RSS

2012 Resolutions, Part 3

23 Feb

My resolutions for 2012

  1. Work on improving my health.
  2. Spend more time with my husband.
  3. Spend more time with my children.
  4. Spend more time with my friends and extended family.
  5. Spend more time taking joy from each and every day.

In my previous blogs, I’ve written about my number one, two, and four resolutions.  This week, I’m writing about my third 2012 resolution.

 

Soar

You are you, yet still a part of me

I watch you with a sense of wonder

Your twinkling eyes look down upon me

remembering the times you looked up in awe

a man-child at the threshold

Your eyes look out at the world

with an eager yearning

a fight is waged

with me both victor and vanquished

You must be allowed to take

the path you seek

The baby once cradled is still within

but your needs have grown and changed

as the years slipped past

You have been nurtured and cherished

scolded and sorely disciplined

to lead you to this passage

Take my gifts in the spirit intended

Soar to great heights

as I watch with pride

 

Can you tell I had a teenager in my home when I wrote Soar?  I believe the teen years are a challenge for both the teenager and the parent.  One of the hardest parts of parenting is letting them go.  It feels like you are in a battle.  The beauty of letting them go, is getting them back.  The new relationship takes some adjustments.  That child is now an adult.

I love my sons.  I also really like them, and enjoy spending time in their company.  They are kind, intelligent, handsome, and just plain fun to be with.  In the grind of daily living it’s easy to lose sight of the importance of the parent/child relationship.  I plan to continue to make my children starring players in my life and take joy in the moments we are able to share.

 

 
15 Comments

Posted by on February 23, 2012 in Idaho

 

15 responses to “2012 Resolutions, Part 3

  1. Janis McCurry

    February 23, 2012 at 6:47 AM

    Our real national treasures are our children.

     
  2. johannaharness

    February 23, 2012 at 7:00 AM

    Beautiful, Lynn. Just beautiful.

     
  3. Liz Fredericks

    February 23, 2012 at 7:01 AM

    “Soar” is beautiful, Lynn.

     
  4. Peggy Staggs

    February 23, 2012 at 8:04 AM

    Very moving. Thanks for sharing.

     
  5. Meredith Conner

    February 23, 2012 at 8:15 AM

    Wonderful Lynn.

     
    • Lynn Mapp

      February 23, 2012 at 7:36 PM

      Thank you, Meredith.

       
  6. Mary Vine

    February 23, 2012 at 2:38 PM

    “Soar” is a great piece of writing. I reminds me of something that could be posted right before a chapter in a book. Do you have any daughters?

     
    • Lynn Mapp

      February 23, 2012 at 7:37 PM

      Nope, Mary. I only had the sons.

       
  7. florence fois

    February 23, 2012 at 3:07 PM

    Lynn, it is joy to read your posts on “resolutions.” When so many have already given up on keeping any of them, you are working through each one. This last is most precious. Good for both you and your boys that you are in a small group who intends to keep the promises they make🙂

     
    • Lynn Mapp

      February 23, 2012 at 7:39 PM

      This is THE year. I plan to keep those resolutions close. You can’t just write them, and tuck it away. That’s how we forget.

       
  8. Marsha R. West

    February 24, 2012 at 2:35 PM

    Soar is beautiful, Lynn. Thanks for sharing. I reminds me a section from The Prophet. “Your children are not your children….They come fhrough you but not from you, and though they are with you yet they belong not to you.” Those of us who have grown children who like us are indeed blessed. Thanks for sharing your goals, Lynn. You inspire.

     

Leave a Reply

 
