RSS

Conferences and Benefits

20 Apr

Tonight I am preparing for our annual Boise SCBWI (Society of Children’s Book Writers and Illustrators) conference, so I have conferences on the brain.

There are tons of reasons to attend conferences as a writer, so I won’t be able to cover them all. But here are a few:

  • You will always learn something. I don’t care how long you’ve been writing. Every time I attend a session I thought would be sort of a toss off, I end up learning so many new things.
  • It is an investment in your career. My lawyer husband is required to attend a certain number of continuing education seminars each year to keep his license. So are teachers and many other professionals. You are a professional too, so act like it.
  • There are really fun people to meet and get to know.

    Friends and connections from last year's conference.

  • You find out about authors and books you had never heard of before, and you almost always have a chance to get a signed book.
  • Talking is a great way to find out which agents are taking what kinds of things, which editor changed houses, what other authors are also looking for a critique group. Etc.
  • It beats cleaning the house or mowing the lawn. C’mon.
  • It will give you a shot of inspiration that will keep you going for longer than you might think.
  • You might talk to the bookstore owner at the conference who has not heard of you or your books yet. Get to know them. They are your best friends.
  • Likewise for librarians. Teachers. All kinds of people who love books and know how to get yours into the hands of your readers.

    Look! There are still two seats left up front.

So. . .if you’re looking for a conference, we have ours on Saturday, April 21 on the campus of Boise State University in the Student Union Building. Cost is $135 and you get a full day of sessions from an agent, authors, and more. You can learn how to perfect your plot, revise your revisions, write a query letter that will knock their socks off, and maybe even win a door prize. We’d love to see you there.

 
4 Comments

Posted by on April 20, 2012 in Idaho

 

4 responses to “Conferences and Benefits

  1. johannaharness

    April 20, 2012 at 5:39 AM

    This really resonates with me, Neysa. Every time I go, I learn. I’ll be there!

     
  2. Liz Fredericks

    April 20, 2012 at 7:09 AM

    Good information, Neysa! Unfortunately, I’m in the middle of my son’s baseball season. I’m sorry to miss the two of you. Have fun on campus.

     
  3. Janis McCurry

    April 20, 2012 at 7:11 AM

    Excellent reasons for continuing education whatever your profession. Thanks, Neysa.

     
  4. Clarissa Southwick

    April 24, 2012 at 8:18 AM

    Thanks for reminding us of all the reasons to attend writers’ conferences. I missed this one this year. I hope it was a great experience for everyone who attended.

     

Leave a Reply

 
