RSS

Guest Blogger, Author Paty Jager

19 Jun

I grew up just across the Snake River from Idaho in Wallowa County. The county has always been isolated from the rest of the state and the world in general due to natural barriers like the Snake River/Hells Canyonells CanyonHell, the Wallowa and Blue Mountains. These natural barriers made the perfect summer home for the Wallowa Nez Perce.

Their story intrigued me, and I swear as a teenager one time while riding my horse on the mountain upriver from our house, I saw a vision of a warrior on a horse going through the trees. A chill raced up my spine and my horse snorted.

I don’t know if that was when my desire to write a story about them first settled into my subconscience or not but I have written a romance trilogy set among the Wallowa Nez Perce. The first book takes place before the Whiteman arrives in their valley and it shows their great love for the earth and where they summer. I added a spirit element to the book that helps to show the devotion to the lake, mountains, and valley. The second book deals with the intrusion of the Whiteman into their peaceful world. Using a Nez Perce story I’d heard growing up in the valley, I made the spirit element in this book be the antlered monster living in Wallowa Lake. The third book follows the flight of the nontreaty Indians as they try to avoid being placed on a reservation.Β  Again, the spirit element is used to help show the plight and the feelings of The People.

The books were written with as much historical accuracy as I could research both in books, online, and through connections with the Nez Perce. The everyday habits and living of the Nez Perce is factual, only the spirits and the events around them and the fictional characters are my imagination.

The first two books have received nice reviews. And the covers are beautiful! The second book the cover artist even used a photo of Wallowa Lake. I was thrilled when I saw it.

I’ve had several people contact me asking about things I mentioned in research blogs. While I’m not an authority on the Nez Perce I feel better acquainted with them and their culture from the research and writing the books.

I’ll be attending the Miner’s Jubilee in Baker City on July 15th-17th with the other writers in the area.Β  If you’d like to learn more about my writing or books I’d love to visit with you.

Paty Jager

www.patyjager.net

www.patyajger.blogspot.com

 
18 Comments

Posted by on June 19, 2011 in biography, Idaho

 

18 responses to “Guest Blogger, Author Paty Jager

  1. Janis

    June 19, 2011 at 7:37 AM

    History is such a rich experience for us all. It’s so exciting that you can use your personal interests to enhance your writing. Thanks for guest logging on Gem State Writers.

     
  2. Mary Vine

    June 19, 2011 at 9:02 AM

    Thanks for blogging with us, Paty! You are so lucky to have been a child in such beautiful country. I love your covers, they are absolutely beautiful! Looking forward to seeing you at the Miner’s Jubilee.

     
  3. Paty Jager

    June 19, 2011 at 9:40 AM

    Thank you, Janis. The trilogy is the books of my heart and I’ve put a lot into them.

    Mary, It will be fun hanging out with you and visiting again.

     
  4. Vonnie Davis

    June 19, 2011 at 10:06 AM

    Great post. I made mention of the Nez Perce in my upciming release. Now I know who to go to with questions. (*wink*) should I want to mention them again. Your series sounds very, very interesting.

     
  5. liz fredericks

    June 19, 2011 at 10:23 AM

    Great post, Paty! I’ve been looking for a new series to read and the setting and background for your stories sounds very good to me.

     
  6. Paty Jager

    June 19, 2011 at 10:41 AM

    Hi Vonnie, I did a lot of research for these books. I’m not an expert, but I have plenty of notes.

    Liz, Thanks!

    And I noticed my fingers got ahead of themselves again. My blog is http://www.patyjager.blogspot.com

     
  7. Isis Rushdan

    June 19, 2011 at 11:11 AM

    What an interesting series, Paty. I also love your covers. I’ll have to check them out.

     
  8. Paty Jager

    June 19, 2011 at 12:16 PM

    Thank you, Isis. The third book of this series is with my editor. I’m still waiting to see what she thinks of it.

     
  9. Carley Ash

    June 19, 2011 at 12:31 PM

    What a fascinating blog. Thanks for sharing.

     
  10. Caroline Clemmons

    June 19, 2011 at 12:35 PM

    Paty, I would love to visit that part of the country. I envy you living there while we’re sweltering in 103 degrees, and it’s not even summer for another day.

     
  11. aliciacoleman

    June 19, 2011 at 1:13 PM

    Great post. Thanks for sharing. History is my favorite subject. Your books sound very interesting. I look forward to reading them.

     
  12. Paty Jager

    June 19, 2011 at 5:31 PM

    You’re welcome, Carly.

    Caroline, It has been a funny year for weather.

    Thanks, Alicia!

     
  13. Clarissa Southwick

    June 19, 2011 at 5:42 PM

    Thank you for guest blogging for us, Paty. Your book sounds fascinating. I’ve always wanted to see Baker City. Perhaps I’ll see you there. πŸ™‚

     
  14. Paty Jager

    June 19, 2011 at 7:10 PM

    Hi Clarissa! I’d love to meet you in Baker City. Blogging is one of my favorite ways to visit with people about my books.

     
  15. Jacquie Rogers

    June 19, 2011 at 10:52 PM

    Hi, Paty. I’m always drawn to your books. What’s not to like? Great characters, strong conflict, well researched, and one of the most beautiful settings on earth.

    I’ll be checking this blog more often–I’m from Idaho and most of my stories are set there. πŸ™‚

     
  16. Paty Jager

    June 20, 2011 at 8:42 AM

    Jacquie, Glad you and I both discovered this blog. And thank you for your kind words about my books.

     
  17. B. A. Binns

    June 20, 2011 at 9:29 AM

    One of the things I like best about writing is how it gives me an excuse to be a researcher, and find out all kinds of interesting facts I might not otherwise have cared about. Your books on the Nez Perce sound awsome and filled with history.

     
  18. Paty Jager

    June 20, 2011 at 9:39 AM

    Hi B.A., I agree the best part of writing is the research. I guess that makes me a nerd, but I love learning new things and finding ways to introduce it to a story without the reader realizing they are being taught something. πŸ˜‰

     

Leave a Reply

 
