RSS

Ten Reasons Why I Can’t Find Time to Write

05 Jul

I’m struggling with fear. Yes, fear of success/rejection/failure. Sigh. As if this business isn’t hard enough, now I have to deal with mental illness, ‘er barriers. I’ve decided the best way
to overcome the problem is to write down the ten most important reasons why I’m
having trouble putting my butt in the chair.

10. Get the yard ready  for summer and hopefully make it appealing to
potential buyers . I had to rearrange some plants because the squirrels ate
most of the two hundred and fifty tulip bulbs I planted last fall—squirrels—rats
with fuzzy tails.

9.  We’re building a new house. I had no idea it
would turn into a time black hole. It sounded so easy, right? It just involves
a few decisions: the final plan—this isn’t easy since my husband is an
Architect and he thinks he knows more than I do about building a house…well
maybe. Next I have to pick out some stuff—oven, microwave, stove top,
refrigerator, colors, light fixtures, sinks and tubs, carpet, colors, windows,
and on the list goes.

8.  Summer finally arrived in the Northwest and it
is dog walking weather. The walk is great, but brushing the junk out of the dogs
isn’t. Who knew two big dogs could find so many stickers on one walk?

7.  Preparations for nationals sucked up a good
deal of time. There was all the shopping for the perfect this or that. I had to
get my pitches ready because I have an agent and an editor appointment.

6.  I’m working part time and spending money full
time at Ann Taylor. That requires dozens of decisions. Not just the obvious
what to buy today, but what to wear.

5.  (Now to the actual writing excuses) The market. I mean really! It keeps changing so
often how do I know what to write? They cancel lines, or the line changes so
much, the book I wrote to target it won’t work now. And, after all that work.
Now I need to do a lot more research so I can get the right book to the right
person before they change agencies/publishers.

4.  I just got a bigger, better computer. Now I
have to figure out all the new bells and whistles Mr. Gates has come up with.
Then, there is getting everything from computer “A” to computer “B” without losing
everything I’ve done. If I mess this up I’ll shoot myself and I won’t have to
worry about 3, 2, or 1.

3.  What if the agent/editor at nationals doesn’t
like it and I’m rejected? That could set me back months…I’d have to examine
my whole reason for writing and if I want to continue in this frustrating
business. Then, of course, there’s all the research I’ll have to do to find more
agents who will be as perfect as the one who so coldly rejected me.

2.  What if the agent wants to sign me on? Then
what? Are they going to want me to do re-writes? How can I do that with all the
other things I have to do. Organize for next Christmas and ride herd on the new
house so we can move in sometime this summer if the guy building the doors ever
gets them done, so we can finish the house and move in. That’s an ugly circle.

And of course the number one excuse not to write.

1.  What if I sell? Then what? I mean if I sell to
some unreasonable editor somewhere who is going to want changes to this book,
not to mention they’re going to want another book that they’ll want revisions
for. Then there are the book signings and the television appearances and the
interviews for magazines and the invitations to speak at conferences and the
awards that will undoubtedly be thrust on me. Where will I find the time?

 
16 Comments

Posted by on July 5, 2011 in Idaho

 

16 responses to “Ten Reasons Why I Can’t Find Time to Write

  1. Meredith Conner

    July 5, 2011 at 8:55 AM

    Ah – the fear bug! My favorite demon. Can’t we just squash the darn thing and be done with it once and for all? And according to those New York Times best-selling author – that bug finds a home everywhere! I’ll be there to cheer you on with your awards Peggy!!

     
    • Peggy Staggs

      July 5, 2011 at 9:24 AM

      I know! If they just made little patches for fear like they do for bedbugs we’d be all set.

       
  2. Liz Fredericks

    July 5, 2011 at 9:19 AM

    Oh my goodness, Peggy. This is priceless. I’m guessing a great many writers can see themselves in the countdown. Nothing like time management among friends.

     
  3. Peggy Staggs

    July 5, 2011 at 9:26 AM

    I’m thinking time management is a DNA thing and I didn’t get that gene.

     
  4. Janis

    July 5, 2011 at 11:56 AM

    We are our own worst enemies when it comes to rejection or acceptance. We never feel up to either. Darn it.

     
  5. Carley Ash

    July 5, 2011 at 5:24 PM

    I love #1 Sometimes I start thinking like that…how am I possibly going to find the time to be as successful as I imagine.

     
    • Peggy Staggs

      July 5, 2011 at 5:31 PM

      We can all hope for success. When it comes I’m sure we’ll all cope.

       
  6. Carley Ash

    July 5, 2011 at 5:25 PM

     
  7. Clarissa Southwick

    July 5, 2011 at 8:03 PM

    Great list, Peggy. I could add husband and kids to it, but at the end of the day the biggest barriers are the psychological ones.

     
    • Peggy Staggs

      July 6, 2011 at 7:57 AM

      We can all find reasons. I’m the worst. Ahmen to the husband and kids.

       
  8. Lynn Mapp

    July 6, 2011 at 3:33 PM

    I love the #1 reason. What if I sell? Then what? That sums it up.

     
    • Peggy Staggs

      July 6, 2011 at 3:38 PM

      Yeah, it’s a reality we have to face. Right?!?

       
  9. Steph

    July 7, 2011 at 8:54 AM

    What a great blog. This just about sums up the way my life is going now. Thanks for the laugh and the inspiration.

     
    • Peggy Staggs

      July 7, 2011 at 11:28 AM

      You’re welcome. Next time I’m going to blog on 10 reasons to write. That’s going to be much harder.

       
  10. Mary Vine

    July 7, 2011 at 2:55 PM

    Good list. I like your sense of humor. I think those who really have time management down depend on writing money to pay the bills.

     
    • Peggy Staggs

      July 7, 2011 at 3:40 PM

      I’m sure they do. If all the books I own on the subject are any indication I too will someday be organized.

       

Leave a Reply

 
