RSS

Write like you mean it

01 Jun

I started writing like most writers do – I had an urge, a need to tell a story that had been brewing inside me. I wrote it, finished it and . . . hmmm, I had no idea what to do next. I went online and googled romance writing and discovered Romance Writers of America, a great organization that pointed me in the direction of a local chapter in Idaho.

From there I was able to attend meetings and workshops. I discovered all the weak spots in my manuscript and improved them. I searched out contests to enter. And I continued to write.

I thought my first manuscript was amazing. It wasn’t. But I got better with each story that I wrote.

At first, I wrote when I could, then as I progressed in my writerly journey, I began to set aside a time to write. Because along the way it hit me: as much as I love writing and as passionate as I am about it, I also plan to become a published author. Seems elementary doesn’t it? But being a published author means that my writing is a business. Which in turn means that I have to view it that way.

I have to network, promote myself, and spend the time necessary to write. On top of all the usual day to day living stuff we all have to deal with.

I love writing. I love seeing my stories on paper. But I also plan to make this my career, so I write like I am a published author. I have my time set aside and I write. I don’t answer the phone or check my emails. I write. I put my love, my humor and my passion into my stories and I write.

This is what I do. It’s who I am. I mean it.

 
7 Comments

Posted by on June 1, 2011 in Idaho

 

Tags: , ,

7 responses to “Write like you mean it

  1. johannaharness

    June 1, 2011 at 5:11 AM

    Yes! I love the external indicators too. it’s not enough to mean it. The people in your life have to know you mean it too. 🙂

     
  2. Carley Ash

    June 1, 2011 at 6:42 AM

    Isn’t it funny how we all think our first manuscript is a masterpiece, only to realize later how delusional we were. Donald Maas claims it’s because we have this fabulous scene that we envision – what’s ends up on paper is something else. I suspect he’s right.

     
  3. Janis McCurry

    June 1, 2011 at 7:12 AM

    You could say you’ve had a great character arc. 🙂

    You start out and progress to where you want to evolve. Great article. Thanks.

     
  4. Liz Fredericks

    June 1, 2011 at 11:42 AM

    You will need to write a companion piece to this blog in a year or so. “How writing like I mean it led me to my first publication”

    You’ll do it. I’ve no doubt.

     
  5. Clarissa Southwick

    June 1, 2011 at 10:23 PM

    Write like you’re already a published author. What a wonderful suggestion. Thanks, Meredith. 🙂

     
  6. Mary Vine

    June 2, 2011 at 11:02 AM

    I thought my first manuscript was amazing as well. Ha! Double ha! But I will never have such a love while writing as I did with that one, I’m sure.
    If I remember correctly, you can really pump out the words when you want to.
    Thanks.

     
  7. lynn mapp

    June 2, 2011 at 7:29 PM

    I loved this post! Write you you mean it, because you do.

     

Leave a Reply

 
