RSS

Que Sera, Sera

29 Dec

Whatever will be, will be. The future’s not ours to see.

While my husband was having his sixtieth (or so) surgery on Tuesday, I was sitting in the waiting room. I picked up the December 19, 2011 copy of People magazine. There was an article featuring Doris Day. What could I take from the original girl next door, screen legend, Doris Day?

Plenty.

At age eighty-seven, Doris Day has released a new album, My Heart.

Yes, this woman has lived a life many wish they could claim. She was a big band singer, a movie star, and followed with a move to television in the sixties.

Life isn’t all highs.

As a teen, Ms. Day studied singing. This was after a car accident which forced her to have two years of bed rest. How bad was that accident? In further research, I discovered that accident changed her career path. She had wanted to be a dancer.

Ms. Day was married four times. Three of those marriages ended in divorce. The article didn’t go into details, but I recall at least one of those husbands was abusive.

Then there was the lawyer who squandered millions of her hard-earned dollars. Her third husband committed her to the television show as well as television specials without consulting her. She didn’t discover this until after his death. Did I mention that her third husband and his partner were her lawyers, the ones that squandered her money? The article didn’t mention that either. My research unearthed that information.

Her most devastating blow was the death of her son, Terry. I know how awful such an event is. Ms. Day said she keeps him with her.

How often have we heard that life is how you deal with the adversity thrown in your path?

Ms. Day ended the interview with these words. “Enjoy each day-it’s not coming back again.”

What does this have to do with writing?

Everything.

I know we struggle to tell our stories, but we need to enjoy the steps we take on our journey.

Whatever will be, will be.

 
10 Comments

Posted by on December 29, 2011 in Idaho, writing, writing motivation

 

Tags:

10 responses to “Que Sera, Sera

  1. Liz Fredericks

    December 29, 2011 at 5:56 AM

    Lynn, you continue to inspire me.

     
  2. Janis

    December 29, 2011 at 9:05 AM

    The best take-away I’ve gotten from my writing career is the community and friendships I’ve gained. While we all seek recognition for our writing, I think we’ve profited in other ways.

     
    • Lynn Mapp

      December 29, 2011 at 12:52 PM

      That’s right. This a a journey and the people we’ve encountered have enriched our lives.

       
  3. Peggy Staggs

    December 29, 2011 at 10:31 AM

    Writing is a great release. We take what happens in our lives and in the lives around us and pour it onto the page. You are an inspiration.

     
  4. Liz Flaherty

    December 30, 2011 at 4:29 AM

    What a nice post, and even living the life she did, she still radiated sunshine. Amazing.

     
    • Lynn Mapp

      December 31, 2011 at 8:19 AM

      Thanks Liz. She does radiate sunshine. Remember the line from the Wham song? “She makes the sun shine brighter that Doris Day.”

       
  5. Mary Vine

    December 30, 2011 at 3:37 PM

    I believe Que, Sera, Sera, is the song from the movie, The Man Who Knew Too Much, where she starred with Jimmy Stewart. I loved that movie – she did a good job in it. I didn’t know she was still alive. I like that she is still producing some work at a late age. Perhaps we can all be writing at that age, too. It seems to me that my days go faster than ever, and I make an effort to at least be thankful for them once a day. Thanks and happy new year, Lynn!

     
    • Lynn Mapp

      December 31, 2011 at 8:17 AM

      Mary, you are right. The song did come from that movie. I’ll let you in on what I discovered in my research. Doris Day didn’t think the song was that special. She didn’t think it would make much of an impact. I’m laughing.
      Every night, when I say my prayers, I start with, “Thank you for this day.”

       

Leave a Reply

 
