RSS

The Little Things of Love

08 Aug

My husband and I went out of town last weekend. Just the two of us. Our two daughters went and stayed at Grandma’s – or rather she stayed with them to take care of our furry family members as well.

Nothing fancy. We drove an hour and a half to the nearest city, Idaho Falls, ID. Population hovering around 60,000.

Summer is always a busy time. It’s so easy to get caught up in the hustle and bustle of activities. In our small area of the world it often feels as if we are on turbo speed. It’s a legitimate feeling. Winter runs about 8 plus months here. We are on a time clock to cram everything in.

It’s easy to get so caught up in life that the little things – the important ones – can get lost.

I found them again this weekend.

I hadn’t realized I’d lost them until I pushed aside the bike camp, the golf camp, the dance camp, the play dates and BBQs. The float trips and lunch appointments, the rushing here and there, the quick peck on the cheek “how was your day?” and the scribbling of notes to remind myself of things we need to discuss when we have the time.

Don’t get me wrong. I love summer and all the activities. The weather. The float trips. The time spent with friends and family.

But it is oh so very wonderful to take a moment and concentrate on those little things.

The touch of my husband’s hand in mine. His eyes are still as blue as when we met. A few more wrinkles and a lot more grey. We laugh at the same things. I love the way he expresses himself – that man can make me snort with laughter. He thinks it’s adorable when I have the occasional blonde moment. He loves to talk about our daughters and how wonderful they are. He knows when something is going to make me cry before I even realize it. He views every road trip as an opportunity to display his driving skills. He’s a guy’s guy and if he were a dog I know he’d pee all over me. He loves to kiss me good morning.

Falling in love is not a one time event. It is an ever-evolving occurence. Something you have to work at. And something you have to remind yourself of from time to time.

I still remember the very first time I looked into his eyes. His blue, blue eyes. I see so much more than the color now. I see the man inside. The one I continue to fall in love with.

Have you taken any time for yourself lately? Any time to appreciate the little things?

 
9 Comments

Posted by on August 8, 2012 in Idaho

 

Tags: , , ,

9 responses to “The Little Things of Love

  1. Liz Fredericks

    August 8, 2012 at 7:53 AM

    Lovely post, Mer! This is good advice and I’m glad you had a moment to recharge with your guy. Excellent descriptors, by the way, of territorial behavior in male mammals.

     
    • Meredith Conner

      August 8, 2012 at 3:27 PM

      It’s my new favorite saying when a husband does something totally territorial to a friend of mine “oh look – he just peed on you :)”

       
  2. Janis McCurry

    August 8, 2012 at 8:16 AM

    Hooray for romance! I feel self-indulgent as my grown child is out of the home, so if anyone wants to learn how to spoil themselves, drop me a line.🙂

     
    • Meredith Conner

      August 8, 2012 at 3:28 PM

      I will do that Janis!

       
  3. marsharwest

    August 8, 2012 at 10:58 AM

    Nice reminder of the important things in life. Those of us happily married to the same good guy after many years are indeed fortunate. I still laugh at my guy’s jokes. Really find them funny. He’s got a dry sense of humor and is quick witted. The daughters, both known as great eye rollers as teens, can still roll with the best of ’em, while I’m rolling on the floor. Our lovely together time will be in Maine for a week later this month. We are indeed fortunate.

     
    • Meredith Conner

      August 8, 2012 at 3:28 PM

      Enjoy your time. It’s so wonderful to share it!!!!

       
  4. Lynn Mapp

    August 8, 2012 at 9:33 PM

    Meredith, it was a beautiful post. We need to remember this is the person we are in love with and why.

     
  5. maryvine

    August 9, 2012 at 2:07 PM

    I really need to stop each day and appreciate it – I can do that in the summer, but my goal is to do that during the rest of months, too. Yep, them territorial males, and yep it is work but we can do it!

     
  6. Clarissa Southwick

    August 19, 2012 at 2:32 PM

    What a beautiful post Meredith. Thanks for the reminder.

     

Leave a Reply

 
