RSS

Five Tips for Writing Mothers

14 Dec

This time of year is hectic enough with the holidays, family and friends. Especially if you are a mother with young children. Then add trying to carve out time to write as well and it’s easy to pull your hair out. Here are a few suggestions to help ease the stress:

1. Create a Job Chart. You can include the little ones who can’t read yet by taking photos, or drawing pictures, of the jobs. Map out a chart with days and names. Use velcro on the back of the photos or pictures so you can move the jobs each week. Place the chart in a PROMINENT location so no one ‘forgets’ their chore.

2. Make Snacks Accessible.  If you have fruit in a bowl that even the smallest child can reach, you won’t be interrupted by the constantly empty pits that are your children’s stomachs. Find a cupboard that all your children can reach and separate pretzels, cheerios and other dried goods in individual snack bags. Put these in a basket and come up with a limit per child.

3. Enlist The Help Of Older Children. As kids get older they love to help and be responsible. Encourage this. Have them read to or help a younger child read a book. They are wonderful at teaching math and counting.

4. Set Up Projects Ahead Of Time. During the Holiday break come up with a few easy art projects and put them together in a basket or gallon bag. When the natives get restless, pull one out and you’ve got an hour – maybe two – of writing time while they create.

5. Wear Thick Socks. Don’t cry over the spilt milk – walk right over it. Shuffle those feet a few times in between trips for coffee or tea and all those little messes are taken care of and you haven’t had to pause. They even make mop bottom slippers these days. Invest in a pair.

What tips and tricks do you use?

 
13 Comments

Posted by on December 14, 2011 in Idaho

 

Tags: , , ,

13 responses to “Five Tips for Writing Mothers

  1. Janis McCurry

    December 14, 2011 at 7:09 AM

    The last tip cracked me up! Thanks for the giggle and good tips.

     
    • Meredith Conner

      December 14, 2011 at 8:02 AM

      I have to admit, Janis, that I’ve used that last tip. When my daughters were a little younger and I’d be holding one and the bottle would tip and there would be a trail of milk across the floor before I noticed and I realized it was just me, a fourteen-month old and a three year old . . . really, they could barely talk. Who were they gonna tell? A little slide of the foot here, a little slide there. Nice clean floor🙂

       
  2. Liz Fredericks

    December 14, 2011 at 7:33 AM

    Meredith – wearing thick socks may be my all time favorite most useful tip ever. I had no idea why I gravitated toward those heavy duty footwarmers. I’d add keeping your dogs in the house to help with the spills, but then you have to get up and let them outside. Then again, if you have thick socks . . . .

     
    • Janis McCurry

      December 14, 2011 at 7:38 AM

      Ewww….

       
      • Meredith Conner

        December 14, 2011 at 8:06 AM

        I’m not quite that bad Liz🙂 Plus we have a Newfoundland – not even the thickest socks would help with that.
        When I came across the mop slippers a few years ago – just google mop slippers, I couldn’t get the photo into my blog – I realized that there was another seriously sleep deprived and overwhelmed mom out there that had the same housekeeping methods I employed on occasion. And she capitalized on it!!!!

         
  3. Peggy Staggs

    December 14, 2011 at 9:20 AM

    I’m so impressed. What great ideas! If I ever have grandchildren I’m going to use these. For right now I’m going to use them on my husband and the dogs.

     
    • Meredith Conner

      December 14, 2011 at 11:39 AM

      Oh good call on the hubby!

       
  4. ramblingsfromtheleft

    December 14, 2011 at 9:29 AM

    Meredith, I admire your den mother determination and applaud your ideas. I love my mom/blog/writer friends and my heart goes out to all who have to juggle so many things to stay the course … Me? Don’t throw rocks folks … this gal is retired, the kids live in far away places, the grandchildren (two of them) are in high school and I can happily watch their antics as they drive my son crazy. My daughter has a cat that drives her crazy. Keep your spirits high and go for it … I came to this life later than most, but I can still remember what it was like to try to read or think or do almost anything with the little ones under foot. Moms hold a special place in my heart🙂

     
    • Meredith Conner

      December 14, 2011 at 11:51 AM

      I’m with you Florence. Where would any of us be without our mothers?

       
  5. Jennifer Kellie

    December 14, 2011 at 10:20 AM

    Love this Meredith! It definitely hit home with me. The job chart is a great idea for any time of year.

     
  6. Meredith Conner

    December 14, 2011 at 11:51 AM

    True and mop slippers make great gifts too!

     
  7. Mary Vine

    December 14, 2011 at 3:53 PM

    Good blog, Meredith! Sending it to Facebook.

     
  8. Clarissa Southwick

    December 14, 2011 at 4:07 PM

    What a great list, Meredith. I wish I’d had it last month when I was trying to Nano🙂

     

Leave a Reply

 
