RSS

Idaho is Closest to the Paranormal World

28 May

By Rebecca Zanetti, guest blogger

First, a big thank you to the Gem State Writers for allowing me to drop by and visit today!  I enjoy reading this blog, so it’s an honor to be here.  My critique partner lives in Alabama, while I live in Idaho, and we both write stories about vampires, shifters, and witches.  We were talking the other day about paranormal romances and our different perspectives.  As a list maker, I thought I’d create a quick list as to why Idaho authors have a better understanding of the paranormal world:

  1.  We actually see wolves.  Sure, there are tons of wolf shifter books out there…but if you live in the Pacific NW, you probably know what a wolf actually looks, sounds, and even smells like.  They’re in our backyard, right?  (Speaking of which, I’ll try to drop by and say hi on this blog today, but I’m up camping and probably hiding from wolves.)
  1. We could live off the land if necessary.  My hubby is an architect, yet he’s an Idaho boy, too.  So if the big disaster someday hits and vampires take over the cities…we’re solid.  We can hunt and survive as long as necessary.
  1. Sun?  Who needs the sun?  Remember that disaster?  Sometimes we don’t see the sun for months and months…and we’re fine.  Cranky…but fine.  So we understand the vampire mentality.  LOL
  1. We understand loyalty and helping a neighbor.  In my state, we help each other.  There’s no turning away and thinking that somebody else will come along and help someone in need.  We do it.  Many paranormal creatures share this ability to help and make things better for others.  (Of course, many creatures can be bad guys…or there wouldn’t be a story.)
  1. We accept our odd relatives.  In Idaho, we don’t ship crazy Aunt Edna off somewhere…we bring her out for fun on Thanksgiving.  So we understand that crazy is part of life…same as vampires and their bloodlust.  Or shifters and their odd changes.  Or witches and their ability to use quantum physics to manipulate matter.

So, if the paranormal world really existed…it’d be right here.  I think that’s why so many Idaho writers at least dabble in the paranormal genre.  We fit right in.  J

When I guest blog, I usually have the chance to give away a signed book.  I’d love to give away a signed copy of either Fated, Claimed, or Hunted from the Dark Protector series to a randomly chosen commenter here on the blog.  We’ll draw a name in a couple of days.  Just say hi or let me know what you think about the paranormal world and Idaho.  Thanks and good luck!

BIO:  Rebecca Zanetti is a college professor by day and romance author by night.  Currently she’s busy writing the sexy Dark Protector Series from Kensington Brava, which has received excellent reviews.  Publisher’s Weekly declared the series has “sizzling sex scenes and a memorable cast.”   To find Rebecca on the web, drop by her website: http://rebeccazanetti.com/

 
14 Comments

Posted by on May 28, 2012 in Idaho, Paranormal Fiction, romance

 

Tags: ,

14 responses to “Idaho is Closest to the Paranormal World

  1. Liz Fredericks

    May 28, 2012 at 6:35 AM

    Rebecca – you’ve a great list regarding Idaho/paranormal! I’d like to add another, but at the risk of broadening the geographic spectrum. In Idaho, it’s more common than not to live with a direct connection to the land. Possibly, this is because there’s so darn much of it compared to the population. If you’ve stood in the desert with sagebrush surrounding you or looked up a canyon wall, then it’s not a stretch to imagine ‘para’normal. I think some of our sensitive city dwelling friends get these vibes (Florence and the recent cemetery pictures on FOIS). It’s just easier when you’re out in the middle of nowhere.😉 Thank you so much for joining us on GSW. I’ve added more books to my reading list now!!

     
  2. ramblingsfromtheleft

    May 28, 2012 at 7:18 AM

    Great to meet you, Rebecca. I love to follow Liz, especially since she knew exactly how I would react. Ah yes, the joys of the great outdoors, that connection to nature and all God’s creations. Have a very good writer friend from Idaho. Love your mountain country and plan to see you soon.

