RSS

Keep Moving

28 Aug

It’s funny how we don’t consider housework, or chores around the house as exercise. I know I say my chosen manner of exercise is time on a stationary bike.  Hey, I can even read a book while I’m peddling. Perhaps housework isn’t fun enough to be considered an excellent form of exercise. I’ve never heard anyone say that they’d washed all the floors in their house for one hour, in place of a workout at their neighborhood fitness club. Perhaps, it’s because we can’t measure the work the same as a device that measures how far we’ve gone or how many calories we’ve burned. Who knows? Maybe there is something electronic out there that can count the mop swings.

I have to really be psyched up to make myself vigorously wash all of the floors in my home, let alone dust. I will procrastinate until company’s coming or I just have to clean them. It is so much easier for me to jump on the stationary bike and read a book.

The man in the picture is my husband Greg. He was diagnosed with a rare type of multiple sclerosis in 2008. Here he is with our latest grandson, Johnny Valentine.

Over the years my husband has stopped drinking and smoking, two very hard things to do and which I admire him for. Still, at this writing, I am the most proud of all he can do in a little block of time each day. I’m sure there are a lot of people who have disabilities of some sort and sit on the couch and brood for months to years, and frankly who can blame them? Yet with Greg, he knows that his body will function better in the mornings, and he gets up and gets busy at the store, house, garage, or outside and gets a lot done. He doesn’t do much procrastinating because he knows that if it is going to get done it will have to be done in the morning hours. Basically, there will not be any energy left; he cannot move very well the rest of the day. Mind over MS, he says. This attitude propels him forward. What he does is exercise, but he has something to show for it by helping to keep our family going, or to enjoy something he does outside. Gym or exercise equipment will not do it for him.

I can procrastinate when it comes to writing as well, and that is during the time not filled with family, cooking, job, shopping, etc. Well, writing is work, a brain workout if nothing else. If we keep moving we will have something to show for our work. If writers work hard enough they will have a finished manuscript and one day a published book.

We all must keep moving forward, with our bodies, our minds, and our dreams in the allotted time we have. One day, not a one of us will have any time left. So, let’s keep writing and have something to show for our labors.

 

Tags: , , , , ,

16 responses to “Keep Moving

  1. Janis

    August 28, 2011 at 7:54 AM

    You’re right about not counting housework as exercise. I never think of vacuuming or mopping as movement. Weeding and poking around the yard feels like exercise, but perhaps it’s because it’s outside.

    Kudos to Greg and you for keeping moving. Thanks for the inspiration.

     
    • maryvine

      August 28, 2011 at 12:36 PM

      I know. I even find myself doing a brisk walk through Costco and then going back several times to find things I’ve missed 🙂 and then having to tell myself twice that I got some actual excercise.

       
  2. Carley Ash

    August 28, 2011 at 9:10 AM

    I absolutely count housework as exercise. But it still doesn’t motivate me to do it. I read yesterday that there are only a couple good ways to increase bone density – lifting weights and GARDENING. Excellent news. The whole gym-style work-out is so horribly dull. I’m happy to have things that work into my day naturally – biking to/from work and gardening. And it allows me to trade in that sweaty room with dozens of whirring machines for being in the sunshine with the birds chirping and squirrels playing and the occasional deer grazing.

     
    • maryvine

      August 28, 2011 at 12:37 PM

      Thanks, Carley. I loved reading your bike riding in place of the gym blog and how it saved you some time to write!

       
  3. Steph Bochenek

    August 28, 2011 at 10:33 AM

    What an inspiration this blog is to me. I’ve spent most of the summer sick with one thing or another and it’s become habit to lay on the couch. After reading about Greg, I’m going to get up and get going. Riding my horse with my husband this morning and writing this afternoon. Thanks for the boot in the butt.

     
    • maryvine

      August 28, 2011 at 1:07 PM

      How sweet! Thanks, Steph! I will tell Greg how inspiring he is.

       
  4. Liz Fredericks

    August 28, 2011 at 11:09 AM

    I’m with Steph! Your husband’s attitude and your ongoing focus on writing inspire me.

     
    • maryvine

      August 28, 2011 at 1:08 PM

      Thanks for the nice words, Liz.

       
  5. Clarissa Southwick

    August 28, 2011 at 12:36 PM

    Inspiring post, Mary. I do find that I get the most done when I’ve got a limited amount of time to it in.

    I count mowing the lawn as a workout because we have a heavy, old lawnmower (not self-propelled) and an uphill slant to the yard. Other than that, I haven’t really thought about it. Most of my obstacles are psychological, not physical.

     
  6. maryvine

    August 28, 2011 at 1:11 PM

    Lawn mowing is exercise – for sure! Yes, time pressure helps me get things done, too. Thanks for reading!

     
  7. Tracy Wilson-Burns

    August 28, 2011 at 3:57 PM

    I’ve always considered housework and yardwork as exercise; and better exercise than the gym, since I have more to show for it afterward! But I also put them in the “procrastination bucket” as in procrastination from writing!

    If I need to write and yet the floors need mopping, or the dishes need washing, or laundry needs folding, or the deck needs sweeping, or groceries shopped for, then I have to mop, wash, fold, sweep, shop first! Before writing. Realizing a messy house leads to my writing-procrastination (seriously, when does the house ever not need something?) I try to keep my office pristine–and then close the door to the rest of the house. Out of sight, out of mind.

    Your husband sounds like a wonderful man–what an inspiration!

     
    • maryvine

      August 28, 2011 at 7:04 PM

      Yes, Tracy, isn’t it funny that we’ll do housework over writing sometimes?! It’s all work, and sometimes finding words to put on the page can be even more STRAINIOUS.

       
  8. Marsha R. West

    August 29, 2011 at 3:13 PM

    Late to this I know, but a sinus infection had me wiped out for a time. So as everyone has said, Mary, your husband is a real inspiration as are you. More of us should get off our duff (unless it’s planted in front of the computer and we’re writing/editing) and get busy.

    My excercise of choice is Pilates. My younger daughter is an authentically certified instructor. That means she’ trained by someone who was trained by someone who was trained by Joseph Pilates. She has her own studio, but has brought in other authentically trained folks, because she’s waiting for her little daughter to decide to make her appearance. Very exciting. Third grandchild for my husband and me.

    Thanks for reminding us to be thankful for all we have. Marsha

     
    • Mary Vine

      August 29, 2011 at 4:07 PM

      Thanks for your kind words, Marsha, and congrats on your third grandchild!!

       
  9. lynn mapp

    August 29, 2011 at 9:10 PM

    Mary, insightful blog. You’re husband has a great attitude. He knows himself and understands how his MS works. As writers, we need to know when our best time to produce. Thank you for sharing this.

     
  10. Mary Vine

    August 30, 2011 at 3:21 PM

    Thanks for the comment, Lynn.

     

Leave a Reply

 
