RSS

Welcome Guest Blogger: Morgan Wyatt

02 Apr

 What is Your Magic Number?

Ever stop and think when you were the happiest? Or what was the best year of your life? We tend to think of childhood years as being golden or the time we first fell in love. Not so, with British females, who tend to regard that magic time as thirty-three. Friends United took a poll of women forty and over residing in the UK. The majority picked thirty-three. Why you might wonder?

Different reasons, some felt they’d grown up enough that they didn’t have the naiveté of a teenager or their grandiose expectations. Still others found themselves more settled with an appropriate husband and children. Both spouse and offspring were still young enough that there weren’t major power struggles. Some found great joy in their professional careers, while others remarked on having a strong social network.  A few women commented that by their thirties, they finally had enough money to do what they want.

Was thirty-three a magical age for me? I pretty much slept walk through it. I worked full time, had a long commute, and three children under nine. I also spent four nights a week at college finishing my master’s degree. My meteorology professor commented that I napped through most of his class. What do you expect at nine-thirty at night? Can’t say it was the highlight of my life. It did make me wonder what makes life better, more special, even magical.

Dr. Simon Clark, the founder of eHarmony, believes that the right person has a beneficial aspect to all facets of your life. With the right guy, you tolerate nonsense at work with only a wry eyebrow lift and grocery shopping with a smile. Dr. Clark also believes if everyone found their perfect match the world would be a happier, more peaceful place. Of course, he adds that people currently seeking a mate almost seventy percent will not select their best match; which, of course, explains our divorce rate of 52%. The other eighteen percent are unaware they’ll ill-matched.

With that in mind, not all the British women who responded were married when they were thirty-three. Perhaps many had just escaped a bad pairing and were glad of it. The married ones were content in their marriages. They had what they always wanted a home, husband, family, and a career.  Or maybe it was just their age. A new study by economists David Blanchflower of Dartmouth and Andrew Oswald of Warwick show European happiness starts rising around the mid-thirties, but not so with an American. We must wait until mid-forties to find our happiness meter moving upward once again. They also added we are not as happy as our grandparents despite having more wealth and technology.

Many American women commented that they came alive at fifty when they decided to not care what other people think. That’s what the Red Hat Ladies are all about. Just doing things you want to do because well, you want to. No long drawn out explanations why you’re eating ice cream for breakfast. Women are usually the ones who stick to social rules never realizing that most things they adhere to matter little.

What is the best year of my life? I’d have to say right now. At 51, I am living the life I want. Because my children are grown I am able to indulge my passion for travel. Sometimes I do eat ice cream for breakfast.  Other times I say exactly what I think, and no one seems too shocked. Best of all, I am marrying my soul mate. Given another year or so, and I might think 52 is the best year of my life.

I am happier now than I’ve ever been because I went after what I wanted in life. To this end, I write about women who may not have always gone after what they wanted in their early years, but finally find the gumption to do just that. My newest book Puppy Love features a romance phobic bank manager that gets entangled with the town’s new vet courtesy of a wayward puppy.

Tell me what is your best year and why?

Morgan as a child had to suffer through movies with clueless heroines rescued by smart men. Her mother dutifully read her stories where princesses waited for princes to jumpstart their lives. There were no proactive female role models in the media at that time, with the exception of Wonder Woman. It is for this reason, and that it is fun, Morgan writes about strong women going after what they want, which is often a delectable cub. Those who wonder if the cougar tales have any reality to them; should remember that writers often put themselves into every story they pen, even if it is a secondary character.
Morgan writes for the online newspaper Examiner under the name M. Carole Wyatt. www.examiner.com She has a blog about dating after forty on www.datingafterfortyeight.blogspot.com Morgan pinches pennies on her blog; http://www. http://thefrugaldivatellsall.blogspot.com/She also reviews book for Novelspot and blogs about writing at: www.novelspot.net You can find Morgan at www.morgankwyatt.com. On Twitter and FaceBook at: morgankwyatt
 
 
16 Comments

Posted by on April 2, 2012 in Guest Blog, Idaho

 

Tags:

16 responses to “Welcome Guest Blogger: Morgan Wyatt

  1. Liz Fredericks

    April 2, 2012 at 6:31 AM

    Hi Morgan – Thank you for joining us on GSW. Well . . . where do I start? I’ll definitely be looking up your work. You’re touching upon issues facing so many women and I’m guessing you have an avid readership. Thank you also for the tidbits on the happiness study – important for us to remember to grab the time to do as we wish.

