RSS

My Online Classes Nightmare

23 Aug

I know me.

There is nothing more I appreciate than some quality time with myself.

I’m fun.

I’m kind.

I’m caring.

Those are the positives.  Where there are positives, there are also negatives.

Right now, I’m dealing with something I created.  I did this to me.  I’d like to blame someone else, but I also try to be honest.

I took a three credit class in July.  It was the old-fashioned kind.  The members of the class met every day, all day, for a week.  Wham-bam, done.

I don’t know why I didn’t take more old-fashioned classes.

I am taking two online classes.  Oh.  My.  Gosh.  I am living a nightmare.  My problem isn’t with the instructors.  The book I needed for one course just arrived a few hours ago.  I have seven lessons to do.  I have a wedding to attend on Saturday, but otherwise, I’ll be working on Portfolio Assessments this weekend.  I’m confident I’ll handle this.

My big problem is with Enhancing Instruction with Power Point.  Yes, I understand the fundamentals, but in class I’m asked to step beyond fundamentals.  I’m supposed to do a Pack and Go.  I would just save the presentation on a thumb, but…

I am one of those people who often have questions.  Without the presence of an instructor, there is a lag time between question and answer.  I am also a visual learner.  I need the item in front of me.  I am one of those people who need a visual and verbal connection.

This problem doesn’t just exit in my classes.  It is something that carries over with my writing.  I am at war with myself.  Don’t you just hate it when you are your biggest obstacle?

I make an effort to understand my process and work with it, rather than against it.

What have you discovered about yourself during your writer’s journey?

 
14 Comments

Posted by on August 23, 2012 in Idaho

 

14 responses to “My Online Classes Nightmare

  1. Liz Fredericks

    August 23, 2012 at 5:24 AM

    To borrow from your blog, ‘I know me’ . . . I know my soapbox . . . and by golly there it is right beneath my feet. Stop blaming yourself. Online education is not as effective as the traditional, face2face variety. Human beings gain from content (e.g. reading/observing) and interaction (that pesky teacher/student and student/student ‘interface’). There, I’ve said it.

    Lucky women are their own biggest obstacles (yes, reflexive, I know). We’re lucky cuz at least we have some influence over the perpetrator.

     
    • Lynn Mapp

      August 23, 2012 at 3:31 PM

      Hey Liz, did I also mention that the instructor’s PP is different than the one I’m using? He’ll have the example, but my screen doesn’t look anything like his. I’ve been lucky enough to spend several hours with my oldest son, as he talks me through the lesson.

       
  2. Janis McCurry

    August 23, 2012 at 7:09 AM

    I’ve only ever had one “success” as I see it with online classes. The Branding Workshop gave me my slogan, tagline, identity, and brand because of the phenomenal amount of time the teacher, Jennifer Stark (amazing), gave to each student. I’ve been in three others that I got behind in the homework and then didn’t finish. It might have been my life intruding or frustration that I didn’t “get” it, but all in all, I fear I have to be sure I know I can put in the time and I mesh with the teacher, albeit virtually.

     
    • Lynn Mapp

      August 23, 2012 at 3:34 PM

      I too have done online classes in the past. Those classes were to help with my writing. These classes are about renewing my teaching certificate. I’m more stressed with these classes.

       
  3. Stephanie Berget

    August 23, 2012 at 8:24 AM

    I’ve taken several on-line classes, and what Janis said rings true. Make sure you have enough time (twice what you think) to get through.I dropped out of some because I got behind. I’m taking a class from Laurie Schnebly on Blurbs and it’s working great. Good luck Lynn. You can do this, yes you can.

     
    • Lynn Mapp

      August 23, 2012 at 3:35 PM

      Thanks Stephanie, I can do this, yes I can.

       
  4. Shari Risoff

    August 23, 2012 at 12:41 PM

    Hi Lynn,
    In my experience, success in online classes depends on two things: a student’s learning style and his or her self discipline. As a writer, you certainly have the self discipline required! What you’ve described is a completely different learning style where the human interaction and immediate feedback is necessary for learning. Others learn by doing: hands-on, tactile doing. Reading, analyzing and then putting it into practice. I happen to be one of the latter and I’ve taken several online classes with live instructors on the other side of my monitor where interaction is still possible with texting in feedback/questions during class.

    You didn’t mention where you’re taking classes or what exactly you’re studying, however the Help function in PowerPoint will answer your questions. For example, here are a couple of links for info on Pack & Go:
    http://www.ehow.com/how_7271977_use-pack_n_go-powerpoint.html
    http://www.msofficeforums.com/powerpoint/5196-pack-go-does-exist-ppt-2010-a.html

    In PPT, if you go to File _ Help and type in a subject or key word, you should find answers.
    I hope this helps! Even if this is not your natural learning style though you can do it! 🙂
    Good luck!

     
  5. maryvine

    August 23, 2012 at 1:28 PM

    Yes, you are fun, Lynn. Just so you know. My biggest hurdle is making time to write. I was going to say procrastination, but that’s not it – it’s just plain old scheduling the time to write.
    I’ve taken online college courses and so I am concerned with the superintendent’s proposal for high school students to take plenty of them. But then, that’s another blog, isn’t it?

     
    • Lynn Mapp

      August 23, 2012 at 3:40 PM

      Oh, Mary, I have real concerns about students taking online classes. I can see some draw backs. I’m one lesson from completing the Power Point class. Now, I have seven other lessons for the other class to plow through this weekend.

       
  6. Peggy Staggs

    August 23, 2012 at 3:35 PM

    I understand. I sabotage myself all the time. I’m trying not to be self-destructive, but it’s hard.

     
    • Lynn Mapp

      August 23, 2012 at 9:26 PM

      You are your own worst enemy. Stop it.

       
  7. Judith Keim

    August 25, 2012 at 1:16 PM

    I, like you, am a visual learner. I’m also a visual writer. I see a scene in my head either before or during my writing of it. But that sometimes prevents me from making the reader “see” what I see so I have to go back and see if it makes sense or, if I’m lucky, have someone else take a look at it and go, “Huh?”…LOL

     
  8. Judith Keim

    August 25, 2012 at 2:50 PM

    Hi, Lynn! I’m testing to see if my picture comes up!

     
  9. Clarissa Southwick

    August 25, 2012 at 5:50 PM

    What have I learned? I’ve learned that ignoring online teachers is much easier than ignoring real-life classes. Good luck !

     

Leave a Reply

 
