RSS

A Call for Help

03 Nov

 

I have made no secret of my reading preference.  I remember settling down to read a book by an author I’d enjoyed.  I realized something was missing, a box of Kleenex.  I knew I would be a blubbering mess.  That realization brought me up short.  Don’t get me wrong.  I enjoy an emotional read, but this was going to be a gut-wrenching roller coaster ride, and I didn’t want the experience on that day.  That was the moment I stopped reading this author.

I like humorous stories.

If given a choice, I’d choose to laugh rather than cry. The ability to laugh, in spite of any trauma life is taking you, through is a gift.  I try to include laughter in my stories.

Perhaps it’s an age thing, but I am having a difficult time remembering books that induced chuckles. 

Here’s my short list:

Open Season                        Linda Howard

Natural Born Charmer            Susan Elizabeth Phillips

I said it was a short list.  

I shared my reading preference with someone and she wants a list of books where I had laugh-out-loud moments.  These are the only ones I could come up with.  I know I have forgotten some wonderful books. That is why I need your help.  Let me know what books I should have included on this list?  Is there an author I haven’t read that always engages your funny bone?

 
18 Comments

Posted by on November 3, 2011 in Idaho

 

18 responses to “A Call for Help

  1. Janis

    November 3, 2011 at 5:10 AM

    Almost any of Jennifer Crusie’s romances are really humorous, quirky, and HEA. To name a few, TELL ME LIES, CRAZY FOR YOU, CINDERELLA DEAL, and ANYONE BUT YOU.

     
    • Lynn Mapp

      November 3, 2011 at 12:09 PM

      Thanks Janis, now you mention her, I loved BET ME.

       
  2. johannaharness

    November 3, 2011 at 5:35 AM

    Terry Pratchett. He’s even funnier if read aloud and the laughter shared with friends.

    I do read heart-wrenching books, but I never reread them. The books that make me laugh are old friends and I return to them again and again.

     
    • Lynn Mapp

      November 3, 2011 at 12:10 PM

      Thanks Johanna, Terry Pratchett.

       
  3. Liz Flaherty

    November 3, 2011 at 6:54 AM

    Kristan Higgins–anything she writes, including if she does the copy on toilet paper packages. It’s not always laugh-out-loud, but the chuckle never goes away.

     
    • Lynn Mapp

      November 3, 2011 at 12:11 PM

      Thanks Liz, I’ll look for Kristan Higgins.

       
  4. Paty Jager

    November 3, 2011 at 8:22 AM

    Janet Evanovich’s early Stephanie Plum books always gave me a good laugh. Lauri Robinson’s historical westerns with the Quinter brothers are good for some chuckles, too.

     
    • Lynn Mapp

      November 3, 2011 at 12:12 PM

      Thanks Paty, I’ll add those names to my list.

       
  5. Clarissa Southwick

    November 3, 2011 at 11:44 AM

    Lynn–Great question. I love your sense of humor. But I can’t think of a single book I’ve read lately that’s made me laugh out loud. I’m curious to see what your readers come up with.

     
    • Lynn Mapp

      November 3, 2011 at 12:13 PM

      Hello Clarissa. I am waiting to read their suggestions as well. I’ve gotten a few names to add to my list.

       
  6. Mary Vine

    November 3, 2011 at 5:17 PM

    I don’t remember, either. I do like Susan ELizabeth Phillips humor though. My two favorites of hers are Nobody’s Baby But Mine, and Ain’t She Sweet.

     
    • Lynn Mapp

      November 4, 2011 at 11:50 AM

      Hi Mary, I like those books as well.

       
  7. Carley Ash

    November 3, 2011 at 8:19 PM

    Janet Evanovich’s One for the Money. Loved it.

     
    • Lynn Mapp

      November 4, 2011 at 11:51 AM

      Hi Carley, thanks for sharing the title.

       
  8. Kay Hudson

    November 3, 2011 at 10:51 PM

    Haywood Smith–surviving in the South is funny all by itself, and Haywood turns the most bizarre life experiences into lemonade. I’m just finishing her latest, Wife-in-Law. If you like mysteries, try anything by Elaine Viets or Joan Hess.

     
    • Lynn Mapp

      November 4, 2011 at 11:55 AM

      Thank you, Kay. I’ll put those names on my list.

       
  9. robinconnelly

    November 4, 2011 at 10:04 AM

    Erin McCarthy, especially Vegas Vampire Series
    Lynsay Sands, especially the Argeneau/Rogue Hunter Series
    Kerrelyn Sparks, especially the Love at Stake series

    Though not in the same category as the above authors, I often find myself chuckling at Kim Harrison’s Rachel Morgan series. Becareful though, she is very good at playing with readers emotions and one book will have you crying.

     
  10. Lynn Mapp

    November 4, 2011 at 11:54 AM

    Thanks Robin, I really don’t mind an emotional read, but…I’d rather laugh than cry. Every book the “unnamed” author wrote was gut wrenching. I’d rather not tamper with my guts too often.

     

Leave a Reply

 
