RSS

And, don’t forget to say thank you . . .

07 Sep

I doubt I’m the only person to hear variants of this admonition as a child. My mother called with her reminder to show appreciation for being included in a party or excursion nearly every time I left the house. And though this phrase, ‘don’t forget to say thank you’ echoes in my head even now, it seems inadequate for moments like this. 

During the last several months, I’ve shared bits of my professional and personal roles and blogged on the applications for writing fiction. Though I hope to guest at some point on Gem State Writers, it’s time to wrap my turn as a regular.

I’ll still visit and comment. Really, who could resist sharing the richness offered by the ladies on this site? I’m looking forward to reading GSW’s newest additions. Crimeny, I’m getting weepy as I write this because the decision was so much more complicated than restructuring my schedule.

Will my fellow bloggers be angry?

Will I lose friends?

Am I making a seriously stupid mistake?

My answers – at least to the first two questions – came swiftly.

No, I couldn’t imagine a more supportive and accepting group of women.

No, my friends are amazing people and I’m blessed by their entry into my life.

But the third question? I hope not, but we can’t really know. I do hold onto one certainty. Like the bloggers and readers of this site, I will continue to write and engage with like-minded souls. And, as I wrote in the following excerpt from a 7/26/11 blog entitled ‘Limitless’, I will . . . 

“. . . Embrace serendipity. We are on the cusp of something wonderful. At 30, 40 – or 50.

This picture, snapped by a friend with a cell phone from a crumbling asphalt parking lot in an overcrowded visitor center on the edge of Lake Tahoe, captures the power of chaos.

A limitless vista of small choices leading to grand experiences.

by Finnegan

Dichotomies might be easier for my feeble human brain, but as a writer, I know the most interesting characters have infinite dimensions. The hero might be a villain but for a single step (or cough, or sneeze, or . . . you get the picture even if it isn’t poetic). I’m not arguing we should neglect taking action, or choosing a path, but sometimes –

When I hear people discuss their writing journey, they say ‘if not for’, ‘this error led me’ or ‘if I hadn’t taken the time to’. Upon reflection, they appreciate even the difficulties en route to cherished moments.

Sitting in my metaphorical kayak, I could look back toward a woman, standing in a parking lot, snapping a picture with her cell phone.  Or I could look forward, toward the next (God willing) thirty years.

Even without a clear path, the view is amazing.”

 Thank you for including me on Gem State Writers.

 
18 Comments

Posted by on September 7, 2012 in friends, Idaho, writers

 

Tags: , ,

18 responses to “And, don’t forget to say thank you . . .

  1. lizkflaherty

    September 7, 2012 at 5:17 AM

    I have enjoyed your posts. I hope you enjoy what comes next!

     
    • Liz Fredericks

      September 7, 2012 at 7:29 AM

      Thank you, Liz – it’s been an exceptional opportunity to connect with others and I greatly appreciate your good wishes.

       
  2. ramblingsfromtheleft

    September 7, 2012 at 5:48 AM

    Liz, I can say without hesitation that all the wonderful things you sited about GSW is spot on … a great group … wonderful engaging posts each day. Yet, I must add that there are those times when we feel a cosmic connection to one we know is a kindred spirit.

    I have found that in this virtual friendship and I will miss you ever much !!!

    Whatever comes as you move into your future, I am sure you will remain an intelligent and insightful teacher and a funny and loving person. May you find true adventure as you take that next bend of the road, and I trust, you will … write on 🙂

     
    • Liz Fredericks

      September 7, 2012 at 7:32 AM

      I am soooo with you on the kindred spirit. Luckily, I can visit your blog and say ‘howdy’. And thank you very much for your kind words. It’s stuff like this a woman can pull out as a reminder of what good souls we find in sister writers.

       
  3. johannaharness

    September 7, 2012 at 5:56 AM

    Sometimes my kids make themselves miserable choosing between two good options. Offer a choice of yummy desserts and they will think about the dessert not taken rather than enjoying the one they have. Choices can torment us if we let them. You have to do what your heart says is right and know that others will support you. Good things are waiting for all of us.

     
  4. Liz Fredericks

    September 7, 2012 at 7:33 AM

    Good things ARE waiting . . . . it’s the second unspoken part to this declaration that often throws me (and most women I know) . . . Good things ARE waiting . . . . and . . . we deserve them.

     
  5. marsharwest

    September 7, 2012 at 8:02 AM

    I’ll miss you here, too, Liz, but you have to do what’s right for you. I served on a large urban school district board and chose to not seek re-election after a second term for family reasons. It was a hard decision. At the time, I ran across a small plaque which to this day sits on my desk where I can see it. It’s titled New Beginnings. “In life what sometimes appears to be the end is really a new beginning.” I found this to be comforting and true. I wish this for you, Liz. Thanks for sharing with us.

     
  6. Janis McCurry

    September 7, 2012 at 8:06 AM

    We’ll be sure to have you back.

    NOW, get to work on the book! 😉

     
    • Liz Fredericks

      September 7, 2012 at 2:26 PM

      thanks Marsha – that’s a perfect way to think about each day

       
    • Liz Fredericks

      September 7, 2012 at 2:26 PM

      Yes ma’am, Janis! Is it any wonder I adore all of you?

       
  7. Peggy Staggs

    September 7, 2012 at 9:49 AM

    And if it turns out to be question number 3…you’ll be welcomed back.

     
  8. Judith Keim

    September 7, 2012 at 10:35 AM

    Liz, I’m one of the newbies and hope you will guest blog or come back as I’d love to get to know you! Good luck with everything!

     
    • Liz Fredericks

      September 7, 2012 at 2:27 PM

      I’m soooo looking forward to reading your posts.

       
  9. Clarissa Southwick

    September 7, 2012 at 10:38 AM

    Liz, We will miss your blogs, but wish you the best. Please know that we are here for you whenever you need us and you will always be welcomed back as a guest blogger.

     
  10. Liz Fredericks

    September 7, 2012 at 2:27 PM

    Thanks, Clarissa – I really appreciate all of the support you’ve shown me over the past few years.

     
  11. stephanieberget

    September 7, 2012 at 3:45 PM

    Liz, I’ll miss your blogs and you. We need to get together one of these days and play. Come back and guest post so we’ll get our Liz fix once in a while.

     
  12. maryvine

    September 7, 2012 at 5:58 PM

    I’ve so enjoyed getting to know you through your posts and I will surely miss them. I hope you continue to write and look forward to your first book signing.

     
  13. Lynn Mapp

    September 7, 2012 at 10:44 PM

    LIz, what can I say? Your blogs will be missed. I have enjoyed reading you twisty, funny, and insightful thoughts.

     

Leave a Reply

 
