RSS

I Get Knocked Down: Writing Through Grief Part 5

25 Aug

Living Your Best Life.

Are you living your best life?

It’s easy to get lost in the day-to-day details of our lives and lose track of what’s important.

In order to live your best life you need a handle on your top five. Take a moment and write what your top priorities are.

1.

2.

3.

4.

5.

Okay. Now let’s get down to it.

Did you list a clean house? My house really needs to be cleaned, but it’s not on my list. Don’t get me wrong. It will get cleaned, but this week it’s not on my list.

I’m working to get through the other things at this moment and cleaning my house doesn’t make the list.

Living your best life doesn’t mean going from unpublished to The New York Times Best Selling list. That would be wonderful, but it doesn’t mean you’re living your best life.

You don’t have to jump out of airplanes to live your best life.

You don’t have to be the CEO of a Fortune 500 business to live your best life.

When my son died. I was devastated. He was only twenty-six. I thought he had a lifetime of experiences ahead. He would never get married, never have that dream career, never have a family. He hadn’t lived his best life.

My dear friend, Cherie, helped me see the error of my thinking.

In twenty-six short years, he squeezed in a lot of experiences. He’d traveled outside the United States, he’d fallen in love, he’d completed his college education, and…he’d been kind and loving in his dealings with others.

He wasn’t famous.

He simply lived.

It’s not where you’re going. It’s the journey that makes you, you. In your race to survive the day, are you taking time to savor what’s important to you? Are you making time for your passion? Are you smiling more and frowning less? Are you someone you like to be with?

I hope you are, but it you’re not…what are you going to do to make it happen?

 
14 Comments

Posted by on August 25, 2011 in Idaho

 

14 responses to “I Get Knocked Down: Writing Through Grief Part 5

  1. johannaharness

    August 25, 2011 at 5:42 AM

    Thanks for this reminder, Lynn. I needed that.

     
    • lynn mapp

      August 25, 2011 at 5:22 PM

      In the day-to-day process of living, we forget…to live. It’s crazy, but there are times we just go through the motions.

       
    • lynn mapp

      August 25, 2011 at 5:26 PM

      Johanna, I am glad I could give you that little nudge. Go, make your best life happen.

       
  2. Liz Fredericks

    August 25, 2011 at 6:24 AM

    Exactly. The list is easier than the follow through, but it’s a start today. Thank you for this, Lynn. You always give excellent advice.

     
    • lynn mapp

      August 25, 2011 at 5:27 PM

      Hey, I love that thing about excellent advice. I try, but following my own advice…I need to work on it.

       
  3. Janis McCurry

    August 25, 2011 at 7:26 AM

    I usually think I’m entirely selfish in living how I want to. Whether or not that is the best possible life I can is something to think about. Thanks for the call to action.

     
    • lynn mapp

      August 25, 2011 at 5:30 PM

      This is your moment to think about that. Sometimes being selfish is your best life, but…are you? I don’t think so. I think you give an incredible amount of yourself to others. Hey, if you hear a call to action, listen to it. This is it. Live your best life.

       
  4. Meredith Conner

    August 25, 2011 at 8:04 AM

    Thanks Lynn, that is the reminder that we all need! And so appropriate for me right now.

     
    • lynn mapp

      August 25, 2011 at 5:33 PM

      Meredith, I’m glad I could send this gentle reminder out. The truth is I’d written another blog about plotting. I even used your phase “chaos.” I didn’t get home from the fair until late and I couldn’t get the darned thing to post, no matter how many times I tried. I’d written this blog in May, but…never posted it. I dusted it off and…here it is.

       
  5. maryvine

    August 25, 2011 at 1:34 PM

    I liked reading about your son’s accomplishments. Thanks for sharing.

     
    • lynn mapp

      August 25, 2011 at 5:35 PM

      Mary, thank you. It’s a reminder to me how we touch other people’s lives in little, but important ways. It’s reminds me about the connections we think so little of that can mean so much to someone.

       
  6. Marsha R. West

    August 25, 2011 at 5:01 PM

    Your son has touched even more lives because you were willing to share, Lynn. Thanks
    Marsha

     
    • lynn mapp

      August 25, 2011 at 5:41 PM

      Marsha, thank you. Your words touched me. Russell was my much loved middle son. There were times he drove me crazy, but we loved each other. He was smart, funny, charming, and beautiful. His actions have left a cavern in my heart. The one thing I learned from his death is how loved he was. His family, his friends, teachers, He touched so many lives, , I want to share the lessons I’m learning.

       
  7. Carley Ash

    August 25, 2011 at 7:18 PM

    Reading Janis’s comment reminded me of something I read by Oscar Wilde: “Selfishness is not living as one wishes to live, it is asking others to live as one wishes to live.”

    Thanks for the reminder about focusing on our desires.

     

Leave a Reply

 
