RSS

2012 Resolutions, Part 2

26 Jan

My resolutions for 2012.

  1. Work on improving my health.
  2. Spend more time with my husband.
  3. Spend more time with my children.
  4. Spend more time with my friends and extended family.
  5. Spend more time taking joy from each and every day.

In my previous blog, I wrote about my number one resolution for the brand new year.  This week I want to talk about my second 2012 resolution.

Spend more time with my husband.

Let’s go back in time, way back.  I had graduated from Long Beach Junior College in January.  I was going to attend a California college on the trimester system, and wouldn’t be starting classes until March.  I decided this would be a perfect time to visit my family and friends in Pocatello, Idaho.

Jerome Mapp was attending Idaho State University.  He worked as a DJ at the university radio station.  We had met prior to this visit.  By met, I mean we said hello.  This meeting was different.  We actually had a conversation.  We talked about our lives, our future plans, and about music.  I promised to call the station to make a request.

I made that telephone call.

Have you ever met someone and felt a click?

We went out one Saturday.

The following Wednesday evening we were sitting in my Aunt Tenna’s kitchen.  I remember looking at him and knowing exactly how he felt about me.  I said, “I know you love me.”

You need to understand my husband in not prone to impulsive acts, unless it’s a shopping deal too good to pass up.  I can only imagine how my words must have unnerved the poor man.  Sure, we had gone out on Saturday, and he came over to visit me each day since that date, but this, this wasn’t what he expected.  He, of course, was taken aback.  I smiled as he offered a denial.

Less than an hour later he told me he loved me.

“I know.”  I smiled.

On Saturday night we were at a party being hosted at my Aunt Jessie’s house.  That’s where he asked me to marry him.  There were seven days between the first date and the day he popped the question.

As you can imagine, our speedy engagement sent tongues wagging.  There was the pregnancy speculation.  I wasn’t.  There were the naysayers.  “It will never last.”  The possibility of divorce never goes away, but… we’re still together.

My darling husband and I have been married for more than three decades.  After all that time, it’s easy to start taking him for granted.  This is the man I once thought could walk on the moon without the aid of special equipment.  The years have shown me he is a mere mortal, but he is my mere mortal.  I want to spend more time laughing with him.

My husband and I had the kind of romance authors spin into stories.  After the head-spinning rush of love settles, living with someone takes work and commitment.

As writers we create characters that can deal with the things life hurls in their path.

We went through college together, started our careers, raised three sons, and dealt with the heartbreaking death of one of those sons.  Somehow, we’ve managed to stay together.

Recently, one of The Gem State Writers blogged on the issue of true love.  The problem with love is that the shine dulls with age.  It doesn’t sparkle as brightly as it did when you first discovered it.  He is mortal.  So am I.

My resolution is to enjoy spending time with the man a twenty year old version of me decided to spend her life with, and enjoy those ordinary moments we spend together.

 
19 Comments

Posted by on January 26, 2012 in Idaho

 

19 responses to “2012 Resolutions, Part 2

  1. Johanna Harness

    January 26, 2012 at 5:36 AM

    What a romance! Thanks for sharing this, Lynn.

     
    • Lynn Mapp

      January 26, 2012 at 7:05 PM

      We need to remember what attracted us to our husbands. It’s easy for those feelings to get lost.

       
    • Lynn Mapp

      January 28, 2012 at 9:56 AM

      Thank you Johanna. It was a special romance. The result is a thirty-eight year marriage.

       
  2. ramblingsfromtheleft

    January 26, 2012 at 5:47 AM

    Lynn, I believe that there is the possibility that each of us can meet our one true love, that kindred spirit who completes us. That the shine wears, that the bright eyes may become a bit dull, these are the signs not of old or worn, but of well used, vintage and time tested. I believe the reason romance is the most popular genre with women is because no female past the age of puberty ever gives up the dream of finding the knight in shinning armor. No one male or female ever gives up on the dream of knowing that one person who makes it all worth the hard work. You have weathered the good and the bad together and the losses have made you stronger. Go enjoy some extra time … time being so precious and fleeting … grab the ring and take another turn around … then don’t forget to report back to us at the end of the year 🙂

     
    • Lynn Mapp

      January 28, 2012 at 10:01 AM

      I like the terms well used, vintage and time tested. I’ll let you know.

       
  3. Janis McCurry

    January 26, 2012 at 7:30 AM

    Lovely article and blessings to you both.

     
  4. Peggy Staggs

    January 26, 2012 at 8:05 AM

    I understand completely. I still love my husband as much as I did when we were married over four decades ago…just a little differently. It’s the different part that makes it last.

     
    • Lynn Mapp

      January 28, 2012 at 10:03 AM

      Four decades. We are knocking on that door.

       
  5. Marsha R. West

    January 26, 2012 at 11:59 AM

    Great post, Lynn. My husband and I have 40 years and counting together. (We made a contract for 75 years with the possibility of extending it, if things were going well–he’s a lawyer. LOL) What strikes me about many of us here is the longevity of our marriages. Think that’s not so common in this day and age. Thanks for reminding us, Lynn, not to take so much for granted.

     
    • Lynn Mapp

      January 28, 2012 at 10:05 AM

      I like the contract for seventy-five years. That’s the problem with humans. We tend to take people for granted.

       
  6. Liz Fredericks

    January 26, 2012 at 1:56 PM

    An exceptional post, Lynn . . . I’m struck by the notion of how dangerous complacency is in relationships. I’m told that the strongest marriages are those where the couple weathers such complacency and rediscovers/creates a different kind of love. It seems every great couple, and every great writer, must come up with strategies to oppose complacency. As one who did not weather such complacency, I’m comforted to see these successes.

     
    • Lynn Mapp

      February 4, 2012 at 8:58 PM

      The problem is living with someone day-to-day. It’s easy to forget what attracted us to this person in the first place.

       
  7. Clarissa Southwick

    January 26, 2012 at 9:27 PM

    What a great story, Lynn. I have a similar resolution on my list. Thanks for reminding me of what’s important in life.

     
    • Lynn Mapp

      February 4, 2012 at 8:59 PM

      It’s easy for us to lose sight of how important relationships are.

       
  8. Mary Vine

    January 27, 2012 at 8:18 PM

    That was beautiful, Lynn! Thanks for sharing.

     
    • Lynn Mapp

      February 4, 2012 at 9:00 PM

      You’re welcome, Mary.

       
  9. stephanieberget

    February 1, 2012 at 10:15 AM

    Thanks, Lynn. This is so true. We are coming up on our fortieth anniversary this month. We’ve gone through period of complacency and, fortunately, come out the other side. This is one of my resolutions too, spending more quality time with my husband.

     
    • Lynn Mapp

      February 4, 2012 at 9:01 PM

      Yeah! It’s a good resolution. Make it happen.

       

Leave a Reply

 
