RSS

A rose is a rose unless . . .

15 Jun

A rose is a rose is a rose . . . unless it is thorny reminder of last night’s horrendous first date headed for the trash can or possibly a silken, heady scented flower that sways gently with breeze as she opens the door.

It never fails to amaze how powerful words can be. The right ones can draw a person so deeply into a story that you only resurface with the final page. The wrong ones can leave the book sitting on the shelf for the next person to pick up.

And at the same time it is all subjective. Those same words that caused you to put that book back on the shelf, can easily stop another person in their tracks and have them reaching for their wallet.

It’s crazy. And wonderful. And downright magical.

And it is not just novels and books that benefit from the joining of various vowels and consonants. Advertisements, commercials, websites – heck just about anything and everything. As I write this blog, there is a cheerful little greeting in the upper corner of this page saying “Howdy Meredith.” It’s friendly, casual and remarkably charming. I like it. It makes me smile.

Last night, in another late night countdown moment, I ordered shoes to go to the Romance Writer’s National conference in New York at the end of the month. After ordering, I received an email informing me that my order had been received and even as I read the email my shoes were being “carefully plucked” from their shelves. Someone with a sense of humor and the appropriate reverence for shoes wrote that. It may be their standard email, but it told me something about that company. I’ll be ordering from them again.

When I go back and edit, the power of each word I chose is uppermost in my mind. Am I getting caught up in my own story? Did a certain phrase take me out of the moment? Or perhaps not draw me in enough?

Words have such amazing power. They have a magic all unto themselves.

What words inspire or move you?

 
11 Comments

Posted by on June 15, 2011 in Idaho

 

Tags: , , ,

11 responses to “A rose is a rose unless . . .

  1. johannaharness

    June 15, 2011 at 5:25 AM

    You’re right. Words are magical. (And I too love businesses with a sense of humor. I’ve been known to buy shampoo for the directions on the bottle.)

     
  2. lizfredericks

    June 15, 2011 at 7:06 AM

    I’m with you, Meredith. ‘Carefully plucked’ is a lovely turn of phrase and I’ll buy shoes from that site based upon your observations alone. I have been thinking about a blog along these lines as well and the main word that always come up for me is ‘serendipity’. Or cavort. Travail. Elucidate. Amortization. Huh. I better stop while I’m ahead.

     
  3. Janis McCurry

    June 15, 2011 at 7:41 AM

    Synergy is a nice word. I like synchronicity. This might seem like a pattern, but it isn’t really. It’s the sound of the word said aloud. Nice blog. Thanks.

     
  4. Meredith Conner

    June 15, 2011 at 8:23 AM

    I love cavort and synchronicity! And I just received a shipping confirmation email from the shoe company. They even cheered “Yay!” and sent the tracking information so I can covertly follow my shoes. “It’s almost like being a super spy.” Cracks me up! Words are just too wonderful.

     
  5. Peggy Staggs

    June 15, 2011 at 8:39 AM

    Words compel, provoke, and sooth. They attract people to a products. Bring people to tears or shout with laughter. What an amazing thing language is.

     
  6. Paty Jager

    June 15, 2011 at 9:04 AM

    That definitely sounds like a fun place to shop and work. Ever since Mary Poppins I’ve loved Supercalifragilisticexpialidocious. The sound of it is fun and makes me smile. As for writing…anything that rolls off the tongue smoothly and conjures up an emotion.

    Fun post!

     
  7. lynn mapp

    June 15, 2011 at 9:31 AM

    Words=power, hence the reference about words being stronger than a sword.

     
  8. Meredith Conner

    June 15, 2011 at 11:39 AM

    I still sing along with my girls when they watch Mary Poppins. I think one of the the greatest gifts I received this last year was watching my oldest – who had been struggling with reading – discover a series of fairy books that she can’t put down. She’s fallen in love with reading – the words have drawn her in.

     
  9. Clarissa Southwick

    June 15, 2011 at 2:39 PM

    What wonderful examples, Meredith. It’s good to think about how words affect us emotionally. Sometimes the simplest words are best.

    I remember one time when I’d rewritten an ending hook a dozen times. Finally, I asked Peggy, who wisely told me, just say it: “He wants you dead.” And ‘dead’ was such a powerful word, it replaced the entire convoluted paragraph.

    The lesson? When in doubt, ask Peggy.

    As usual, you’ve given me lots to think about today. Thanks.

     
  10. Carley Ash

    June 15, 2011 at 6:31 PM

    I love reading an authors with an excellent vocabulary, because they always choose the exact word for each situation.

     
  11. Mary Vine

    June 16, 2011 at 12:55 PM

    I like how you used the word magic, relating it to words and buyer interest. Good thought.

     

Leave a Reply

 