     
    • morgan wyatt

      April 2, 2012 at 6:11 PM

      Hi Liz,
      I am a day late. Believe it or not I didn’t know it was April due to being on spring break. There are so many happiness studies. I’ve favorited them all!🙂 Thanks for having me.

       
  2. Janis McCurry

    April 2, 2012 at 7:19 AM

    Great post. My wish is for all women to find their bliss. Cheers and thanks for blogging on Gem State Writers, Morgan.

     
    • morgan wyatt

      April 2, 2012 at 6:13 PM

      Hi Janis,
      Dr. Simon Clark once said if everyne could find their true mate there would be no wars. I think if people just found their purpose then they would be happy. here’s to every woman out there finding her place…and yes, everyone has one. Thanks for commenting.

       
  3. Meredith Allen Conner

    April 2, 2012 at 8:44 AM

    It’s important to find your happiness no matter what the age. Thanks for blogging with us!

     
    • morgan wyatt

      April 2, 2012 at 6:16 PM

      Hi Meredith,
      Thanks for commenting. When we are young we’re all about happiness. We’re greedy about happiness. We feel it is our right, and even our purpose, but somewhere we lose it due to busy-ness. Here’s to everyone finding theirs once more.

       
  4. Clarissa Southwick

    April 2, 2012 at 11:11 AM

    I can’t say I’ve had a “best” year yet. So I guess that means the best is yet to come. Thanks for guest blogging with us today!

     
    • morgan wyatt

      April 2, 2012 at 6:18 PM

      Clarissa,
      With such a delightful smile, it is hard to believe you’ve ever had a bad year. Just imagine you’ve yet to peak. Thanks for having me, even though I am a bit time challenged with moving everyone, plus not one, but two weddings ( Mine and my son’s) I tend to get sidetracked. I realized with horror today that it was April.🙂

       
  5. Peggy Staggs

    April 2, 2012 at 12:12 PM

    Thanks for guest blogging today. I agree that the right guy makes a lot of difference. That doesn’t mean it’s going to be easy, it just means you’re willing to work things out. As for the best year of my life? I can’t point to one. I subscribe to the saying, “bloom where you’re planted.”

     
    • morgan wyatt

      April 2, 2012 at 6:20 PM

      Hi Peggy,
      You’ve brought up a good point, if one year is considered better, then it diminishes the others. I’m still going with the best is yet to come. I try to live like I was dying, but in a good way.:) Thanks for commenting.

       
  6. Karen Cote

    April 2, 2012 at 2:53 PM

    Aww Morgan…I’m 50 this year and so far it is the best year ever. I have a feeling however, next year will be better and the next…and the next. I learn something new and exciting each day and the knowledge and experience is invaluable.

    Thank you for this enlightening and inspiring post. You are a treasure to know.

     
    • morgan wyatt

      April 2, 2012 at 6:25 PM

      Hi Karen,

      Thanks for commenting. When I was a teen I was sure I’d be dead at fifty or at least using a walker. Next month, I’ll be going to Vegas, considering doing the zipline tour…not at all what I thought I’d be doing at fifty-one. My role model started climbing mountains when she was eighty. Her husband always told her she was foolish to want to, but after he died away she went, flying across the world to hit all the major peaks.

       
  7. ramblingsfromtheleft

    April 2, 2012 at 5:27 PM

    Morgan, I can’t help but give my stock answer. Any year I am still here and kicking a$$ is the best year. That being said, the best time is the one you are living now … enjoy🙂

     
  8. morgan wyatt

    April 2, 2012 at 6:29 PM

    Hi Rambling,
    Okay all, my daughter just told me it’s not April 3rd …so I’m not late. What a relief🙂 I am glad you’re still kicking and happy about it. When I hit forty-seven I became a curmudgeon and started tell people “no.” An amazing thing happened. I stopped doing things I didn’t want to do, and believe it or not I made more friends because I acted normal as opposed to goody-goody two shoes. So you never know. Thanks for stopping by and letting me ramble a bit.

     
  9. Mary Vine

    April 4, 2012 at 6:48 PM

    I love the topic of this blog post!! I think I didn’t know much of anything until I hit 40🙂 In my fifties I went back to college and graduated, got braces on my lower teeth, and the first of my three books was published. So there! Thanks!

     
    • morgan wyatt

      April 6, 2012 at 5:16 AM

      Good Morning Mary,
      I know author Marianne Williamson describes the middle years as getting another chance at the life we want as opposed to slowing down. She is so right. Thanks for being living proof of that adage. Thanks for commenting too.

       

Leave a Reply

 
