RSS

Character

24 Jul

I’m a bit of a control freak. Not over the top, but I have my issues. I think that is part of what draws me toward writing. I get to control everything – (insert evil cackle).

My absolute favorite part is creating my characters. There are many things that I am not able to control with my characters – they tell me what they are like. But I do get to do my own fine tuning. The odd hobby. A twitch perhaps. Certain catchwords.

It’s exciting and challenging. A one thousand piece puzzle beckoning me to put it together. If one piece doesn’t fit, I have to search for one that does. One that makes sense and adds to the puzzle as a whole.

My stories are driven by my characters and their problems. The flaws they are trying to erase, the issues they are trying to work through. How they handle the different scenarios I throw at them.

The characters are the reason I go back and read a book over and over again. I know I am not alone in this – think of all the series out on the market. The sequels that authors have written due to the number of letters their fans have written begging for more. People name their children after their favorite characters. I’m sure Jacob, Bella and Edward will be popular for several more years.

For me it’s all in the character. The ones I create, the ones I read about and the ones in my life. What about you? What’s your favorite part of writing?

 
11 Comments

Posted by on July 24, 2012 in Idaho

 

Tags: , ,

11 responses to “Character

  1. Liz Fredericks

    July 25, 2012 at 6:57 AM

    I agree! The characters make reading a story worthwhile to me and I find it cathartic to have flawed characters work through challenges on the page. As a reader, I like to travel their path and, especially when reading the happy endings I prefer, see characters figure life out in a positive way. I’m drawn to snarky heroines ~ can’t imagine why, but it’s nice to know they have friends and find love as well.

     
  2. Janis

    July 25, 2012 at 8:16 AM

    Definitely, the psychology of the character. Why are they that way? I spend a lot of time figuring them out. Not necessarily how to fix them, but understand them. I think I create multi-dimensional characters.

    OTOH, the Starship Enterprise could fly through my plots. SIGH.

     
    • Meredith Allen Conner

      July 30, 2012 at 11:32 AM

      I don’t always want to fix them either Janis – but I love being with them on their journey!!

       
  3. Peggy Staggs

    July 25, 2012 at 12:12 PM

    I had dinner last night with my son’s best friend and his wife. She said something she felt very insightful. “I never watch anything on Netflix that didn’t run at least two seasons. I get so involved with the characters.”
    It’s all in the characters.

     
    • Meredith Allen Conner

      July 30, 2012 at 11:32 AM

      That is the worst when they cancel the show with the people you’ve fallen in love with!!!!!

       
  4. maryvine

    July 25, 2012 at 12:52 PM

    I think I enjoy putting everything in its place, or weaving things together so that by the end all of the “colors” come through in just the right places.

     
    • Meredith Allen Conner

      July 30, 2012 at 11:33 AM

      I love that Mary! I usually wind up with lots of new colors – not always a bad thing but not where I expected them to go either🙂

       
  5. Lynn Mapp

    July 25, 2012 at 2:33 PM

    I think a well written character makes their journey a moving experience.

     

Leave a Reply

 
