RSS

There is a Season

22 Dec

Turn! Turn! Turn! (To Everything There Is a Season)

To everything – turn, turn, turn
There is a season – turn, turn, turn
And a time for every purpose under heaven….
At the start of December, I had some writing time for myself only to be interrupted with Christmas cards, Christmas shopping, wrapping gifts and standing in line to mail them to relatives. While I worked away at the season’s to do list, I became frustrated instead of joyous.

Isn’t it something how we can still learn what’s important in life as it’s revealed to us in the little things? The verse above is from a song that’s a long time favorite of mine by the Byrds. I heard it on the radio the other day and it made me stop and think about my harried chase to carve out writing time.

Also, last week, I had a tenth grade student read some songs she’d written to me. Actually, she sang them and I was thankful that she felt confident enough to share them with me. I told her how wonderful it was that she’d started writing early in life, while I waited until I was in my thirties. I thought back to my early years to the season before writing. I raised my kids; I did the best I could then moved on to writing. Finally, I no longer grieve the time I could have been writing. I think I get it. It wasn’t my season yet.

There’s a season for writing and it’s coming up for you and for me. And it may be after the holidays, working a season of over-time, taking care of your children or aging parents, going to college, divorce, or something else that comes your way.

This season, let’s all give ourselves a break and focus on our families and friends first, love them while they’re here. To everything there is a season. May you all have a peaceful holiday season and a happy new year!

 
22 Comments

Posted by on December 22, 2011 in Blogs, Boise, December, Family, friends, Idaho, stress, writers, writing

 

Tags: , , ,

22 responses to “There is a Season

  1. Liz Flaherty

    December 22, 2011 at 4:32 AM

    Good post and so very true. I love thinking of it as seasons–makes struggle sound almost pretty, doesn’t it?🙂

    Merry Christmas.

     
    • Mary Vine

      December 22, 2011 at 10:05 AM

      Almost pretty. Good way of thinking. Thanks for commenting Liz!

       
  2. johannaharness

    December 22, 2011 at 5:36 AM

    Yes–a time for everything. Thanks for this, Mary. Wishing you the best too.

     
    • Mary Vine

      December 22, 2011 at 10:06 AM

      Looking forward to your blogs in the new year. Thanks, Johanna!

       
  3. Janis

    December 22, 2011 at 6:09 AM

    It’s my favorite season for family. Even if we are busy in our individual lives, this is the time we make time for each other. Merry Christmas.

     
    • Mary Vine

      December 22, 2011 at 10:29 AM

      Good wishes for your Christmas, Janis. I’m looking forward to working with you this new year.

       
  4. Susan Russo Anderson

    December 22, 2011 at 8:09 AM

    Such an apt post. Touching, just like the best of what the season is all about. Thanks very much, mary. Susan

     
    • Mary Vine

      December 22, 2011 at 10:28 AM

      Thanks, Susan. Funny, I almost didn’t post this. Glad I did.

       
  5. stephanieberget

    December 22, 2011 at 11:01 AM

    Thank you, Mary. My frustration level has been building too. This post reminded me to take the time to enjoy the important things in life. Have a Merry Christmas and I’ll see you soon.

     
    • Mary Vine

      December 23, 2011 at 3:23 PM

      Merry Christmas to you to, Steph!

       
  6. ValRoberts

    December 22, 2011 at 11:09 AM

    Just as an FYI, The Birds took the words for “Turn! Turn! Turn!” from Ecclesiastes, 3:1-9 (or so). Other than the turn-turn-turn parts, it’s straight from the Old Testament of The Bible, King James version, I think.

    Appropriate for this season, and this year, what with Hanukkah and Christmas overlapping.🙂

    Happy Holidays!

     
    • Mary Vine

      December 23, 2011 at 3:25 PM

      You’re always so good at giving important information! Happy Holidays to you, too!

       
  7. Kim G.

    December 22, 2011 at 2:21 PM

    Mary,

    If it makes you feel any better, I didn’t start to write until I was in my 50’s. I just turned 51 and finished in May getting my master’s degree in social work. I’ve always been a late bloomer, and who knows maybe I’ll get published before I’m 60! Enjoyed you’re post very much!

    Happy Holidays
    Kim

     
    • Mary Vine

      December 23, 2011 at 3:29 PM

      Good to read about more late bloomers. Good for you, too, for finishing school. Thanks so much for commenting!

       
  8. Carley Ash

    December 22, 2011 at 6:29 PM

    We quit the gift exchange in our family – only the children get presents. IT IS SO NICE. We still get together for dinner, but all the stress is gone.

     
    • Mary Vine

      December 23, 2011 at 3:50 PM

      We’ve gone through moving the exchange to the kiddos, too. It does help. Happy Holidays, Carley!

       
  9. Patsy

    December 23, 2011 at 7:01 AM

    I didn’t start writing until I was 54 – just didn’t work for me until then. I tried a few times but just couldn’t seem to put what I was feeling down on paper.

     
    • Mary Vine

      December 23, 2011 at 3:43 PM

      Wow. Good to know there are other late bloomers out there! Thanks for commenting.

       
  10. Clarissa Southwick

    December 23, 2011 at 8:40 AM

    What a great life lesson, Mary. Thanks for sharing it just when we needed it most🙂

     
  11. Mary Vine

    December 23, 2011 at 3:44 PM

    Thanks for the kind words, Clarrisa!

     
  12. Peggy Staggs

    December 24, 2011 at 9:38 AM

    Very good advice. Embrace what is happening then move to the next phase. Merry Christmas.

     
  13. Lynn Mapp

    December 28, 2011 at 5:58 PM

    Mary, great blog. I know Christmas is a difficult time for me. Even before Russell died Christmas was stressful. I opted out of Secret Santa at work a few years ago. It was more of a chore than a fun activity. Every now and then someone will ask me why I don’t participate. More stress than it’s worth. I just have to remind myself that opting out is okay. The season is about family and friends.

     

Leave a Reply

 
