RSS

Dallas

12 Jul

It was the seventies.  Disco ruled the airwaves. Polyester was in.  Miniseries were common.  I was a new mother of the most beautiful baby ever born.  My husband, the Master Blaster, was a disc jockey in Pocatello, Idaho.  He played R & B every Sunday evening on a Country and Western station.  I know.  Go figure.

It was Sunday night, so I was on my own.  I decided to watch Dallas.  It was a five segment miniseries centering on the oil rich Ewing clan of Texas.  I was hooked after the first episode.  In a matter of weeks, I was saying darr-ling with my best Sue Ellen southern drawl.

That five segment miniseries was so popular CBS picked it up.  It ran for fourteen seasons from 1978-1991.  Dallas is one of the longest running primetime dramas in American history, second only to Gunsmoke and Law and Order.  It produced a spinoff, Knots Landing, which also lasted for fourteen seasons.

After a twenty-one year absence, Dallas is back.

I was curious.  As the opening music played, a smile tugged at my lips.  It was the same music.  With that little thing, they had me.  But could they keep me?

It’s a perfect mix of old and new.  The only living cast member not to reprise their role was Victoria Principal.  Who can blame her?  Her business, The Principal Secret, is a multimillion dollar venture.

The show begins with the new generation of Ewings.  Young John Ross and Elena Ramos find oil on Southfork, which is going to lead to problems.  Christopher, Bobby’s son, has spent years in Asia researching alternative energies.  Christopher has his intended bride in tow.

We learn Bobby is sick.  J.R. is living at a rest home, being treated for clinical depression.  He spends his days staring at the wall, not speaking.  Sue Ellen is being touted as the next governor of Texas.

John Ross is that “chip off the block.”  He is conniving, ruthless, and willing to do anything to get what he wants.   He wants to make his mark.  The oil on Southfork will get him to the top.  Not so fast.  There is a problem.  Bobby Ewing made a promise to his mother, Miss Ellie, to never drill for oil on the Southfork family property.  Conflict lock.

I could keep going, but I think you understand the core conflict in the story.  By the midpoint in the first episode, J.R. has snapped out of a vegetative state and ready to ride the bull again.

I don’t know if the new Dallas will last fourteen seasons, but it’s off to a good start.

I wonder what plot twists will occur.  I’ll be watching as the season progresses, noting the escalating conflict, turning points, and character arcs.

 
14 Comments

Posted by on July 12, 2012 in Idaho

 

14 responses to “Dallas

  1. Liz Fredericks

    July 12, 2012 at 6:39 AM

    I remember being so disappointed that Patrick Ewing gave up Aqua man for the range. Of course, Bobbie changed my mind.😉

     
    • Lynn Mapp

      July 12, 2012 at 4:52 PM

      You gotta love that Bobby,

       
  2. Janis McCurry

    July 12, 2012 at 7:15 AM

    The deal breaker for me was the “dream” season. I was an avid watcher until then. Glad to see it’s got some of the old punch.

     
    • Lynn Mapp

      July 12, 2012 at 4:54 PM

      I’d given the show up by the dream season. It was season 9 according to my research. The show went on for 5 more seasons.

       
  3. Peggy Staggs

    July 12, 2012 at 8:45 AM

    I was never a Dallas watcher. It didn’t draw me in. But I know it was huge at the time.

     
    • Lynn Mapp

      July 12, 2012 at 4:55 PM

      It was a Sunday night show. Jerome was at the radio station and Adam and I were on our own.

       
  4. marsharwest

    July 12, 2012 at 9:48 AM

    We watched faithfully for the first several years. I don’t remember consciously deciding to stop. I think life just got in the way. Yes, I did get that old thrill at the music, Lynn. It can always transport us to another time.
    I record the new show, but if I don’t get to it, that’s okay. I don’t care too much for the characters. Bobby and his wife are all right and I like his son (from Chase–a show I really enjoyed and was sorry to see dropped.) But I don’t like those other folks.
    Living in Texas and with a husband who’s been very involved with helping neighborhoods navigate through all the urban gas drilling issues, I watch the show with a different eye than I did before. My guess is it will hang around for a while–maybe not as long as the first series. We’ll see.

     
  5. Lynn Mapp

    July 12, 2012 at 4:57 PM

    Marsha, you are so right. You would watch the show with a certain eye for detail (perspective) than
    I will. I tried to watch the Charlie’s Angles reboot, but…it was terrible. Dallas has been well done. Watch the first episode and let me know what you think.

     
  6. marsharwest

    July 13, 2012 at 8:16 AM

    I agree about Charlie’s Angels, Lynn. Also an original favorite of ours. Women were just breaking into actioin roles, but had to keep the jiggle going to do it. One of our daughters while she was in college would role play CA with her roomate. They jump out, strike the pose with the “guns” (only empty hands) aimed, and startle folks. (What can I say, they were theatre people and in college.) I’ve seen a couple of pics someone took of them and they’re really clever.

    However, back to Dallas. I said I watch mostly after recording. So last night I was watcing the most recent episode and heard the phrase “All hat and no cow.” or something like that, a phrase which rang familiar, but I was watching the episode for the first time. Threw me for a minute until I realized I’d just that day read it in a blog about Texas speak.

    Thanks for the trip down memory lane.

     
    • Lynn Mapp

      July 15, 2012 at 6:41 PM

      It’s good to walk that path. I can see the girls striking their pose. It was a fun show.

       
  7. Clarissa Southwick

    July 14, 2012 at 6:42 AM

    Dallas was popular the first time I went to Africa, and I think the locals were very disappointed that I didn’t fit the billing. I haven’t seen the new version. I’ll have to look it up.

     
    • Lynn Mapp

      July 15, 2012 at 6:44 PM

      Gail, you didn’t say “dar-ling” in a slow drawl? How dare you. There is a lot of plotting and back stabbing. To be truthful, I’m surprised I enjoy it.

       
  8. maryvine

    July 14, 2012 at 4:14 PM

    I’ve been wondering about the new Dallas. Thanks for giving me some clues about it, Lynn. I liked Aqua Man, too.

     
    • Lynn Mapp

      July 15, 2012 at 6:45 PM

      Patrick was eye candy. I really enjoy the show. What can I say. They’ve drawn me in.

       

Leave a Reply

 
