RSS

The Special Friendship Between Writers by Judy Keim, Guest Blogger

23 Jul


I am still settling in Boise, Idaho after a cross-country move from Viera, Florida, three weeks ago. It was a big move in many respects, but one of the things that kept me eagerly sorting and packing was my association with RWA and its writers. I would be leaving my group of Space Coast Authors of Romance and moving to the Coeur de Bois Romance Writers. I hope to have my CBC-RWA dues paid and appear at my first meeting as soon as possible, making me “official”.

Funny how things work out… When a call from one of my groups came for an online critique partner, I jumped at the chance, never realizing how important a part it would play in the future. That call for a critique partner came from Clarissa Southwick, a wonderful writer and an active member of the Gem State Writers! I happened to mention that I had a niece in Boise and I hoped to visit. Since then, one of my sons and his family and another niece have moved to Boise. Having three new grandbabies in the last two years was enough reason for my husband and me to agree to move here too. The personal family issues were great motivators for doing so. However, one of the clinching factors for me was being able to continue to actively pursue writing among a group of fellow writers who would support me.

People not acquainted with RWA writing groups and others tend to be surprised to learn how genuinely supportive we writers are of each other. Writing is a tough business. There are days when I wonder if I’m crazy to keep working so hard on something so others can tell me all that’s wrong with it. But if you’re like me, the need to write and to tell stories is so strong you can’t stop.  It is a part of who we are. Maybe it’s this acceptance of what it means to be a writer that makes us so generous with each other. I don’t know of any other business like this.

This move has made me realize more than ever how special the friendship of other writers is to me. Can’t wait to meet everybody!

Judy Keim writes middle-grade fiction and women’s fiction. She’s has a story published in Belle Books’ Mossy Creek Series, a story in Chicken Soup to Inspire a Women’s Soul and three children’s stories in magazines. She’s completed a middle-grade trilogy about a boy, his friends and a wolf in pre-historic times and is presently working on a middle-grade mystery featuring a mouse that lives at a glamorous seaside hotel in South Florida.

 
7 Comments

Posted by on July 23, 2012 in friends, Idaho, women, writers, writing, writing craft

 

Tags: ,

7 responses to “The Special Friendship Between Writers by Judy Keim, Guest Blogger

  1. Liz Flaherty

    July 23, 2012 at 5:17 AM

    I love the relationships between writers–I hope you’re happy in Boise.

     
  2. Janis

    July 23, 2012 at 7:38 AM

    Judy, can’t wait to meet at a Coeur Du Bois (CBC) meeting! The writing community for all genres are welcome in Boise. Gem State Writers bloggers write in several different genres and we genuinely care about and support each other. Welcome.

     
  3. Peggy Staggs

    July 23, 2012 at 12:13 PM

    Wow! Florida to Boise. Culture shock. Welcome to Boise and CBC.

     
  4. stephanieberget

    July 24, 2012 at 10:07 AM

    Welcome, Judy. You’ll love the Coeur du Bois chapter. It’s filled with wonderful writers who just happen to be wonderful people, too. See you at a meeting.

     
  5. Liz Fredericks

    July 24, 2012 at 4:16 PM

    Welcome to Boise, Judy!! CBC is a great group.

     
  6. maryvine

    July 25, 2012 at 1:13 PM

    Wow, looks like that connection with Clarissa was meant to be. Looking forward to meeting you. Thanks.

     
  7. Judith Keim

    July 26, 2012 at 3:58 PM

    Thanks, everyone! I know it’s a late reply but I sincerely want to thank everyone for their responses!

     

Leave a Reply

 
