RSS

Why Do You Write?

22 Mar

I’ve got sunshine on a cloudy day

When it’s cold outside

I’ve got the month of May

I guess you say

What can make me feel this way?

My girl

My girl

My girl

Talking ‘bout my girl

That song is a classic.  It’s over forty years old.  Imagine hearing that being played and knowing you wrote those lyrics.  Imagine that feeling.

That’s what we want to do with our stories.  We want to create something that will transport people to another world, a world of our creation, a story which will stand the test of time.

I was searching for a career which would allow me to stay home and still earn a living while I raised my beautiful son, Adam.  I remembered instructors telling me I had a gift for creating imaginative stories.  That’s when I had a brainstorm.  I’d write a book.  It was as easy as that.  I had a plan.

You might be shocked when I tell you everything didn’t go according to my calculations.  By the time I finished that first book, Adam had two younger brothers, and was a few years from entering junior high.  After the amount of time spent working on that first novel, I would like to say the book was incredible.  It’s too bad I can’t.

The second book only took me three years to write.  I’d found Romance Writers of America and the local chapter.  There was a lot to learn and I was an eager pupil.  The second book was better, but…  I still had much to learn.  I’ve improved my craft with each book.  I have learned about point of view, plotting,  characterization…

You understand.

I’m still plugging away, getting better with each attempt.

It’s been years since I started down this path.  Why do I keep at it?  I believe I have stories to tell.  As long as I have stories swirling in my head, I will continue to write.

I am curious.

What started you on this writer’s journey?  Now that you’ve been on this path, it there anything you’d do differently?

 
12 Comments

Posted by on March 22, 2012 in Idaho

 

12 responses to “Why Do You Write?

  1. Janis

    March 22, 2012 at 6:27 AM

    I started out with arrogance. I’d read too many books with heroines that were TSTL (too stupid to live). That notion got slapped out of me very quickly.

    As for doing something differently, my path is just that. The path I chose. No need to beat myself up. No regrets.

     
    • Lynn Mapp

      March 22, 2012 at 9:31 PM

      Yeah, I read my share of books with TSTL heroines. I started out with a boat load of arrogance as well.
      The journey is the important part of reaching the place you’re heading.

       
  2. Meredith Allen Conner

    March 22, 2012 at 8:16 AM

    It was a combination of things for me: I needed to do something for myself, outside of my children and I finally realized that I could do something with all of those stories and day dreams that are constantly running through my head.

    And I”m with Janis about the path – it’s definitely the one I chose and I didn’t do it differently so I’m not going to regret it. I like where I am right now.

     
    • Lynn Mapp

      March 22, 2012 at 9:32 PM

      Liking where you’re at is the most important life lesson to learn.

       
  3. Liz Fredericks

    March 22, 2012 at 12:14 PM

    Reading was my favorite pastime and greatest salvation as a geeky kid and when I wasn’t reading I made up stories to entertain myself. Writing seemed a natural extension and I remember hating to ‘write’, pencil to paper, so I’d tell myself the story aloud. I still write that way at times – It’s a path. I’ve no regrets except that I didn’t start sooner, but I probably wouldn’t have the same stories. Lynn, it’s always a joy to read your posts.

     
    • Lynn Mapp

      March 22, 2012 at 9:35 PM

      Thank you, Liz. I too was a geeky kid always reading. I had to read a book from start to finish in the same day. If I didn’t, I’d finish the book for the author in my head. I was often disappointed with how they tied things up. That’s when I decided I could do better. Hah!

       
  4. ramblingsfromtheleft

    March 22, 2012 at 3:21 PM

    Great song, Lynn. Okay, I spun in circles and jumped a few fire hydrants (childhood) and met a boy … went down a rocky road (marriage) stopped for a few years and ane left the man … continued down a silppery slope (kids) and decided to stay in the valley and enjoy the wild life and at last I came to a peaceful place with sun and surf I found me (older and wiser).

    One way leads to another way which leads us back into ourselves. I don’t believe in shoulds, woulds, coulds or if only … no remorse and no regrets. Every single minute of my hapless journey has brought me to this singular moment … I am a writer and have always been. Now I get to do it on paper, for real and for as long as I can. It’s like another song: My heart will go on🙂

     
    • Lynn Mapp

      March 22, 2012 at 9:39 PM

      Oh, Ramblings, I love that. I’ve spent the last three years working so hard not to fall into the shoulds, woulds, coulds, and if only. It’s a nasty place to be, second guessing yourself.
      My path has brought me here, where I’m supposed to be. There are days I don’t like that place, but nevertheless, this is where I am. I need to take joy from my journey.

       
  5. Clarissa Southwick

    March 22, 2012 at 5:17 PM

    If I had it to do all over again, I would just write for myself and not for publication.

     
    • Lynn Mapp

      March 22, 2012 at 9:41 PM

      You go, girl. That’s the right view. You are creating stories that entertain you.

       
  6. Peggy Staggs

    March 26, 2012 at 11:30 AM

    I’ve always written for myself in hopes that someone someday will like my stuff.

     
  7. marsharwest

    March 27, 2012 at 3:47 PM

    Late to this subject. I was babysitting grands last week. Nice “problem” to have. I’ve been writing for close to five years. Did some as an 8th grader–a play– then as a young married and life happens. I’m grateful for all those experiences because they make me who I am. (Not that I’m always happy with that person, but I know it’s within my power to change what I don’t like.)

    That first book had a great story. Too bad I knew nothing about the craft of romance writing. What I’d change is not to submit a work too early. Yes, we have to write them and we do have to submit if we want them to be pubbed, unless we go Indie–which is fine to my way of thinking. But what I’ve learned along the way is it takes me a really long time to fix everything needing fixing. Maybe others are not that way. But there are some folks I’d like to submit a book to now when I’ve really done the tedious edits of getting rid of all those repeat words and throw away words, and read the whole thing out loud–all 90,000 words–that is tedious, but an amazing way to find the glitches. But I sent them the earliest drafts of the book. So that’s what I’d do, wait longer to submit. Of course early on I hadn’t taken those courses to learn those self-editing techniques. And everyone said, submit, submit. Interesting post, Lynn.

     

Leave a Reply

 
