RSS

Eight Ways to Rev Up Your Energy

28 Feb

There is nothing more exhausting than sitting all day torturing people, er, writing. So when your backside is numb and your brain feels like cotton, here are a few ways to get the blood flowing.

  1. Steps—it takes 10,000 steps a day to lose weight. My friend gave me a pedometer for Christmas. It’s a great way to keep track of your goal and give you a reason to get up and move. I pace when I’m on the phone. This is good and bad. If the other person on the line wants some information, it’s usually at the other end of the house. Good—get up and do a few laps up and down the hall or pace while you’re on the phone. Better—go outside and walk around the yard. Best—take a few turns around the block.
  2. Take a drink. No, not that kind. Cold water. If you think about it, what’s more refreshing than a drink of cold water? Keep a glass or insulated container handy.
  3. Change something. It can be anything that varies your routine. Do a few of those brain teaser puzzles. It will jar some of those dormant brain cells loose. Spend a minute and clean off the top of your desk. A neat environment is like a fresh start. Take your computer outside or to another room.
  4. Enjoy a few minutes of silence. Turn off the lights, the radio, music or TV. Now lean back or lie down and close your eyes. Starting with your toes, concentrate on relaxing and making your toes feel heavy. Imagine them melting into the ground. Work your way up to your head and shoulders. Keep your breathing steady and your mind focused on relaxation. It doesn’t take long and you’ll be ready to get back to work.
  5. Sit up straight. Your mother was right all those years ago when she used to yell at you to sit up. When you sit up straight, you increase your oxygen intake by as much as 30%. More oxygen in means more oxygen to your brain and that’s always helpful.
  6. Have a snack and get that blood sugar up. Some good choices are: blueberries, strawberries, cantaloupe, mango, citrus fruit, tomatoes, avocado, a dried fruit and nut mixture (never hurts to throw a little chocolate in the assortment), peanut butter on whole-wheat crackers, or low-fat yogurt. Don’t forget to stay hydrated.
  7. Light a eucalyptus, spearmint, or peppermint candle or rub on one of these essential oils. These are the scents that stimulate your brain. You might keep some other scents around to alter your mood to suit what you’re writing. After all, smell is the sense most closely linked to memory.
  8. Open a window and let in some fresh air. Take a few deep breaths and stretch. It will get the blood flowing and loosen those tight muscles.

It’s important to rev up your energy level if you want to stay fresh and keep those brilliant phrases spilling out on to the page.

What do you do to stay energized?

 
16 Comments

Posted by on February 28, 2012 in Blogs, goals, health, Idaho, writers

 

16 responses to “Eight Ways to Rev Up Your Energy

  1. Liz Fredericks

    February 28, 2012 at 7:02 AM

    Ok, Peg, I did #2-7 and will take care of #1 & #8 later. More’s better . . . right?

     
    • Peggy Staggs

      February 28, 2012 at 8:28 AM

      It’s amazing what a difference a few steps and a little water will do.

       
  2. Meredith Conner

    February 28, 2012 at 8:24 AM

    I try to keep up with the kiddos. It usually gets my energy going – until I crash. They’ve got a lot of energy🙂

     
    • Peggy Staggs

      February 28, 2012 at 8:30 AM

      Oh, yeah, kids. They’ll do that. I think that falls under #1.

       
  3. Janis McCurry

    February 28, 2012 at 8:46 AM

    Thanks for the tips.

     
  4. florence fois

    February 28, 2012 at 9:10 AM

    Peggy, it is a daily challenge to actually move from dead center, to keep my blood and bones moving !! Fun part is that I can swim ten to eleven months a year, and when I can get get out, I have to remind myself to get up and do something. I think I have found if I don’t move, not only do my knees lock, my brain does as well … okay so I am getting up now … see ya🙂

     
  5. Peggy Staggs

    February 28, 2012 at 10:08 AM

    You’re so right. If you don’t have the physical energy your brain energy suffers too. I love to get out and see things so walking is my choice of transportation. That and I’m a terrible swimmer. If tossed in the water I can get to the side of the pool. People who can swim more than two laps are my hero’s.

     
  6. Kate Wyland

    February 28, 2012 at 11:15 AM

    Great tips. Here’s another. Set a timer – you can get computer timers – and get up and move around for 5 minutes every hour. Sitting for longer than that is bad for you.
    Now if I could just get myself to respond to the timer, instead of thinking “in a minute” which usually turns out to be another hour!

     
    • Peggy Staggs

      February 28, 2012 at 11:56 AM

      What a good Idea. Before we moved I was constantly up letting one dog or another in or out. Now they have a doggie door and roam freely. I’m going to add that to me list.
      If I don’t get up and do it right then I forget until my backside falls asleep.

       
  7. Patsy

    February 29, 2012 at 6:57 AM

    I printed this off and am going to use these tips!

     
  8. Peggy Staggs

    February 29, 2012 at 7:30 AM

    I hope they help. Thanks for dropping by.

     
  9. stephanieberget

    February 29, 2012 at 8:34 AM

    Peggy, thanks for the tips. It is a daily struggle for me to get out of the chair and move. I am trying Jerry Seinfeld’s calendar method and it’s working for me. I love the pedometer idea. I’ll have to dig mine out of the drawer. I’m printing this off to post by my computer.

     
  10. Peggy Staggs

    February 29, 2012 at 9:15 AM

    I’m glad I could help. My pedometer bit the dust this week, literally. I dropped it and now it resets every time it goes to sleep. I’ll be getting another one this weekend. Good luck.

     
  11. Mary Vine

    February 29, 2012 at 6:18 PM

    Thanks, Peggy, for the reminder to keep moving. Good to hear again after our New Year’s resolutions get lost in the recesses of our minds.

     
  12. Peggy Staggs

    March 1, 2012 at 8:04 AM

    I know. It’s so easy to make that resolution and so hard to keep it.

     
  13. Clarissa Southwick

    March 1, 2012 at 12:22 PM

    I love this tips, Peggy. Great advice for writers and non-writers alike. Now, to get moving. . .

     

Leave a Reply

 
