RSS

Confessions of a Court TV Junkie

14 Jun

It started during the summer.  I couldn’t bring myself to start watching the soaps.  I was tired of investing emotion into characters who professed deep and abiding love, only to fail at going the distance.  I know.  In real life, things happen and relationships don’t work out.

It’s confession time.

My name is Lynn, and I watch court TV.

I watched The People’s Court when it first came on.  It was like watching a train wreck unfold.  I couldn’t believe the lame excuses people came up with to justify their behavior.  I was hooked.

Years later, I still watch.

There were seven consistent themes.

Cell phones:

Don’t put a friend on your plan.  I can’t tell you how often people used the lack of money as an excuse not to pay.  They couldn’t seem to understand that someone else was on the hook for the bill.  Worse, some of them didn’t care.

Apartment leases:

Don’t move in with strangers or good friends with money issues. It could be a costly lesson.

Borrowed property:

Don’t loan something you value.  That person may not have the same regard for your property. You may never get it back.

Loans:

Don’t make a loan without an understanding of the payment plan.  “When you’re on your feet” leaves a lot of gray area.  They may never get on their feet.

Cars: 

Don’t loan your car to a friend who doesn’t have insurance.  Don’t sell your car to a friend.

Pets:

When relationships end, pets can be “a bone of contention.”

Make certain the pet sitter knows what they’re doing.

Keep your pet on a leash.

Weddings:

Hiring professionals is a must.  Don’t trust your memories to anyone.  There are many couples complaining of dissatisfaction with services.

There were other issues, but these were the main ones.

The reason I’m sharing my not-so-deep secret with you is for your writing.  I watch people’s body language.  Imagine having one of these illogical characters in your WIP.  Imagine a wedding scene where the photographer and the DJ get into a fight.  Imagine a scene where your roommate moves out and takes something they shouldn’t.  What would your protagonist do in order to get the item back?

How would you use these issues in a serious novel?  How would you use them as comic relief?  How would you use them to show character growth?

 

 
6 Comments

Posted by on June 14, 2012 in Idaho

 

6 responses to “Confessions of a Court TV Junkie

  1. Janis McCurry

    June 14, 2012 at 7:46 AM

    I’d work with the pet custody issue. Wow, they’re just like your children. Lots of conflict and resolution needed there.

     
    • Lynn Mapp

      June 14, 2012 at 7:46 PM

      There is a lot of conflict. They are like their children.

       
  2. Peggy Staggs

    June 14, 2012 at 8:53 AM

    I’m laughing. I used to watch court TV, but I ended the relationship when I was afraid the stupid might begin to rub off.

     
    • Lynn Mapp

      June 14, 2012 at 7:47 PM

      I know. It is like a train wreck. I used to think the people were a tiny segment of the population. I’m beginning to change my mind.

       
  3. maryvine

    June 14, 2012 at 11:41 AM

    My husband watches a lot of court TV. He’s watching right now. I like Judge Judy the best.
    It’s fun to see how she reacts to stupidity. Could definitely relate to our writing/characters.
    Thanks, Lynn.

     
    • Lynn Mapp

      June 14, 2012 at 7:49 PM

      Judge Judy is my favorite. I think it’s because she calls people out. “Do I look stupid?” My all time favorite, “Do you think they keep me here because of my good looks?” I like watching people’s movements and reactions.

       

Leave a Reply

 
