RSS

Changes

08 Dec

I’m here today to say goodbye. This is my last blog post with Gem State Writers. I’ve enjoyed being part of this group, and I’ve enjoyed being a part of Boise’s writing community. However, after some serious self-evaluation, I’ve decided it’s time to make some changes.

Several years ago, a friend and I had a discussion about her life goals. She was just graduating from college and was in the process of making some key career choices. We talked about the goals she had for her life which included her new fiance and family. Yet the career choice she was planning to make conflicted with her goals. I pointed this out to her. It was a brilliant friend moment.

I find myself in a similar position now. This year I married a wonderful man. I continue to work as a financial analyst and CPA. And I continue to write manuscripts of an evening and on week-ends. This worked well when I was single. Now that I’ve actually found and married my hero, I realize I’m not spending much time with him. And as I type away on my laptop night after night, week-end after week-end, I keep hearing the brilliant friend advice I so freely dished out all those years ago.

Being a hero, my husband has never once complained (heros are always supportive). But I’ve been thinking about it – a lot. I’ve also been thinking about how little time I’ve spent with my aging parents. My nieces that are growing up too fast. Friends I hardly ever see.

I try to imagine myself at ninety-five-years-old. At that age, what choices will I be happy with? Which will I wish I’d done differently?

Suddenly, it’s a no-brainer. While I enjoy writing, it’s not the priority in my life. However, it has been part of my life for so long that deciding to set it aside was difficult at first. Now I’m excited about it.

I’m very much looking forward to having a more balanced life. I’m looking forward to spending quality time with my husband, having lunch with my nieces, and reading for the sheer joy of it–instead of for the purpose of studying another writer’s style. I’ve read two great books just this week.

I’m also looking forward to working in my new garden. Here’s a photo of our backyard at the moment. My hero, wanting to give his heroine everything she wants, is in the process of digging up the back yard and putting in raised, organic garden beds. Living a more sustainable lifestyle, using less fossil fuel, and simplifying our lives is something we had in common when we met, and we seem to make more progress now that we’re together.

Mary Vine, who currently blogs every second Sunday, will move to this Thursday slot. And I’ll still see you in the comment section.

Best wishes to all of you with your writing. Thank you for reading my blog posts for the past seven months. And thank you, Gem State Writers for letting me be a part of this fantastic group.

I’ll watch for your names in book stores everywhere.

Carley

 
18 Comments

Posted by on December 8, 2011 in Blogs, goals

 

Tags:

18 responses to “Changes

  1. johannaharness

    December 8, 2011 at 4:55 AM

    Best wishes, Carley! We’ll miss you.

     
    • Carley Ash

      December 8, 2011 at 6:46 AM

      Thank you, Johanna.

       
  2. Liz Flaherty

    December 8, 2011 at 5:21 AM

    Bravo to you for having the kind of courage to make such a decision. Good luck.

     
    • Carley Ash

      December 8, 2011 at 6:46 AM

      Thanks, Liz.

       
  3. Janis McCurry

    December 8, 2011 at 7:15 AM

    Take care and keep in touch. Thanks for being a part of Gem State Writers.

     
    • Carley Ash

      December 8, 2011 at 5:24 PM

      Thanks, Janis. Best wishes with your manuscript.

       
  4. Liz Fredericks

    December 8, 2011 at 7:18 AM

    Carley, I’m sorry to see you leave the roster of bloggers but don’t think this exempts you from group status! It’s a lovely world where a woman can choose to what endeavors she devotes her time. I wish you the very best, but won’t say ‘goodbye’ as I’m very hopeful of seeing you comment . . . and perhaps an occasional guest blog? Between you and Peggy, there’s much I hope to learn about sustainable gardening.

     
    • Carley Ash

      December 8, 2011 at 5:30 PM

      Thank you, Liz. I will certainly be lurking about.

       
  5. Meredith Conner

    December 8, 2011 at 7:49 AM

    Best of luck Carley.

     
    • Carley Ash

      December 8, 2011 at 5:30 PM

      Thanks, Meredith.

       
  6. Mary Vine

    December 8, 2011 at 1:42 PM

    I understand. I took five years off from writing when I went through a divorce, started dating again and then got married. I will miss your blog posts.

     
    • Carley Ash

      December 8, 2011 at 5:31 PM

      That’s cool. Maybe I’ll be back one of these days. Thanks, Mary.

       
  7. Philip Milano

    December 9, 2011 at 10:05 PM

    I haven’t seen your name appear lately on Twitter, so I “googled” your name and this blog appeared. I like to think that you are taking a hiatus from your writing. I don’t discourage you to follow this new direction, yet to quote Kahlil Gibran, “let there be spaces in your togetherness.” You may find that some blog writing will be healthy and relaxing for you.
    Thanks for the enjoyment I had in reading your blogs.

     
    • Carley Ash

      December 10, 2011 at 8:58 PM

      Hi Phillip. I accidentally closed the wrong Twitter account and lost all my contacts. I’m still out there under Organic_Cat. I also still have the http://www.carleyash.wordpress.com where I’ll post some blogs about our attempts toward sustainable gardening. I still write some, but won’t be pursuing anything at a professional level, but I will be posting some pictures of our new puppy soon.

       
  8. Marsha R. West

    December 10, 2011 at 11:20 PM

    Carley, there is a timie and season for everything in our lives. Having lived through a number of those, I look back and wish I’d been able to appreciate the moment more instead of focusing on what lay ahead. Enjoy this time in your life. You’ll be experiencing things that later may fill your writing when you return to that part of your life. And you’ll never regret the time for your parents.

     
    • Carley Ash

      December 11, 2011 at 9:30 PM

      Thanks, Marsha.

       
  9. Clarissa Southwick

    December 12, 2011 at 1:10 AM

    Wishing you all the best as you enjoy your new adventures. We will miss you.

     
    • Carley Ash

      December 12, 2011 at 7:47 PM

      Thanks, Clarissa. It has been fun.

       

Leave a Reply

 
