RSS

Hot Fun in the Summertime

16 Jun

Liz’s blog from yesterday got me thinking. I’m willing to date myself. Hot Fun in the Summertime was a Sly and the Family Stone tune, the year was 1969. To quote the teenage judges of American Bandstand, “It has a good beat, and it’s easy to dance to.” For you babies, check the song out and you’ll understand what I’m talking about.

While I was born in California, my Idaho roots run deep. My mother was born in Pocatello. Her father was born in Idaho Falls. I had relatives living in Idaho before it became a state in 1890.

Some of the most special summers of my life were spent in Pocatello. It was the perfect place and time for a teenager. My grandmother wasn’t worried I’d get kidnapped, so I had a lot of freedom. “Be home before dark.” I loved that. In California, I was on a short leash. My mother would never utter those words. Besides, it got dark between eight thirty and nine. In Idaho the sun didn’t begin to set until ten.

I looked forward to my time in Idaho. I had an assortment of cousins, one was only three months older than me. I remember baseball games, picnics at Ross Park, water fights, and my first kiss. All those events still have the power to make me smile.

The summer of 1969 was the last summer I spent in Pocatello as a carefree teen. The following year, I couldn’t go. I had a job and I was enjoying all California had to offer.

Don’t get me wrong. It wasn’t all good times. In life there is always a balance, but for me, the good outnumbered the bad. Pocatello was my Summer Place (another song title).

Do you have special memories of an unforgettable summer?

 
14 Comments

Posted by on June 16, 2011 in Idaho

 

14 responses to “Hot Fun in the Summertime

  1. johannaharness

    June 16, 2011 at 5:47 AM

    I love the way you describe Pocatello. What great memories!

     
    • lynn mapp

      June 16, 2011 at 9:39 AM

      Pocatello is…Pocatello. My husband and I graduated from ISU and I couldn’t wait to leave. BUT, it was a great place to spend summers. The winters were long and cold.

       
  2. lizfredericks

    June 16, 2011 at 7:03 AM

    You have wonderful summer memories – I’m sure California was fun, but it sounds like you had a great deal of freedom to explore being a teen in Pocatello. And I know the songs – good pick.

     
    • lynn mapp

      June 16, 2011 at 9:42 AM

      California was a blast. It will be hard for you to believe, but I was a shy teenager. In Pocatello I was free. When I returned to California I’d go back into my shell. The summer of 69 was a turning point in my life. I decided being shy wasn’t really that fun. I decided to “step out” of my shell and have fun.

       
  3. Carley Ash

    June 16, 2011 at 7:06 AM

    My unforgettable summer was when I first met Paul & we were commuting between Montana & Idaho, and exploring both states, plus Wyoming…that was two years ago, so unforgettable summers happen at any age.

     
    • lynn mapp

      June 16, 2011 at 9:43 AM

      Carley, I love that. You are right. I hope your first summer as a married couple is as unforgettable as that summer two years ago.

       
  4. Janis McCurry

    June 16, 2011 at 7:13 AM

    As a child, my summers were spent in McCall, a small town with a lake. We stayed up there all summer with Mom, and Dad drove up every Friday night for the weekend. That was in the days when a one-income family was common. We spent the day in the water, no TV, no phone. Funny memory–As kids, we didn’t slather on lotion and our arms and legs got so dry, the skin would crack. Mom tried every regular lotion she could find to get some moisture back in the skin. It was never enough for cold mountain lake water. Finally, a McCall doctor said, “There’s only one thing that really works up here. Crisco.” Mom started coating us with Crisco (it was cheap, too) and it worked like a charm. We could have crossed the iciest ocean and never felt the cold!

    Thanks so much, Lynn. That is a great memory for me.

     
    • lynn mapp

      June 16, 2011 at 9:46 AM

      Janis, I loved reading about your McCall summer. Crisco. Go figure. You have some precious memories. Have you considered writing about them?

       
  5. Clarissa Southwick

    June 16, 2011 at 7:30 AM

    Don’t you love how those summer songs fix the memories permanently in your mind?

    My family was military, so we traveled from place to place. The summer of 1973, we had just moved back from a long tour in England. It was the first summer where I got to meet my extended family –including cousins my age–when I was old enough to understand who they were. My cousin Joe had Billy Joel’s Piano Man album and we spent the entire listening to Boston radio stations, which were very different from the Beatles and the Monkees we listened to at home.

    Those were my first impressions of the USA off a military base. We’d been overseas so long, I couldn’t remember what it was like here. And I loved it!

     
    • lynn mapp

      June 16, 2011 at 9:48 AM

      The link between music and life events is amazing. The songs become the sound track to our lives.

       
  6. Mary Vine

    June 16, 2011 at 12:49 PM

    Probably camping with my husband and scoping out ghost towns in NE Oregon some years back. That’s when I really started to enjoy nature.

     
    • lynn mapp

      June 16, 2011 at 5:04 PM

      It sounds like a lot of fun. You earned a bonus from the experience, the enjoyment of nature.

       
  7. Steph Bochenek

    June 17, 2011 at 9:02 AM

    Lynn, I remember Sly and the family Stone. You made a statement about your grandmother only rule about being home before dark. I can remember leaving home in the morning from north Boise, riding our bikes across town to the Natatorium swimming pool, then to the end of Broadway to ride horses. We made it home before dark but Mom didn’t have any idea where we were. Boise was a different town back then and we had fun with no TV or computers.

     
  8. lynn mapp

    June 17, 2011 at 5:41 PM

    Hi Steph, that was the beauty of that time. It was the same for me in Pocatello. I left in the morning and returned before the sun set. We owned that town. Now, I’ll admit there were some close calls, time wise. It was like a spine chilling movie. We’d look at the darkening sky and realize we might not make it home in time. Talk about moving.

     

Leave a Reply

 
