RSS

2012

12 Jan

I used to begin the New Year with fresh eyes, waiting for what was to come.  It was a fresh beginning.  This would be the year, my year to make all those crazy dreams come true.  These are my resolutions for the coming year.

  1. Work on improving my health.
  2. Spend more time with my husband.
  3. Spend more time with my children.
  4. Spend more time with my friends and extended family.
  5. Spend more time taking joy from each and every day.

I am going to focus on my first resolution.

Work on improving my health.

Notice I didn’t say losing weight.  I am working to improve me.  I workout three days a week.  Can I do more?  Yes.  I can.  I’m not going to say something crazy like run a marathon, but I can move more.

I need to be more mindful of what I put in my mouth and why.  I won’t say I’ll never eat another donut.  The worst thing we do to ourselves is make something off limits.  When I stumble, as I do, then I beat up on myself.  It is a never ending circle.  I just need to think before I open my mouth and insert food.

Those two things deal with the physical.  I also need to deal with my emotional health.  I need to take care of me.  I have spent years taking care of others, but it’s time look out for me.  It’s easy to say, but what steps do I need to take to do this?  Hmm.

What does this have to do with writing?

If I’m not at my best, my writing is going to suffer.  I know this from experience.

What are your suggestions for helping me make this a 2012 resolution I can keep?  What are you doing to improve your health?

 
15 Comments

Posted by on January 12, 2012 in Idaho

 

15 responses to “2012

  1. Liz Fredericks

    January 12, 2012 at 6:50 AM

    Great resolutions, Lynn! I struggle with exercise/eating so can’t give advice (at least not good advice), but do think all of it’s easier with the support of people who care about you.

     
    • Lynn Mapp

      January 12, 2012 at 8:30 PM

      Liz, you have made yourself a promise, and you are thinking about what you eat. Don’t be modest.

       
  2. Janis McCurry

    January 12, 2012 at 7:26 AM

    I feel like I’m on the right track, especially over the past six months. The change, IMO, is I haven’t been so desperate and wanting it right now or, even better, yesterday. Mindful eating and mindful thinking have relaxed that mad little mouse on the wheel, telling me it’s too late. Not sure if it makes sense to anyone else, but I feel more serene.

     
    • Lynn Mapp

      January 12, 2012 at 8:31 PM

      Mindful eating. I like the sound of that. The mind needs to be engaged.

       
  3. Peggy Staggs

    January 12, 2012 at 8:46 AM

    I’m cheering for you. I know you can do it. The more you do the better you’ll feel and the more you’ll want to do. You go girl!

     
    • Lynn Mapp

      January 12, 2012 at 8:32 PM

      Thanks Peggy. It’s easy to make yourself promises. You know what the hard part is.

       
  4. ramblingsfromtheleft

    January 12, 2012 at 10:25 AM

    Lynn, I would sat ditto to all of the above, your first item being the most crucial. Yes, take care of you and everyone you love will be better for it🙂

     
    • Lynn Mapp

      January 12, 2012 at 8:33 PM

      Ramblings, it’s true. We work so hard to take care of others that we neglect ourselves.

       
  5. Mary Vine

    January 12, 2012 at 1:44 PM

    Well, I’ve heard twice lately that for new resolutions, take steps a little bit at a time, so that you are not overcome with the whole mountain. I also wanted to move more for the rest of my life. I have a exercise bike that I like because I can sit down🙂 I got a Kindle Fire for Christmas and found that I can multitask by cycling and reading, or check facebook, email, gem state writers, etc, all on the Kindle. Makes the time go really fast. My oldest living relative told me once that she believes in eating everything, but in moderation. That’s the best “diet” I can think of.

     
    • Lynn Mapp

      January 12, 2012 at 8:35 PM

      Thanks Mary. It helps to be able to multitask. You get more done in the same amount of time

       
  6. robin connelly

    January 12, 2012 at 8:29 PM

    My problem has always been that I have what, I guess is technically called, an oral fixation. I always want something in my mouth to chew on, play with. That usually results in me eating too much food. I started sucking on hard candies and chewing on gum and it’s helped a lot.

     
    • Lynn Mapp

      January 12, 2012 at 8:36 PM

      That’s a thought. At one time I’d eat carrots on the drive home. By the time I arrived I wasn’t that five o’clock hungry.

       
  7. stephanieberget

    January 15, 2012 at 10:05 AM

    Take care of yourself, because we all care about you. Eating is a bugger for me. I want to fill my plate with the warm creamy comfort food, oh and donuts. I love donuts. I find using a sandwich plate instead of a dinner plate helps. It looks like the plate is full with lots less food. Now if I can just get up and move.
    Anne Stuart’s new blog is Reinventing Fabulous. Named because we are already fabulous, we’re just tweaking a little to make us better.

     
  8. Clarissa Southwick

    January 15, 2012 at 10:18 AM

    Great tips, Lynn! I’m cheering you on🙂

     
  9. Carley Ash

    January 19, 2012 at 7:00 PM

    Good luck with the resolutions, Lynn. Mine is to eat 7 – 9 servings of fruits & vegetables a day.

     

Leave a Reply

 
