Us

19 May

Do you know angels walk among us? All you have to do is look around and you’ll see them. I have been blessed with an abundance of angels in my life. Sometimes they enfold me in their arms to offer comfort. Sometimes they flutter around me, making certain I’m steady on my feet. Sometimes they hover over me, protecting me from pain.

I wouldn’t want anyone to experience the loss I have, but . . . there was one incredible blessing from this event. I know how deeply I am loved and cherished. I know that all I have to do is pick up a phone and there will be someone offering solace.

People can live their entire lives and never know the impact they’ve made on someone, never know their value.

When my son died the outpouring of support my family received was humbling. He died in February and sympathy cards continued to arrive through the summer.

A few years ago a young woman came forward at the end of our church service. The young woman wanted to share a story about finding angels where you least expect it. She told a story about an event that happened on her birthday, the worst birthday of her life. She’d been in an traffic accident with another car.

A woman came along, driving her son to soccer practice. This passerby pulled over to check on her and the other driver. A friend of the passerby came along. The passerby sent her son to practice with the other family. This passerby wrapped her arms around the young woman and stayed with her while she talked to the police. She kept looking at me and smiling as if I knew her. I smiled back. The young woman told us that passerby was an angel sent to her.

Her grin widened as our gazes held, and I remembered. I was that passerby. I was that angel. Me. I had reached out to a stranger and made an impact. We embraced after the service. She told me how much I’d helped her during that worst birthday, that birthday she met an angel.

I like to think I touch others. That I make a difference. I learned that I do.

I know you have angels in your life. You just have to look and you’ll see them. Are you an angel?  Reach out.

 
13 Comments

Posted by on May 19, 2011 in Idaho

 

13 responses to “I Get Knocked Down: Writing Through Grief Part 4 Angels Among Us

  1. Carley Ash

    May 19, 2011 at 7:02 AM

    This is beautiful Lynn – you are beautiful.

     
    • lynn mapp

      May 19, 2011 at 7:51 PM

      Thank you, Carly. You are beautiful.

       
  2. Janis McCurry

    May 19, 2011 at 8:11 AM

    Inspiring piece. Thanks for sharing.

     
    • lynn mapp

      May 19, 2011 at 7:52 PM

      You know I love to share. It’s who I am.

       
  3. Clarissa Southwick

    May 19, 2011 at 8:19 AM

    What a great story 🙂 Thanks for sharing it with us 🙂

     
    • lynn mapp

      May 19, 2011 at 7:53 PM

      You are welcome.

       
  4. Meredith Conner

    May 19, 2011 at 8:25 AM

    Thank you for telling that story Lynn. It’s beautiful.

     
    • lynn mapp

      May 19, 2011 at 7:54 PM

      It helps to remember angels are among us. They appear when least expected.

       
  5. Liz Fredericks

    May 19, 2011 at 10:05 AM

    Angels show up when we least expect it and need it most. Thank you for this story.

     
    • lynn mapp

      May 19, 2011 at 7:54 PM

      I like the “need it most” part. I really believe this.

       
  6. Deborah the Closet Monster

    May 19, 2011 at 11:41 AM

    Agreed. I never thought about it this way till I witnessed a particular exchange between my dying mom and my sister’s mother-in-law. There was so much love and light in that moment, it diminished even the pain of that experience.

    I wrote recently about how a lactation consultant then ended up being an angel to me. It’s good to be kind to everyone, because it’s impossible to predict when one such “everyone” might be the light you need to escape the darkness.

    Thanks for this beautiful reminder.

     
    • lynn mapp

      May 19, 2011 at 7:57 PM

      Deborah, it’s true. Sometimes pain clouds vison. You’ve got to look for the light. It’s there.

       
  7. Mary Vine

    May 24, 2011 at 7:53 PM

    Beautiful blog post, Lynn.

     

Leave a Reply

 
