RSS

Got Joy?

08 Mar

  1. Work on improving my health.
  2. Spend more time with my husband.
  3. Spend more time with my children.
  4. Spend more time with my friends and extended family.
  5. Spend more time taking joy from each and every day.

In previous blogs I have talked about resolutions one through four.  Today, I’m going to talk about my last resolution for 2012.

Spend more time taking joy from each and every day.

Joy.

It’s a three letter word.

As a teenager, I remember walking from class-to-class wrapped in a bubble of sheer happiness.  The golden glow of the sun was shining above my head.  There was a promise of adventure in the air.  Life was good.

As the years slipped passed, that joy to be alive, to be in the moment, stayed with me.  Joy ran all the way to my core.

Money problems can steal your joy.

Health problems can steal your joy.

Relationship problems can steal your joy.

The death of a loved one can steal your joy.

I’m not going to lie.  I have had my share of horrendous days.  I’ve felt like Humpty-Dumpty.  I didn’t need all the king’s horses or all the king’s men to put me back together again.  I just needed a moment to breathe, to count my many blessings.

It is easy to allow your circumstances to get in your way.  It’s harder to make a decision not to give up, to keep swimming against the current.

Mountains, no matter how high, are climbable.

Eruptions, no matter how strong, are livable.

Rivers, no matter how deep, are crossable.

Life without joy is empty.

When joy ebbs it’s hard to find the creative force within.  Stress at work.  Stress at home.  Stress on the roads.  These things can wear us down.  That ebb can create havoc with our writing.

We need to protect ourselves and guard this most precious commodity.

I haven’t won the lottery.  I don’t live on a private island.  I don’t own a place in the Hamptons, but I have something more important.  I haven’t lost my joy.  It’s still wrapped around me.

Some days are harder than others, but I work not to lose sight of what is really important in my life.

As writers we take our characters to dark places, places they don’t want to be.  The beauty of what we also do is bring them into the light.

Take a moment to breathe and feel the joy deep inside you.

 
22 Comments

Posted by on March 8, 2012 in Idaho

 

22 responses to “Got Joy?

  1. Janis McCurry

    March 8, 2012 at 7:06 AM

    “Joy” is such a simple word, yet conveys such a wealth of meaning. Very important to remember.

     
    • Lynn Mapp

      March 8, 2012 at 7:27 PM

      It is important to remember. I remind myself of this everyday.

       
  2. Meredith Conner

    March 8, 2012 at 7:32 AM

    Beautifully written Lynn. What a wonderful thing to read this morning. Thank you.

     
    • Lynn Mapp

      March 8, 2012 at 7:28 PM

      I’m glad I was able to get your day off to a good start.

       
  3. Liz Fredericks

    March 8, 2012 at 8:50 AM

    Oh Lynn, this is beautiful. You’ve prompted me to make a list of joyful things – first cup of coffee in the morning, crocuses, an email, note or call from a friend . . . a thoughtful blog from a beautiful and wise woman.

    I have a poster on the door of my writing armoire with a message from Mary Anne Radmacher:

    “Courage doesn’t always roar. Sometimes courage is the quiet voice at the end of the day saying, ‘I will try again tomorrow’.”

    You continue to inspire such courage and that’s a joyful thing.

     
    • Lynn Mapp

      March 8, 2012 at 7:30 PM

      Inspire. I like that. Thank you.

       
  4. Valerie Robertson (@valrobertson)

    March 8, 2012 at 9:15 AM

    Yes! What you said, Lynn.

    Planting joy for the future is important, too. Yesterday, I noticed the daffodils and grape hyacinths in my front yard are coming up (yay!). We’ve lived in our house for almost 10 years, and we never planted bulbs, but we get to enjoy them because someone thought to plant them long before we became their caretakers.

     
    • Lynn Mapp

      March 8, 2012 at 7:32 PM

      We need to learn to take joy in the things that surround us. We tend to see the “bad.” It’s harder to see the good.

       
  5. janicetpw

    March 8, 2012 at 9:48 AM

    Lynn, it’s a wonderful post. Reminds me to take time and remember what’s important. I especially like Val’s comment about planting for the future.

     
    • Lynn Mapp

      March 8, 2012 at 7:34 PM

      Janice, thank you. Please do remember to take that moment to remember what’s really important.

       
  6. stephanieberget

    March 8, 2012 at 10:56 AM

    Lynn, your post came at the most opportune time for me. I’ve been focusing on work problems and had forgotten to look at the many wonderful things in my life. Thank you for this reminder and thanks for being you. You inspire me.

     
    • Lynn Mapp

      March 8, 2012 at 7:35 PM

      It is easy to focus on the problems, and much harder to look for the positive. There are so many wonderful things in our life that are often overlooked.

       
  7. Marsha R. West

    March 8, 2012 at 1:32 PM

    Great post, Lynn. Positive, uplifting, and beautifully written.

     
  8. Megan Hutchins (@mkhutchins)

    March 8, 2012 at 3:31 PM

    Loved this — thanks!

     
  9. Patsy

    March 9, 2012 at 6:46 AM

    Good reminder to live each day with hope and finding those things that make us happy.

     
    • Lynn Mapp

      March 9, 2012 at 8:29 AM

      Patsy, there are so many things that go wrong during a day. The difficult part, is remembering all the things that went well.

       
  10. Peggy Staggs

    March 10, 2012 at 4:04 PM

    Counting our joys is so important and something we don’t do often. I know I worry about things I can’t do anything about instead of reveling in the joys I have. Very inspirational.

     
    • Lynn Mapp

      March 11, 2012 at 5:45 PM

      Finding joy in difficult times is…difficult. Today as we sat at critique, I looked for those moments of joy, of sharing. Today would have been Russell’s 30th birthday. I stopped by his grave to share a snippet of time. To yell at him. To ask him if he realized how much I love him.
      Yes, the pain fills an ocean, but…there is also joy at my many blessing.

       
  11. Clarissa Southwick

    March 12, 2012 at 8:26 PM

    What an important topic, Lynn. Thanks for reminding us to pursue what makes us happy.🙂

     
  12. Lynn Mapp

    March 13, 2012 at 7:11 PM

    Clarissa, we’ve got to take joy in the everyday things.

     

Leave a Reply

 
