RSS

Organization Will Set You Free

31 Jan

That’s my motto. My goal is to be so organized that things practically do themselves. My problem is the other mammals that live in my house. My husband tries…sort of. The dogs just look at me as if I’m crazy when I tell them to put their toys away. And the cats…are cats. So it’s up to me. I’ve heard that if you want something done, give it to a busy woman. My family takes that way too seriously.

Last year, we moved and my writing slipped to the bottom of my to-do list. I got cranky and that’s never a good time for anyone. This year, I’m going to get a head start on the holidays.

Yup. I’m starting now. First and very important get a book-style calendar. One you can make lots of notes in.

  1. This is the time to hit the sales. Do you have your Christmas cards yet? This is a great time to get them on sale. You might as well pick up wrapping paper and bags as well. After all, they’re 75% off.
  2. Put all your card recipients’ addresses on labels. When the first of December comes, all you have to do is write a short letter or add a picture and you’re done except for the trip to the post office.
  3. Get all the cards you need for the rest of the year. Yes, I already have Valentine cards and all the birthday cards for the year. There are some cards you can’t get because they’re seasonal, but do what you can. There’s nothing worse than to get all wrapped up in your WIP only to look at the calendar and realized your brother’s birthday is tomorrow and there you sit in your pajamas with no card. To make matters worse, it’s 10:30 and the only place open is the 7-11. Better to plan ahead.
  4. Stick the cards in your calendar according to the month you’ll need them. If you really want to save time, address them and stick on a stamp.

Now that you’ve done what you can for special events, it’s time to turn to planning for spring. Flowers. The sight of spring with all its color and fragrances spurs the creative juices.

  1. Order the flowers you want now. There are great deals on-line and you can do it all from the comfort of your favorite chair and in your jammies. Think of the time and gas you’ll save. Everything will come to your door and all you have to do is stick them in the ground. Note: Plant perennials. They come up every year and you only have to mess with them once a year, leaving you more writing time.
  2. If you plant a garden, this is also a great time to get your seeds.

Now that you have all that off your plate, you’ve got time to write now and later. Speaking of writing, this is a great time to begin a new project or wrap up last year’s.

  1. Make a list of the agents and editors you plan to submit to.
  2. Jot down on that new calendar when you need to send in dues to the groups you belong to. This way you don’t get dropped from your favorite groups.
  3. Outline or brainstorm a new book. Even if you won’t be able to start it for a while, it will get you excited about the process and spur you to finish your WIP.

I hope these suggestions help you find more time to write.

What do you do to save time? Do you have a plan for the unexpected events that always pop up?

 
10 Comments

Posted by on January 31, 2012 in Blogs, Idaho, time management

 

10 responses to “Organization Will Set You Free

  1. Liz Fredericks

    January 31, 2012 at 7:22 AM

    Wow, Peggy, you ARE organized. You’ve given me ideas for my own system. Thank you!

     
    • Peggy Staggs

      January 31, 2012 at 9:12 AM

      I have such a bad memory I have to do whatever right then or it drifts off in a mist of sparkles. Glad I could help.

       
  2. Janis McCurry

    January 31, 2012 at 8:18 AM

    Does it count to read this blog? Maybe it rubs off on the reader?

     
    • Peggy Staggs

      January 31, 2012 at 9:14 AM

      Absolutely! I figure it’s a step by step process.

       
  3. Jo-Ann Carson

    January 31, 2012 at 9:48 AM

    Great blog. Good tips. I could never be as organized as you, but I do listen to the same nagging voice that sits on my shoulders and says, “Get it together.” One tip I have is to have sticky note pads everywhere. I use them to write down whatever I think in need to do and then I find the appropriate list to stick them onto. Love the sticky notes. Jo-Ann (http://lovindanger.wordpress.com)

     
  4. Peggy Staggs

    January 31, 2012 at 4:53 PM

    Jo-Ann, thanks for dropping by. I’m with you, I love sticky notes. They’re so prevalent around my house, car and my purse.

     
  5. Marsha R. West

    January 31, 2012 at 8:13 PM

    Wow, Peggy, you really are organized! My husband and I are always talking about tackling the clutter. In late December, we were getting new carpet installed in the upstairs and finally were forced to go through the things in the closets up there. Wouldn’t you know? I found the book 10 Steps to De-Clutering. We both got a laugh about it. De-cluttering is the first task in getting organized, so we’re closer to that goal now. Thanks for the good ideas in this post.

     
  6. Meredith Conner

    February 1, 2012 at 9:27 AM

    I am going to buy birthday cards this week. I just flipped the calendar this morning and . . . my BEST FRIEND’S BIRTHDAY is today. I didn’t even realize we were already at the end of the month until last night. Arghh. Great ideas Peggy!!!

     
  7. Mary Vine

    February 1, 2012 at 7:28 PM

    My husband is good at organizing. The other day he went through the freezer and I wrote down what was in each shelf, then stuck it on the side of the freezer. Now, I don’t have to wonder what to cook for dinner-it’s posted on the side. I don’t have to dig through it to find something. Now that’ll save me time.

     
  8. Clarissa Southwick

    February 3, 2012 at 5:42 PM

    Great advice, Peggy. I always admire your organizational skills. Thanks for sharing your tips with us🙂

     

Leave a Reply

 
