RSS

Guest Blogger: Amanda Turner

14 Oct

Cultivating Tenacity

Last month I was accepted as an Artist-in-Residence for the 8th Street Marketplace in downtown Boise.  Being handed the keys to a room of my own was delicious.  As part of my residency, I’m conducting monthly workshops called the Tenacious Writer Studio Series.

Why Tenacious?

Because tenacity is as important to a writer’s success as her understanding of plot or ability to craft memorable dialogue.

Because plenty of excellent writers struggle when it comes to interacting with their readers.

Because tenacity is my strong suit.

 

OWNING THE MIC: Read your work, engage the crowd & create a following

This was the first workshop and took place earlier this month.  I invited bestselling local author Dave Lakhani to co-host, not only because he knows how to engage a crowd, but also because he is tenacity defined.  We talked about vocal techniques, open mic etiquette, and employed a bit of Dr. Seuss.  Very few successful writers today can hide away in a study and pen masterpieces.  When the writing is complete, we must dive into promo mode.  More often than not, that includes the ability to effectively read our work.

GRASSROOTS CELEBRITY: Making a name for yourself from scratch

So many writers are frightened by the concept of platform.  We attend writer’s conferences where agents and editors seem only interested in those with celebrity status.  Where does that leave the rest of us?  This second workshop will be cohosted by Elaine Ambrose, author and owner of Mill Park Publishing.  We’ll talk about platform and tips for writers looking to build one.

STEALING TIME: Prioritizing writing in the chaos of life

I don’t have much sympathy for those who claim they don’t have time to write.  None of us have time to write!  But we do it anyway, because we can’t fathom not doing it.  Gretchen Anderson, like most of us, is perpetually overwhelmed by life.  Unlike most of us, she still manages to write (and promote) books.  We’ll find out how and learn tips to do the same.

GROW YOUR OWN WRITERS GROUP: Form a workshop that works

I admit that I once frowned on writers groups.  After a few ho-hum and even downright negative experiences, I was ready to give up.  I decided to give it one last try and hit the jackpot.  Greg Likins will join me for this workshop.  He’s also facilitated and participated in writers groups both good and… not so good.  We’ll talk about how to start a group that works.

CROSS-MEDIA: Promoting your career with radio, television and the internet

Chances are you’ve heard of Alan Heathcock.  He’s an excellent writer, but also a master at promotion.  I’m bringing Alan in for this workshop to share some of his knowledge on how to get your name everywhere.  I’ll also talk from my perspective as a radio host on what makes me say “yes” when a writer asks to be on my show.

PITCH PERFECT: Selling your book and what agents won’t tell you

I’m capping off the series with a workshop on pitching and agents.  J. Reuben Appelman will join me.  We’ll discuss delivering a pitch both in person and in print, as well as how the publishing industry is changing the role of the literary agent.  J. has interesting insight that I’m excited for him to share.

Cultivating Tenacity

That’s the Tenacious Writer Studio Series.  I won’t be talking about imagery and metaphor.  Plenty of other workshops teach craft.  Instead, I’ll address the cultivation of tenacity.  In the current world of publishing, tenacious writers triumph.

Amanda Turner is a writer and the host of “The Writers’ Block” (www.RadioWritersBlock.com) on Boise Community Radio.  More information on the Tenacious Writer Studio Series can be found at www.AmericanEgo.net

 
7 Comments

Posted by on October 14, 2011 in Idaho, workshops, writers, writing, writing craft

 

Tags: , , , , , ,

7 responses to “Guest Blogger: Amanda Turner

  1. Janis McCurry

    October 14, 2011 at 7:10 AM

    Amanda,
    What a wealth of information and opportunity in our own local culture! Thanks so much for visiting Gem State Writers.

     
  2. Steph

    October 14, 2011 at 9:42 AM

    I can’t wait to attend some of these workshops. If tenacity can be acquired, then I want some.

     
  3. ramblingsfromtheleft

    October 14, 2011 at 9:51 PM

    Excellence is not something that “comes” while we ponder the angst of writer’s block. I don’t believe in anything but hard work and Oh Yes, tenacity🙂 Thank you Amanda, you provided wonderful tips and I am certain the workshops are also wonderful.

     
  4. Clarissa Southwick

    October 16, 2011 at 11:52 AM

    What an interesting series. Thank you for guest blogging for us, Amanda🙂

     
  5. Liz Fredericks

    October 17, 2011 at 7:14 AM

    Amanda, thanks for posting with us. Please forgive my delay in commenting, but I’ve been at an ‘internet-less’ writing retreat. I’ll definitely be checking into the workshops and congratulations on achieving the ‘in-residence’ distinction! I’ve followed you on the radio and look forward to following more of your writing journey.

     
  6. Laura Dion-Jones

    October 18, 2011 at 6:52 AM

    This post makes me wish I could attend Amanda’s series. What a terrific idea. I, too, am a radio talk show host and would love to have her as a guest on my show! dionjones@aol.com

     
  7. Laura Dion-Jones

    October 18, 2011 at 6:53 AM

    Would be nice for us out-of-towners to view a video of the series, too!

     

Leave a Reply

 
