RSS

Calling on Yoda

31 May

You know I’m always working to make sense of my personal and writing journeys.

Today, I come to you for help.

I want to pick your brain.

Are you a whiz at plotting?

Do your characters jump off the page?

What are the most important things you’ve discovered about yourself on this writing journey?

What are your strengths, and how do they help your writing?

Consider us your young Skywalkers.  We want to learn from the master.  Yes, you are a master.  Please share your thoughts.

 
11 Comments

Posted by on May 31, 2012 in Idaho

 

11 responses to “Calling on Yoda

  1. Liz Fredericks

    May 31, 2012 at 6:22 AM

    My thoughts? My head always feels empty until I sit down to write. When I grab my coffee, look at the screen and start tapping, something happens. Every wonderful, hateful, kind, crappy, excruciating and exhilarating moment I’ve ever experienced contributes to the page. I’ve learned that I always have more to learn, but am capable of doing so. Comforting.

     
    • Lynn Mapp

      May 31, 2012 at 3:55 PM

      Wow. You’ve realized the most important thing. You are capable.

       
  2. stephanieberget

    May 31, 2012 at 7:53 AM

    I have a whole world of quirky characters trying to get out of my head and into the world. Now to do them justice.

     
    • Lynn Mapp

      May 31, 2012 at 3:56 PM

      I like how you put it. You are trying to do your characters justice. Excellent.

       
  3. Janis McCurry

    May 31, 2012 at 11:53 AM

    I’ve been told I am good at the psychological make-up of my characters. That helps in creating well-rounded flawed people. As to what I’ve discovered, it’s a long road and not easy.

     
    • Lynn Mapp

      May 31, 2012 at 3:56 PM

      It is a long road, and it certainly not easy. Oh, no.

       
  4. Meredith Conner

    May 31, 2012 at 3:00 PM

    I have to say I’m like Liz and Stephanie – I’ve got characters in my head and when I sit down to write, usually they perform fairly well. And like Janis they are seriously flawed – not always well-rounded, but they’ve all got issues. Also sketching out an outline has worked well for me lately.

     
  5. Lynn Mapp

    May 31, 2012 at 3:58 PM

    When I first started, I had these people in my head. I just wrote their story. Problem was, they didn’t have inner conflict. I’ve gotten better, but I have much work to do.

     
  6. Peggy Staggs

    May 31, 2012 at 4:23 PM

    Like the others there are so many characters roaming around in my head I fear arms and legs are going to begin sticking out of my ears. I love gathering snippets of dialogue, characterization, quirks and plots. I love the process and the end result. I sift them all together and somehow it turns into a story.

     
  7. maryvine

    June 2, 2012 at 6:19 PM

    What I’ve learned is that I have a love for putting the word on the page. Even though I didn’t dream of writing until I was 36, when I was a teenager I loved to write to my friends and relatives from afar. I have a stack of letters to prove it.

     
  8. Clarissa Southwick

    June 2, 2012 at 10:01 PM

    I’ve learned to trust my own first instincts more. Constant revision doesn’t necessarily make the story stronger.

     

Leave a Reply

 
