RSS

Resolutions

28 Dec

The countdown has begun. Three more days to the new year. 2012.

There is still time to make good on at least one of those resolutions from 2011 that didn’t quite get done. Time to begin organizing that closet that you promised you’d do last year around this time. Time to run a mile and ease off a few of those Christmas cookies. Or at least do a fast walk. And time to start planning your resolutions for next year.

2012.

It’s still a bit shocking to me. It always is. It’s on every calendar and yet when the time rolls around I’m always still taken aback. Another year? Again? So soon?

I think back on the past year – accomplishments, joys, sad times and the things that didn’t quite get done. Some years I make an actual list, others it’s a mental one. This year I plan to write down my resolutions for 2012. I’ll have some of my old favorites on it: lose those 15 pounds and get published. They’ve been on my list for two years now, but I take the glass half full view and imagine that someday I’ll have them checked off.

I’ll also be adding a few new ones this year: getting my index finger fully functional and taking time to enjoy the journey, both with my family and my writing. My husband reminded me on Christmas to take a moment to enjoy this time. Our daughters are six and eight. We may not have another breathless anticipation of Santa’s arrival. We’re approaching the teenage years.

He was right and I enjoyed that moment – that sweetness of childhood innocence and wonder. And I realized that I should also take time periodically to enjoy the writing journey. Take stock of what I have accomplished and what goals I’m still striving for. These moments won’t last. We’ll reach that next stage – finishing that book, landing an agent, signing a contract – and we’ll be off on our next journey.

This year I wrote a totally different type of book, loved every minute of it and discovered new aspects of my writing that I didn’t know existed. I’m taking some time to enjoy that. And then I’m going to improve upon it.

What have you enjoyed this past year? What are your plans for the next?

 
7 Comments

Posted by on December 28, 2011 in Idaho

 

Tags: , ,

7 responses to “Resolutions

  1. Janis

    December 28, 2011 at 7:26 AM

    I’ve enjoyed living in the now. I think sometimes I spend too much time thinking about the opportunities lost and the opportunities to come. It’s like your Christmas moment. My “now” won’t come back.

     
  2. Liz Fredericks

    December 28, 2011 at 8:29 AM

    Well, Meredith, you’ve given me something to put at the top of my resolutions – enjoying the journey – for writing, family, friendships, love and work. Thank you.

     
  3. Peggy Staggs

    December 28, 2011 at 9:16 AM

    Enjoy the journey…we all need to do more of that. There is so much wonder out there that we miss because we’re so busy. So many things and people to be thankful for. It’s on top of my list.

     
  4. Clarissa Southwick

    December 28, 2011 at 10:13 AM

    Meredith, We’re all rooting for you to get that finger working again🙂 And we loved the new direction your writing has taken. Here’s to enjoying another great year with our families and writing friends.

     
  5. Lynn Mapp

    December 28, 2011 at 5:32 PM

    Meredith, I agree. Enjoy the journey. We are always in a rush to get there, that place, but we forget to enjoy the moment.

     
  6. Mary Vine

    December 30, 2011 at 3:50 PM

    While reading, I was reminded of an argument I heard once between writers, where one said she had a goal of getting published in the near future, where another said you have to make goals that are something you have control over. Well, this argument didn’t deter her goals and she was indeed published (yet she was a hard worker as well). This past year, I enjoyed the last part of our settling down to retire in this area. Good to be back.

     
  7. Marsha R. West

    December 31, 2011 at 4:20 PM

    The best times are still ahead of you, Meredith. Two grown daughters who are friends to each other (though we’d have sworn that wasn’t likely to happen when they were young.) and live near each other and us. They’ve married good men and given us grandchildren. The smile on the face of the grandbaby when she recognizes Mimi or Grandad or the squeal of the grandson at our arrival…. Priceless.
    One goal (related to writing) I accomplished this year–becoming more active on blogs. Y’alls I enjoy very much. Y’all always give me something to think about, and I have to guard against writing back too often.
    For next year (tomorrow!), I’ll be more focused on writing, trying to get book 4 & 5 before the right people, failing that I’ll look at pubbing myself–dread that because I’m not particularly at the top of the class technologically–finishing book 6 which is at 27,000 words heading to 90ish. And all the things all of us writers do: on line classes, conferences, working with CPs, attending chapter meetings, but with no responsibilties there now. And I haven’t forgotten those grands mentioned above. I stay with them frequently, and do Pilates, and occasionally take trips with my husband–he’s a very busy lawyer. I am truly blessed.
    As always, I’ve written too much. I wish you all a wonderful 2012.

     

Leave a Reply

 
