RSS

Writing to Entertain

25 May

by guest blogger Lee Lopez

Ever since I was very young I was a natural storyteller. What followed was the desire to see my stories in print. That is where my dream shifted and changed. I had no idea how hard it would be to become published. In my infancy of writing, during those naïve day dreams, I thought I wrote the story, sent it to an agent, they’d love it, (of course) and the deals would come rolling in.

Then reality hit the fan, splattering me with rejection letters. I was pelted with them.

To be honest, there were times in my writing life, when I was close to quitting. I have a file filled with standard rejections, and even one written on the back of my query with a very distinct coffee cup stain. Whatever drove me deep in my oracle genes kept running a full tilt, because I didn’t stop writing.

When the Indie publishing phenomenon hit, it was the place for me. I could control my own career, choose my own covers, titles, without deadlines or someone outside my story ordering me to change this or that to please the public. I released She Cried Wolf in April, to see my dream become the best part of reality.

As an author, I’m not really sure what I expect from my book. It’s selling decently well. I’ve received five star reviews, and I love the cover. I’m a happy girl.

Do I expect to make a fortune? No. As authors our mantra is, “Don’t quit your day job”. When an indie does climb up the list, it’s always a pleasant surprise, because they had to do it all on their own. No publisher to buy a spot on the NYT list. The book had to sell on its own merits.

What I wanted to do with my book was entertain.  When it started to sell I had a Sally Fields moment, “They like me! They really like me!” I was entertaining someone out there in the cyber world.

I think most authors will agree, they are compelled to write. It’s not about fame and fortune, it’s an uncontrollable compulsion. No matter if I’m indie published or someday get a dream contract, I write stories because it’s engrained deep in my DNA. Instead of sitting around a fire exaggerating a hunt into a fable, I sit at a computer and reinterpret life onto the pages of what will become a book.

Are you compelled to write?

Lee Lopez is a retired Sheriff’s Deputy, who lives in San Francisco Bay area with her husband and two black cats. Her debut release is She Cried Wolf.  You can find her on Facebook Lee Lopez-author, Twitter, www.leelopez.com www.twoindieladies.wordpress.com  and www.thehappyhealthyholisticpet.blogspot.com

 
13 Comments

Posted by on May 25, 2012 in Self Publishing

 

Tags: ,

13 responses to “Writing to Entertain

  1. Liz Fredericks

    May 25, 2012 at 7:01 AM

    Congratulations on your book, Lee! Writing is such a lonely and vulnerable endeavor. Thank you for sharing a bit of your story on GSW. We all need to hear how people persevere.

     
    • Lee Lopez

      May 25, 2012 at 8:32 AM

      To be a writer is a solitary career choice. Its one that is always evolving with stories and with the industry. Writer’s are artist, they are compelled to write.

       
  2. Janis McCurry

    May 25, 2012 at 7:14 AM

    Great inspiration, Lee.Thanks for being a guest on Gem State Writers.

     
    • Lee Lopez

      May 25, 2012 at 8:32 AM

      Thank you for inviting me. I really love the site. I’ll be back visiting more often.

       
  3. Clarissa Southwick

    May 25, 2012 at 7:50 AM

    You have such a great background for writing, Lee. I’m going to check out your book right now. Thanks for guest blogging on GSW.

     
    • Lee Lopez

      May 25, 2012 at 8:34 AM

      Thank you Clarissa. I worked in Law Enforcement for over twenty years, do I have some stories to tell! It does offer a lot of inspiration and ideas. Enjoy the book, I enjoyed writing it.

       
  4. Betsy Love Lds Author

    May 25, 2012 at 8:45 AM

    Like you, Lee, I cannot NOT write. I have generations before me that loved to write. It’s part of who I am. When I got my very first rejection I said out loud. “That’s it, I’m never writing again.” But between the mailbox and the front door, I knew I’d put my butt back in my chair and start revising that book. It’s now published. Who would have thought it would take me almost 20 years to see my baby in print. I published IDENTITY first, then went back and my publisher took my first book. Congrats, Lee on your book. The cover is intriguing. Definitely makes a statement!

     
    • Lee Lopez

      May 25, 2012 at 9:04 AM

      Betsy, I was so much like you with rejections. They were a hard lesson in some cases and a good lesson in others. When I stood on the edge of the quit cliff ready to jump, I never did. I just couldn’t. No matter what I was told or not told I couldn’t stop the compulsion to write a story, even if it was my eyes only,which I many that are stare at me from my hard drive. I just climbed right back into that saddle and wrote. I have a great cover artist..The cover reminds me of those foggy cold alley’s of San Francisco where the story takes place.

       
  5. Margaret Duarte

    May 25, 2012 at 8:54 AM

    And what a wonderful storyteller you are, Lee. You’re already a success. It’ll only get better.

     
    • Lee Lopez

      May 25, 2012 at 9:05 AM

      Awe thanks Margaret, you’ve ridden right along with me on this journey. If any knows how wild a ride it’s been, you do!! I love to tell stories. No matter where the future takes me, that will never change. I now have my grandkids involved. We make up stories about things we see as drive around town.

       
  6. Peggy Staggs

    May 25, 2012 at 4:58 PM

    Lee, thanks for guest blogging with us. I crave stories, to hear, read, and write. So I guess you’d say I am compelled. I write everything from non-fiction articles for a national newsletter to fiction–contemporary, historical, and a little science fiction, and occasionally a blog.
    Love your cover and title.

     
  7. Lee Lopez

    May 25, 2012 at 10:27 PM

    Thanks Peggy, and I’d say your calling is indeed writing. And very compelled. Even when I think I’m don’t want to do this, I do. It’s a addictive compulsion.

     
  8. Mary Vine

    May 28, 2012 at 2:11 PM

    I like your cover and title, too. Makes me want to pick it up and read the back. Thanks for blogging!

     

Leave a Reply

 
