RSS

Writing Roadblocks

25 Oct

It happens all the time. Things pull
us away from our routines. We go on vacation, have company, or we move. We’re
about to move.

I’m excited. I love new experiences, places, people,
anything. The move will recharge my new
battery. The new surroundings will energize me and my enthusiasm will soar. Unfortunately,
the move will be labor intensive.

The most difficult part will be putting
my office back together. It will be a labor of love, but I’ll have to settle the
kitchen and carve a path through the bedroom first. I have planned ahead, the
pizza delivery number is on speed dial, and I have a back-up scenario for bedtime.
Knowing my husband, the first thing that will be set up are the dogs’ beds. Men
and their dogs. I can always push the dogs out and sleep there.

I hope putting my office together
doesn’t take too long, because my head will explode if I don’t write. Even a
week-long break puts a dent in my rhythm. The only time I don’t write is when I
go to a conference. Yes, I write on vacation. So after a two week moving break,
it’s going to be hard to get back in the groove.

I have a plan. I’m going to gather
all my ducks and nail them in a row. My computer will go with me, in my car, in
the front seat. Nope, I’m not trusting this precious cargo to the movers. The
only other things in the car will be all my sweaters and my cats. The important
things in life.

The problem is I’ll be torn between
my desire for order and the voices in my head oh, yeah, and my husband asking me
where I want what. Which, of course, won’t be where he wants it…sigh. Moving
equals stress.

When there is a reasonable path into
all the rooms, I’m going to take time to write. And to do that, I’ll need
everything organized. I won’t have time to get
back into it
. If I want to get anything done, I’ll have to be able to sit
down, open the program, and know exactly what comes next. That’s going to take preparation.

The planning will come, I hope, with
a new program I’ve downloaded. It has note cards, character sketches, and is formatted
to set out the book in three acts. It keeps track of the scenes, time line, and
all my research. It even has a storyboard feature. I’m excited to become familiar
with it and put it into practice. If it works (read as, if I can wrap my brain
around it) it will put me back into the story almost instantly. I’ll have all
the information I need so I can just begin typing. It will probably take me the
remaining time before the move to get all this water fowl in order, but it will
save my sanity.

I’m looking forward to the move. My
new office has an actual door. And better yet, the family livestock will have
their own door, one they can come and go through at will. I’ll no longer have
to get up eighteen times an hour to let them out or in. That alone will give me
an extra hour of writing per day. The down-side is my butt will probably fall
asleep from all the sitting.

I need all the help I can get. How
do you get back into writing after a break?

 
17 Comments

Posted by on October 25, 2011 in writing, writing motivation

 

Tags:

17 responses to “Writing Roadblocks

  1. Liz Fredericks

    October 25, 2011 at 7:10 AM

    I like the rhythm of this post very much. You nailed a writer’s priorities in moving and I’m impressed at how organized you are. I’m printing this as a prod for me. Thank you

     
    • Peggy Staggs

      October 25, 2011 at 7:48 AM

      Now if the rest of the world (Post Office, the contractors and the list goes on) would just get it together this would all be much smoother. The writing part is going fine-ish.

       
  2. Janis McCurry

    October 25, 2011 at 7:11 AM

    It starts with a mental blueprint. I have to know where it’s heading before I put fingers on the keys. So, the physical break does not bother me that much because I do so much plotting and scene in my head.

     
    • Peggy Staggs

      October 25, 2011 at 7:50 AM

      A lot of planning up front is important. My problem, as you know, is remembering not only what I’ve lined out, but where I put my notes. Sigh.

       
  3. Meredith Conner

    October 25, 2011 at 8:06 AM

    I have to get back into the “habit” of writing – if I go somewhere or something comes up that disrupts my flow. That can take me a while. Just the placing of butt in chair and staying put can take a few days until I’m back in the rhythm then I’m good to go.

     
    • Peggy Staggs

      October 26, 2011 at 8:37 AM

      I have the same problem. It’s like getting used to having desert, it’s a hard getting back to normal.

       
  4. ramblingsfromtheleft

    October 25, 2011 at 8:29 AM

    Peggy, it sounds like you have planned and will execute the move so well, your butt won’t be in the chair too long before the muse cuddles with the cat and warms you thoughts and off you will go🙂
    Rereding my WIP gets me back in the groove each day or if I miss a day it reminds me where I wanted to go. Good luck and isn’t it grand to have your own private space with a door🙂

     
    • Peggy Staggs

      October 26, 2011 at 8:40 AM

      I’m giddy with excitement at the prospect of having a door of my very own. Taking a break from your WIP is always helpful. You return with a new eye.

       
  5. Steph

    October 25, 2011 at 9:17 AM

    Meeting with my critique partners is what gets me going again. It is so easy for me to come up with excuses if I don’t stay in a rhythm. This is a great blog and good luck with the move.

     
  6. Mary Vine

    October 25, 2011 at 11:36 AM

    Sounds like you have a great plan to keep the writing going, Peggy. Most things in the house can wait until you’re ready. Buy hey, if you slip up and don’t get the writing done like you’d like, that’s okay, because moving is tough and usually not something that is done too often. Frankly, what keeps me writing the most over the last year is NEW/100 and then breaks here and there when I go to NE Oregon and veg.

     
    • Peggy Staggs

      October 26, 2011 at 8:42 AM

      I’d love to be able to let stuff sit in boxes…but I can’t. I want everything back to normal as soon as I can get it that way. NEW is a great way to get a jump start.

       
  7. Tracy Wilson-Burns

    October 25, 2011 at 6:10 PM

    I haven’t regained my writing habit yet from the past two household moves in ten months, one of which from out-of-state–but I can see signs it’s happening on its own just because that habit is something that works for me. If you have your mind set on getting back to the writing habit, it’ll happen. Let yourself enjoy the process of the move–with all its hurdles (write them down!), and all its fun–the decorating and organizing and collaboration… It’s an experience, right? Chalk it up to “research”! [Like when the electrician nearly pulled my husband over the balcony clutched to the ceiling fan he was helping to hold! or when the security installation guy had a melt-down.]

    And when service people schedule you for a four-hour window–chalk that up to writing time! You’re captive waiting, anyway.

     
    • Peggy Staggs

      October 26, 2011 at 8:47 AM

      I want to hear about the security guy’s melt-down. He doesn’t sound like the one you want responsible for your safety. I’ve moved so many times in my life I have a system. The problem is we’ve been here for 22 years and in that time we’ve accumulated a ton of stuff, most of which need to see the inside of a trashcan.

       
  8. Carley Ash

    October 25, 2011 at 6:29 PM

    Congrats on the new house and the office with a door! Hope all goes well with the move.

     
    • Peggy Staggs

      October 26, 2011 at 8:49 AM

      Thanks. We’ll get there from here. I just hope I don’t have to bury anyone in the backyard in the process. If I do I’m sure they’ll make great fertilizer for my new trees.

       
  9. Lynn Mapp

    October 25, 2011 at 7:39 PM

    If its not a move, it’s something else. You’ll get back into the rhythm when you’re settled.

     
    • Peggy Staggs

      October 26, 2011 at 8:53 AM

      I hear you. I just sometimes fear for those who keep pulling my ducks out of line. If you see a contractor all smushed up and painted yellow you’ll know he tugged too hard on my neatly ordered ducks.

       

Leave a Reply

 