    Then there is my city … New York City … not Idaho or Louisiana (the other breeding ground for Vampires, shifters, alligators and swamp grass ) … my city where the mountains are sky scrapers build on Manhattan bedrock, which is the core of the earth. The rivers and ocean, the narrow channels that connect her five boroughs … not to mention we have ancient forests, wild life and peregrine falcons that fly over the rivers and nest in our church steeples. Gotta love the variety in this country … Oh gee whiz I almost forgot. We not only have ghosts, we have Broadway ghosts, and famous hotel ghosts, and teenagers who roam the streets at night that would give any wolf pack a run for their life🙂 Enjoy your camp trip!

     
  3. Janis

    May 28, 2012 at 8:15 AM

    My family had a cabin in McCall for years and we’d go on forest paths where the trees were so high, you felt alone in the wilderness because the sun didn’t come through in places. Easy to imagine creatures,paranormal or not, watching you, Can’t wait to read your books. Thanks for visiting Gem State Writers.

     
  4. Peggy Staggs

    May 28, 2012 at 8:45 AM

    Hi Rebecca, I too, married an Idaho boy–born and raised—who’s an architect. I’m right there with you. I’ve lived all over the US and the Orient and I prefer Idaho. Well that, and my husband lives here. I love the attitude of our state. We’re here take us or leave us. Crazies included. I too, have dabbled in the paranormal both on paper and in a visit to a shop called the Crones Cupboard. Thank you Liz. I’m more attracted to psychics and witches. A witch used to work for my husband. Interesting.
    Idaho is so vast and wonderful one can imagine anything. Thanks for visiting our blog, I hope you come calling again. Next time bring crazy Aunt Edna.

     
  5. Judith Keim

    May 28, 2012 at 9:05 AM

    Fun blog…I read it with great interest because my husband and I are moving to Boise at the first of July. I’d heard so much about coyotes but now I’ll keep my eye out for wolves!! BTW, I can’t wait to join this neat group. Clarissa is a critique partner and she is fabulous!!!

     
  6. Meredith Allen Conner

    May 28, 2012 at 9:11 AM

    Thanks for blogging with us today, Rebecca! I totally agree – the Pacific Northwest couldn’t be a better place for the paranormal to live – lots of space to indulge in their furry sides too:) I’ll be putting your books down on my TBR pile – right up my alley, can’t wait!

     
  7. Mary Roya

    May 28, 2012 at 10:01 AM

    I am City girl and will always be one. But I do enjoy the country and nature. I do love the werewolfs. Looking forward to reading your story.

     
  8. marieelizabethkane

    May 28, 2012 at 11:13 AM

    You know, this one hit home for me. If you’ve ever driven our Idaho highways at night and seen a bobcat staring back at you from the side of the road, or have an animal run across a path in front of you so quickly that you couldn’t quite figure out what kind of animal it was, or sit next to a quite lake during a full moon and listen to the sounds of the wildlife surrounding you—it’s easy to imagine ghosts, vampires and any number of other possibilities. Bottom line—Idaho is ripe for exploring the existence of a supernatural/paranormal world.

     
  9. stephanieberget

    May 28, 2012 at 1:31 PM

    Rebecca, I love the “Accepting Odd Relatives”. It seems like every family has theirs, and they fit right in. Thanks for a fun blog.

     
  10. Mary Vine

    May 28, 2012 at 2:07 PM

    Great blog post, Rebecca. Congrats on your writing success while having a busy day job, too. Hey, I moved from Portland, OR, to get some sun here🙂 I’m in Caldwell. Yes, Idaho does have the wolves, not many states can say that. Thanks for blogging!

     
  11. robinconnelly

    May 28, 2012 at 3:22 PM

    Great post. I never thought of it that way

     
  12. Rebecca Zanetti

    May 28, 2012 at 8:06 PM

    Hi all! Thanks so much for commenting today. I survived camping…and wolves…and a big moose. I hope everyone had a safe and fun holiday weekend. 🙂

     
  13. Patsy

    May 29, 2012 at 6:50 AM

    Very creative post! Yes, Idaho has all the paranormal elements. Enjoyed reading.

     
  14. Clarissa Southwickc

    May 29, 2012 at 10:00 AM

    Thanks for a great post, Rebecca. I’m glad you survived the holiday weekend. Hope you got some sunshine mixed in with all that rain.

     

Leave a Reply

 
