RSS

Paranormal Lights

17 Jun

Sharla Lovelace is the author of THE REASON IS YOU coming out in April 2012.  She lives in Southeast Texas with her family, an old lady dog, and 19 cockatiels.  (The birds have their own house outside.)  She can be found at www.sharlalovelace.blogspot.com ,  www.facebook.com/sharlalovelacescroggs , and on Twitter as @sharlalovelace.

When you hear “Paranormal”, what comes to mind for you? 

Werewolves?  Witches?  Vampires? 

Sparkly vampires?  LOL.

I think the movie industry has gone a long way toward cementing those ideas in the minds of viewers and readers, alike.  And the book trend of late has been heavy with those elements as well.  And doing well at it.  It’s a very popular genre.

My preference is what I call Light Paranormal.  I’ll use TV shows to demonstrate the difference.  I love vampire shows like Vampire Diaries and Being Human.  But I don’t care for True Blood.  It’s too gory for me.  I love Haven for its mysterious mystical town, the movie (and book) Practical Magic for its “no evil in the craft” witches, and Supernatural for just the idea of two brothers fighting against Hell…and sometimes even Heaven.   But I didn’t like the movie Paranormal Activity.  Too much.

So I guess basically, vampires are great as long as I don’t have to be all up close and personal with their meal.  LOL. 

In my opinion, a perfect example of light paranormal women’s fiction is the work of Sarah Addison Allen.  Her books are awesome.  She’s a genius at pulling just the right touches of magical mystical whimsy. 

And I love magical mystical whimsy…  I love the tease of something just under the surface, but not quite clear so you have to keep digging to find the surprise.  Sometimes that surprise is finding out you have magical power, or the ability to see ghosts, or read someone’s mind.  Or sometimes it’s a house that subtly changes temperature with the moods of its inhabitants.

I write light paranormal romantic women’s fiction (whew) because it encompasses everything I love in a story.  A woman’s journey to figure out something, search for something either physically or internally or both.  A romance—because who doesn’t love a little romance?  There’s always humor, because I can’t seem to keep my snarky sarcasm out of it.  And then there just has to be something odd in the mix.  That thing under the surface that you can’t quite put your finger on.  I’ve tried writing without it and it always manages to find its way in.  My book, THE REASON IS YOU (April 2012, Berkley), is about a single mom with a teenage daughter, coming back to her home town to start over.  Which would be easier to swallow if the dead would quit chatting her up in public.  See?  I just can’t write a straightforward women’s fiction story.  I had to throw in some ghosts—and one major particularly hot one.  Because, of course, what’s a romance without conflict?  And what more conflict than your soul mate being a man you can’t touch?

My current work is about a woman who sees/feels the story behind objects and people when she touches them, and it drains her energy.  Sometimes it’s a good thing, sometimes bad, but can you imagine living that way?  I mean, honestly, think about having children, shaking hands with people, having sex!  Okay maybe that’s just where my mind goes, LOL!

I thank the ladies at Gem State Writers for having me over to blog today!  It’s been a blast!  Hope you all have a great weekend.

 
14 Comments

Posted by on June 17, 2011 in Guest Blog, Idaho, Paranormal Fiction, writing

 

14 responses to “Paranormal Lights

  1. Janis

    June 17, 2011 at 5:38 AM

    Sharla,

    Thanks for the tip about Sarah Addison Allen. I enjoy Light Paranormals. It seems more personal if the magic affects their lives without destroying them. Challenges, yes, but not end-of-the-world stuff. They make me happy.

    Thanks for visiting Gem State Writers.

     
  2. Carley Ash

    June 17, 2011 at 7:07 AM

    Thank you. This was a fun read. I too am writing a paranormal light, women’s fiction.

     
  3. Liz Fredericks

    June 17, 2011 at 7:22 AM

    Thanks Sharla! I’m looking forward to reading your upcoming release – and your WIP. Personally, I adore stories with snarky. Add paranormal without deep despair and I’m yours! Thanks for posting with us.

     
  4. Peggy Staggs

    June 17, 2011 at 8:04 AM

    Sharla, thanks for giving us your time and views. I’m right there with you on too much paranormal. I like enough to complicate things, but not so much that it gets in the way of the story. Love the Winchester boys! I’ll be looking for your new book.

     
  5. Meredith Conner

    June 17, 2011 at 8:32 AM

    Great post Sharla! I love paranormals and who doesn’t love a bit of snarky? Looking forward to reading your new release!

     
  6. Steph Bochenek

    June 17, 2011 at 8:49 AM

    Sharla, ah, another Sarah Addison Allen fan. She’s one of my favorites. I can’t wait to read your book.

     
  7. Patti Yager Delagrange

    June 17, 2011 at 8:57 AM

    I so agree with you, Sharla, about light paranormal. I don’t like the “in your face” paranormal but rather the hint of it – think Sarah Addisson Allen – as you said. I read one of her books a few months back and loved the way she wove it into her story, not throwing it out there on the table like a big glob for all to see.
    Thanks for the post.
    Patti

     
  8. Amanda Bonilla

    June 17, 2011 at 11:27 AM

    Great post, Sharla! Practical Magic is a great example of “light” paranormal. One of my favorite reads and movies!

     
  9. sharlascroggs

    June 17, 2011 at 11:32 AM

    Thanks so much for the nice comments and for the opportunity to visit! I enjoyed it!

     
  10. sharlalovelace

    June 17, 2011 at 11:43 AM

    Sorry, above the comment used my old gravatar acct with my old name and pic. In case anyone was like…who…???

    LOL

    I enjoyed it ladies! Thank you!

     
  11. Clarissa Southwick

    June 17, 2011 at 4:40 PM

    Sharla, Thanks so much for guest blogging at the Gem State Writers. Your novels sound fascinating. I can’t wait to read them 🙂

     
  12. lynn mapp

    June 17, 2011 at 5:37 PM

    Sharla, thank you blogging. Who doen’t like snarky sarcasm?

     
  13. P. L. Parker

    June 18, 2011 at 3:48 PM

    Well of course I love the paranormal – even when I try to write a “non” – it always ends up paranormal somewhere along the way. Enjoyed the post!

     
  14. ramblingsfromtheleft

    June 20, 2011 at 1:46 PM

    Sharla, the deep wrinkles in my head nag at me for being so late in commenting on your guest blog. Good post, great description of why “light” paranormal, and of course you gave us just enough of a hook to keep us coming back for more. The best is yet to come 🙂

     

Leave a Reply

 
