RSS

Let’s Go On A Journey

08 Sep

Plotting a book…easy as going on a journey.  Let’s start with the basics of the Hero’s Journey.

Act I

Ordinary World

Incident- something happens that disrupts the status quo

Call to Adventure-hero is presented with a problem

Refusal of the Call-hero balks, reluctant, not fully committed

Meeting with the Mentor-mentor prepares hero to face the unknown

Crossing the Threshold-hero commits, story takes off

Act II

Tests and Trials, Allies and Enemies

a)

b)

c)

d)

e)

f)

g)

Approach to the Inmost Cave-hero confronts death

The Ordeal A.K.A. Dark Moment-hero hits bottom, faces worst fear

Act III

Reward-hero takes possession of treasure, a greater understanding

The Road Back-hero deals with consequences of dealing with dark forces of Ordeal

Resurrection-defeat death and in the process is reborn

Return with the Elixir-hero returns to ordinary world with lesson or treasure

We are going to take that information to help create the bones of our novel.  The structure.  Special note.  Hello, my name is Lynn and I am a chart-a-holic.  Because of this…issue, I’ve created a chart to illustrate how to use this information to lay the foundation of a book.

The next part sounds simple.  Fill in the blanks.  This is the foundation of your novel.  You know the basics and you have several scenes.  You have over thirty scenes at your fingertips. Now, I’m not going to say this is The One and Only Method Get to use.  It’s one.  I am trying to create order from chaos.  Do you have suggestions that make the plotting process more manageable?  Please share it with us.

 
18 Comments

Posted by on September 8, 2011 in Hero's Journey, Idaho, writing

 

18 responses to “Let’s Go On A Journey

  1. johannaharness

    September 8, 2011 at 5:24 AM

    Filling in the blanks always sounds more easy than it is, doesn’t it?

     
    • Lynn Mapp

      September 8, 2011 at 6:42 PM

      Johanna, that’s so true. We know from experience, if it sounds too easy, you’re going to step into quicksand and risk getting into deep trouble.

       
  2. Janis McCurry

    September 8, 2011 at 7:06 AM

    Plotting manageable? You’re so cute!

    Nice to add an additional tool to my writing arsenal. Thanks, Lynn.

     
    • Lynn Mapp

      September 8, 2011 at 6:43 PM

      Thank you Janis. That’s soooo sweet of you to say. You are so right, manageable, not.

       
  3. Laura Dion-Jones Casey

    September 8, 2011 at 7:08 AM

    Great Advice!
    However, perhaps you’d like to help me decide what to include in my how-to/how-I-did-it book, Commit To Get Fit: The Secret to True and Everlasting Weight loss. I’m afraid I’m spoiled for choice (as one NY lit agent told me) with so much terrific info that I don’t think a chart would help me! Help!
    Laura Dion-Jones http://www.lauradionjones.com

     
    • Lynn Mapp

      September 8, 2011 at 6:46 PM

      Laura Dion, I can’t believe you don’t think a handy-dandy chart would help. SIGH. Why isn’t it that easy. Why is it such hard work? Okay, I’m done asking why. We know the answer. It just is. Wait a minute. We know there are those people…those people…where it is easy. I’m not one of them.

       
  4. Liz Fredericks

    September 8, 2011 at 10:10 AM

    A worksheet!! I love worksheets because you can make a couple of copies, tuck them into your notebooks and jot random thoughts into the appropriate box as you go through the day. I suspect most of us are swamped with so many obligations we tuck writing time into any open space in our schedule. This approach would help me stay organized and keep some focus. Nice job, Lynn.

     
    • Lynn Mapp

      September 8, 2011 at 6:48 PM

      Thanks Liz. Did you see me admit my “problem” with charts. I’m glad you share my…issue.

       
  5. Mary Vine

    September 8, 2011 at 11:49 AM

    I’m going to copy this off and use it with my WIP. Thanks, Lynn!

     
    • Lynn Mapp

      September 8, 2011 at 6:48 PM

      Mary, let me know how it works for you.

       
  6. Peggy Staggs

    September 8, 2011 at 12:02 PM

    Great worksheet. I love organization. Thanks for putting it all in one place.

     
    • Lynn Mapp

      September 8, 2011 at 6:51 PM

      Peggy, I stole the bones from you. You presented useful tips at one of the CBC meetings. This was ripped right from your hands. I only added a chart…to make it…pretty.

       
  7. Carley Ash

    September 8, 2011 at 10:32 PM

    Thanks Lynn

     
  8. Steph

    September 14, 2011 at 12:08 PM

    Chart-a-holic, I love it. I would lose the chart. I guess I could have it laminated and hang it from a chain around my neck.

     
    • Lynn Mapp

      September 14, 2011 at 9:23 PM

      Hey Steph, what can I say? It’s who I am. I think it makes me feel like I can control the process. That’s a laugh.

       
    • Lynn Mapp

      September 14, 2011 at 9:24 PM

      Steph, there is no control. Writing is like hanging from a spinning thead.

       
  9. Red

    December 6, 2011 at 4:30 AM

    The best hero’s journey analysis by far is at http://www.clickok.co.uk/index4.html

     

Leave a Reply

 
